We are unable to process credit card payments for website orders at this time.

To place an order, you may proceed using a website gift card, or give us a call at 612-822-4611.

Thank you for your understanding, and we apologize for the inconvenience.
A Living Lens: Photographs of Jewish Life from the Pages of the Forward

A Living Lens

Photographs of Jewish Life from the Pages of the Forward

Hardcover
Pub. price: $39.95

ISBN10: 0393062694 ISBN13: 9780393062694 Contributors: Pollack, Chana (Editor) Publisher: W W Norton & Co Inc Published: Apr 1 2007 Pages: 352 Weight: 4.50lbs. Height: 12.50" Width: 9.50" Depth: 1.00" Edition: 1st Edition Language: English

Publisher's Comments

This extraordinary volume features classic photographs of the history one has learned to associate with the Forward--Lower East Side pushcarts, Yiddish theater, labor rallies--along with gems no one would expect. The premiere national Jewish newspaper has opened up its never-before-seen archives, revealing a photographic landscape of Jews in the twentieth century and beyond. From shtetl beauty contests and matchmakers caught mid-deal to the streets of the New World; from diaspora communities and mandate Palestine to the Holocaust, the Soviet Jewry movement, and the emergence of Jewish suburbia; from Paul Muni and Barbra Streisand to Woody Allen and Madonna--this book is a kaleidoscopic array of modern Jewish life. Original essays are included by leading intellectuals and historians, including Leon Wieseltier, J. Hoberman, Roger Kahn, and Deborah E. Lipstadt, plus an introduction by Pete Hamill. A great gift book in the tradition of Roman Vishniac's A Vanished World and Frederic Brenner's Diaspora: Homelands in Exile.

Related Subjects