An Unkindness of Ghosts

An Unkindness of Ghosts

Paperback
Pub. price: $15.95
New: $14.36

ISBN10: 1617755885 ISBN13: 9781617755880 Publisher: Akashic Books Published: Oct 3 2017 Pages: 349 Weight: 0.70lbs. Height: 8.25" Width: 5.25" Depth: 1.00" Language: English

Other Copies
Publisher's Comments

"An Unkindness of Ghosts marks the debut of a wildly talented writer. Rivers Solomon has put together a heady science-fiction novel that speaks directly to some of the most pressing political and social concerns of the modern day. And yet for all that it remains deeply humane, and it's even quite funny at times. This is a book you'll want to read now so you can tell your friends you read it first." --Victor LaValle,, author of The Changeling "Welcome to the Tarlands aboard the space vessel HSS Matilda--home of the poor and rejected--and the setting of Rivers Solomon’s powerful debut novel. Imaginative in the vein of Colson Whitehead, Samuel R. Delany, and Octavia E. Butler, this novel explores the struggles of slum dwellers aboard a spacecraft sadly reminiscent of our own world: rife with poverty, caste, and discrimination as told through the Looking Glass. With outstanding world-building and an unforgettable protagonist in Aster, An Unkindness of Ghosts is a notable debut by an author whose work I look forward to reading for years to come.

Related Subjects