Open Daily: 10am - 10pm | Alley-side Pickup: 10am - 7pm 3038 Hennepin Ave Minneapolis, MN
612-822-4611
  • Open Daily: 10am - 10pm
    Alley-side Pickup: 10am - 7pm

    3038 Hennepin Ave Minneapolis, MN
    612-822-4611

Open Daily: 10am - 10pm | Alley-side Pickup: 10am - 7pm
3038 Hennepin Ave Minneapolis, MN
612-822-4611
The Duchess Countess: The Woman Who Scandalized Eighteenth-Century London

The Duchess Countess: The Woman Who Scandalized Eighteenth-Century London

Ostler, Catherine

Hardcover

Historical FiguresMilitary BiographiesPolitical Biographies

Publisher Price: $30.00

ISBN10: 1982179732
ISBN13: 9781982179731
Publisher: Atria
Published: Feb 22 2022
Pages: 432
Weight: 1.35
Height: 1.40 Width: 6.40 Depth: 9.00
Language: English
Discover the adventurous life of the stylish and scandalous Elizabeth Chudleigh, Duchess of Kingston--a woman whose infamous trial was bigger news in British society than the American War of Independence. Bridgerton fans take note: For sheer incident and drama, Chudleigh's story rivals any episode of the popular Regency-era Netflix series. And it's all true (The Washington Post).

As maid of honor to the Princess of Wales, Elizabeth Chudleigh enjoyed a luxurious life in the inner circle of the Hanoverian court. With her extraordinary style and engaging wit, she both delighted and scandalized the press and public. She would later even inspire William Thackeray when he was writing his classic Vanity Fair, providing the inspiration for the alluring social climber Becky Sharp. But Elizabeth's real story is more complex and surprising than anything out of fiction.

A clandestine, candlelit wedding to the young heir to an earldom, a second marriage to a duke, a lust for diamonds, and an electrifying appearance at a masquerade ball in a gossamer dress--it's no wonder that Elizabeth's eventual trial was a sensation. Charged with bigamy, an accusation she vehemently fought against, Elizabeth refused to submit to public humiliation and retire quietly.

A superb, gripping, decadent, colorful biography that brings an extraordinary woman and a whole world blazingly to life (Simon Sebag Montefiore, New York Times bestselling author), The Duchess Countess is perfect for fans of Bridgerton, Women of Means, and The Crown.

2 different editions

Also available

Also in

Historical Figures