• Open Daily: 10am - 10pm
    Alley-side Pickup: 10am - 7pm

    3038 Hennepin Ave Minneapolis, MN
    612-822-4611

Open Daily: 10am - 10pm | Alley-side Pickup: 10am - 7pm
3038 Hennepin Ave Minneapolis, MN
612-822-4611
Black Joy: Stories of Resistance, Resilience, and Restoration

Black Joy: Stories of Resistance, Resilience, and Restoration

Lewis-Giggetts

Hardcover

Biographies GeneralLetters & EssaysGeneral Racism & Ethnic Studies

Publisher Price: $27.99

ISBN10: 1982176555
ISBN13: 9781982176556
Publisher: Gallery Books
Published: Feb 1 2022
Pages: 288
Weight: 0.80
Height: 1.20 Width: 5.40 Depth: 8.40
Language: English
With deeply personal and uplifting essays in the vein of Black Girls Rock, You Are Your Best Thing, and I Really Needed This Today, this is a necessary testimony on the magic and beauty of our capacity to live and love fully and out loud (Kerry Washington).

When Tracey M. Lewis-Giggetts wrote an essay on Black joy for The Washington Post, she had no idea just how deeply it would resonate. But the outpouring of positive responses affirmed her own lived experience: that Black joy is not just a weapon of resistance, it is a tool for resilience.

With this book, Tracey aims to gift her community with a collection of lyrical essays about the way joy has evolved, even in the midst of trauma, in her own life. Detailing these instances of joy in the context of Black culture allows us to recognize the power of Black joy as a resource to draw upon, and to challenge the one-note narratives of Black life as solely comprised of trauma and hardship.

Lewis-Giggetts etches a stunning personal map that follows in her ancestors' footsteps and highlights their ability to take control of situational heartbreak and tragedy and make something better out of it....A simultaneously gorgeous and heartbreaking read (Kirkus Reviews, starred review).

1 different editions

Also available

Also in

Biographies General