We are unable to process credit card payments for website orders at this time.

To place an order, you may proceed using a website gift card, or give us a call at 612-822-4611.

Thank you for your understanding, and we apologize for the inconvenience.
The Hospital: Life, Death, and Dollars in a Small American Town

The Hospital

Life, Death, and Dollars in a Small American Town

Hardcover
Pub. price: $28.99
New: $26.09

ISBN10: 1250237351 ISBN13: 9781250237354 Publisher: St. Martin's Press Published: Mar 9 2021 Pages: 320 Language: English

Other Copies
Publisher's Comments

For readers of Hillbilly Elegy and Strangers in Their Own Land

WINNER OF THE OHIOANA BOOK AWARDS AND FINALIST FOR THE 87TH CALIFORNIA BOOK AWARDS NAMED A BEST/MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF 2017 BY: New York Post - Newsweek - The Week - Bustle - Books by the Banks Book Festival - Bookauthority.com

A devastating portrait...For anyone wondering why swing-state America voted against the establishment in 2016, Mr. Alexander supplies plenty of answers.
--The Wall Street Journal

This book hunts bigger game. Reads like an odd -- and oddly satisfying --fusion of George Packer's The Unwinding and one of Michael Lewis' real-life financial thrillers.
--Laura Miller, Slate

Does a remarkable job.
--The New Yorker

Should be required reading for people trying to understand Trumpism, inequality, and the sad state of a needlessly wrecked rural America. I wish I had written it.
--Beth Macy, bestselling author of Factory Man

By following the struggle for survival of one small-town hospital, and the patients who walk, or are carried, through its doors, The Hospital takes readers into the world of the American medical industry in a way no book has done before. Americans are dying sooner, and living in poorer health. Alexander argues that no plan will solve America's health crisis until the deeper causes of that crisis are addressed.

Bryan, Ohio's hospital, is losing money, making it vulnerable to big health systems seeking domination and Phil Ennen, CEO, has been fighting to preserve its independence. Meanwhile, Bryan, a town of 8,500 people in Ohio's northwest corner, is still trying to recover from the Great Recession. As local leaders struggle to address the town's problems, and the hospital fights for its life amid a rapidly consolidating medical and hospital industry, a 39-year-old diabetic literally fights for his limbs, and a 55-year-old contractor lies dying in the emergency room. With these and other stories, Alexander strips away the wonkiness of policy to reveal Americans' struggle for health against a powerful system that's stacked against them, but yet so fragile it blows apart when the pandemic hits. Culminating with COVID-19, this book offers a blueprint for how we created the crisis we're in.
Related Subjects