• Open Daily: 10am - 10pm
    Alley-side Pickup: 10am - 7pm

    3038 Hennepin Ave Minneapolis, MN
    612-822-4611

Open Daily: 10am - 10pm | Alley-side Pickup: 10am - 7pm
3038 Hennepin Ave Minneapolis, MN
612-822-4611
Disruption: New Short Fiction from Africa

Disruption: New Short Fiction from Africa

Paperback

Fiction AnthologiesGeneral Fiction

Publisher Price: $17.95

ISBN10: 1946395579
ISBN13: 9781946395573
Publisher: Catalyst Pr
Published: Sep 7 2021
Pages: 260
Weight: 1.00
Height: 0.90 Width: 5.90 Depth: 8.80
Language: English

Imagine a season of the show Black Mirror where every mind-blowing episode was written/directed by an African creator. This anthology collects the best entries from “Short Story Day Africa” – a yearly competition. This collection’s theme is disruption, particularly climate-based. Thus, most of the stories are some form of speculative fiction or outright sci-fi as they imagine our world in near, far, and alternative futures. Reading these stories, which range from humorous to spiritual to devastatingly human, I was filled with the same sense of discovery and unease as watching a great twisty speculative show such as Black Mirror. The authors collected here run the gamut from professional writers to near amateurs, resulting in a fresh and fascinating collection. Great for readers of Ted Chiang, Nnedi Okorafor, and Ursula LeGuin.--Annie

-----

 

Including 2022 Caine Prize winning story Five Years Next Sunday by Idza Luhumyo and the 2022 Nommo Award shortlisted story Shelter by Mzobi Haimbe


This genre-spanning anthology explores the many ways that we grow, adapt, and survive in the face of our ever-changing global realities. These evocative, often prescient, stories showcase new and emerging writers from across Africa to investigate many of the pressing issues of our time: climate change, pandemics, social upheaval, surveillance, and more.

Also in

Fiction Anthologies