• Open Daily: 10am - 10pm
    Alley-side Pickup: 10am - 7pm

    3038 Hennepin Ave Minneapolis, MN
    612-822-4611

Open Daily: 10am - 10pm | Alley-side Pickup: 10am - 7pm
3038 Hennepin Ave Minneapolis, MN
612-822-4611
The Treeline: The Last Forest and the Future of Life on Earth

The Treeline: The Last Forest and the Future of Life on Earth

Hardcover

Environmental StudiesLawns, Trees, & Shrubs

Publisher Price: $29.99

ISBN10: 1250270235
ISBN13: 9781250270238
Publisher: St Martins Pr
Published: Feb 15 2022
Pages: 320
Weight: 1.10
Height: 1.20 Width: 6.20 Depth: 9.30
Language: English

Longlisted for the American Library Association's 2023 Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction

A superb, inspiring work. --Winner, Inaugural National Academies of Science Schmidt Awards for Excellence in Science Communications

In the tradition of Elizabeth Kolbert and Barry Lopez, a powerful, poetic and deeply absorbing account of the lung at the top of the world.

NPR's Best Books/Books We Love; Bloomberg: One of the Ten Most Compelling Books to Put on Your Reading List This Spring; Financial Times' 2022 BOOKS TO WATCH OUT FOR and BEST NEW WRITING ABOUT CLIMATE CHANGE

For the last fifty years, the trees of the boreal forest have been moving north. Ben Rawlence's The Treeline takes us along this critical frontier of our warming planet from Norway to Siberia, Alaska to Greenland, Canada to Sweden to meet the scientists, residents and trees confronting huge geological changes. Only the hardest species survive at these latitudes including the ice-loving Dahurian larch of Siberia, the antiseptic Spruce that purifies our atmosphere, the Downy birch conquering Scandinavia, the healing Balsam poplar that Native Americans use as a cure-all and the noble Scots Pine that lives longer when surrounded by its family.

It is a journey of wonder and awe at the incredible creativity and resilience of these species and the mysterious workings of the forest upon which we rely for the air we breathe. Blending reportage with the latest science, The Treeline is a story of what might soon be the last forest left and what that means for the future of all life on earth.

Also in

Environmental Studies