The Marquise of O and Other Stories

The Marquise of O and Other Stories

Pub. price: $17.00

ISBN10: 0140443592 ISBN13: 9780140443592 Publisher: Penguin Classics Published: Sep 1 1978 Weight: 0.45lbs. Height: 7.75" Width: 5.00" Depth: 0.75" Language: English

Publisher's Comments
The late stories by an influential writer of singular talent

Between 1799, when he left the Prussian Army, and his suicide in 1811, Kleist developed into a writer of unprecedented and tragically isolated genius. This collection of works from the last period of his life also includes 'The Earthquake in Chile, ' 'Michael Kohlhaas, ' 'The Beggarwoman of Locarno, ' 'St. Cecilia or The Power of Music, ' 'The Betrothal in Santo Domingo, ' 'The Foundling, ' and 'The Duel.'

For more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,700 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators.
Related Subjects