Tolstoy and the Purple Chair: My Year of Magical Reading

Tolstoy and the Purple Chair

My Year of Magical Reading

Paperback
Pub. price: $15.99
Near New: $7.99

ISBN10: 0061999857 ISBN13: 9780061999857 Publisher: Perennial Published: Jun 19 2012 Pages: 240 Weight: 0.42lbs. Height: 8.00" Width: 5.25" Depth: 0.75" Language: English

Other Copies
Publisher's Comments

"Nina Sankovitch has crafted a dazzling memoir that reminds us of the most primal function of literature--to heal, to nurture and to connectus to our truest selves." --Thrity Umrigar, author of The Space Between Us

Catalyzed by the loss of her sister, a mother of four spends one year savoring a great book every day, from Thomas Pynchon to Nora Ephron and beyond. In the tradition of Gretchen Rubin's The Happiness Project and Joan Dideon's A Year of Magical Thinking, Nina Sankovitch's soul-baring and literary-minded memoir is a chronicle of loss, hope, and redemption. Nina ultimately turns to reading as therapy and through her journey illuminates the power of books to help us reclaim our lives.

Related Subjects