Ivory Shoals

Ivory Shoals

Hardcover
Pub. price: $26.00
New: $24.70

ISBN10: 1952119170 ISBN13: 9781952119170 Publisher: McSweeney's Quarterly Concern Published: Jun 15 2021 Pages: 0 Language: English

Other Copies
Publisher's Comments
In the tradition of Mark Twain and Cormac McCarthy comes this distinctly American, pulse-quickening epic from the acclaimed author of Citrus County and Arkansas.

"I opened John Brandon's new novel and fell hard. An adventure full of grit and wonder, far-flung and yet uniquely, specifically American. I hope I never recover."
--Daniel Handler, author of All The Dirty Parts, Bottle Grove, and Why We Broke Up

Twelve-year-old Gussie Dwyer--audacious, resilient, determined to adhere to the morals his mother instilled in him--undertakes to trek across the sumptuous yet perilous peninsula of post-Civil War Florida in search of his father, a man who has no idea of his son's existence. Gussie's journey sees him cross paths with hardened Floridians of every stripe, from the brave and noble to a bevy of cutthroat villains, none worse than his amoral shark of a half brother. Will he survive his quest, and at what cost?

Rich in deadpan humor as well as visceral details that illuminate a diverse cast of characters, the novel uncovers deep truths about family and self-determination as the reader tracks Gussie's dangerous odyssey out of childhood. Ivory Shoals is an unforgettable story from a contemporary master.

Related Subjects