Psychology, General
Featured Items
Please Understand Me: Character and Temperament Types
Please Understand Me
Character and Temperament Types
Paperback      ISBN: 0960695400

Describes sixteen basic personality types, argues that people try to reshape their spouses, children, friends, and coworkers into models of themselves, and discusses different styles of leadership

Through the Looking Glass: A Search for the Self in the Mirror of Relationships
Through the Looking Glass
A Search for the Self in the Mirror of Relationships
Paperback      ISBN: 087728721x
Memories, Dreams, Reflections
Memories, Dreams, Reflections
Paperback      ISBN: 0679723951

An eye-opening biography of one of the most influential psychiatrists of the modern age, drawing from his lectures, conversations, and own writings.

In the spring of 1957, when he was eighty-one years old, Carl Gustav Jung undertook the telling of his life story. Memories, Dreams, Reflections is that book, composed of conversations with his colleague and friend Aniela Jaff , as well as chapters written in his own hand, and other materials. Jung continued to work on the final stages of the manuscript until shortly before his death on June 6, 1961, making this a uniquely comprehensive reflection on a remarkable life. Fully corrected, this edition also includes Jung's VII Sermones ad Mortuos.
Mark Twain: Collected Tales, Sketches, Speeches, and Essays Vol. 2 1891-1910 (Loa #61)
Mark Twain
Collected Tales, Sketches, Speeches, and Essays Vol. 2 1891-1910 (Loa #61)
Hardcover      ISBN: 0940450739

This Library of America book, with its companion volume, is the most comprehensive collection ever published of Mark Twain's short writings--the incomparable stories, sketches, burlesques, hoaxes, tall tales, speeches, satires, and maxims of America's greatest humorist. Arranged chronologically and containing many pieces restored to the form in which Twain intended them to appear, the volumes show with unprecedented clarity the literary evolution of Mark Twain over six decades of his career.

This volume contains eighty pieces from the years 1891 to 1910, when Twain emerged from bankruptcy and personal tragedy to become the white-suited, cigar-smoking international celebrity who reported on his own follies and those of humanity with an unerring sense of the absurd. Some stories display Twain's fascination with money and greed, such as "The Esquimau Maiden's Romance" and "The Man That Corrupted Hadleyburg." Other stories, written after the death of his daughter Susy in 1896, explore the outer limits of fantasy and psychic phenomena, including "Which Was the Dream?" "The Great Dark," and "My Platonic Sweetheart."

The United States military involvement in Cuba, China, and the Philippines turned Twain's attention to political satire and invective. "To the Person Sitting in Darkness," "The United States of Lyncherdom," "The Czar's Soliloquy," and "The War Prayer" are biting denunciations of European and American imperialism. Other political issues inspired articles and stories about the Jews, the notorious Dreyfus case, and vivisection. Twain's increasingly unorthodox religious opinions are powerfully, often comically, expressed in "Extracts from Adam's Diary," "Eve's Diary," "Eve Speaks," "Adam's Soliloquy," "A Humane Word from Satan," "What is Man?" "Extract from Captain Stormfield's Visit to Heaven," and "Letters from the Earth."

"Against the assault of laughter," he said, "nothing can stand." Twain's brilliant inventiveness continues to shine in such later comic masterpieces as "Fenimore Cooper's Literary Offences," "Italian Without a Master," "Hunting the Deceitful Turkey," and "My First Lie and How I Got Out of It." A posthumous collection of proverbs and aphorisms ("More Maxims of Mark") is included as an appendix.

The publishing history of every story, sketch, and speech in this volume has been thoroughly researched, and in each instance the most authoritative text has been reproduced. This collection also includes an extensive chronology of Twain's complex life, helpful notes on the people and events referred to in his works, and a guide to the texts.

LIBRARY OF AMERICA is an independent nonprofit cultural organization founded in 1979 to preserve our nation's literary heritage by publishing, and keeping permanently in print, America's best and most significant writing. The Library of America series includes more than 300 volumes to date, authoritative editions that average 1,000 pages in length, feature cloth covers, sewn bindings, and ribbon markers, and are printed on premium acid-free paper that will last for centuries.

An Anthropologist on Mars: Seven Paradoxical Tales
An Anthropologist on Mars
Seven Paradoxical Tales
Paperback      ISBN: 0679756973

To these seven narratives of neurological disorder Dr. Sacks brings the same humanity, poetic observation, and infectious sense of wonder that are apparent in his bestsellers Awakenings and The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat. These men, women, and one extraordinary child emerge as brilliantly adaptive personalities, whose conditions have not so much debilitated them as ushered them into another reality.

The Future of an Illusion
The Future of an Illusion
Paperback      ISBN: 0393008312

In the manner of the eighteenth-century philosophe, Freud argued that religion and science were mortal enemies. Early in the century, he began to think about religion psychoanalytically and to discuss it in his writings. ?The Future of an Illusion ?(1927), Freud's best known and most emphatic psychoanalytic exploration of religion, is the culmination of a lifelong pattern of thinking.

Emotional Intelligence
Emotional Intelligence
Hardcover      ISBN: 055309503x

Everyone knows that high IQ is no guarantee of success, happiness or virtue. Goleman's fascinating report from the frontiers of psychology and neuroscience offers us startling new insight into our two minds--the rational and the emotional--and how they together shape our destiny.

The Enneagram Made Easy: Discover the 9 Types of People
The Enneagram Made Easy
Discover the 9 Types of People
Paperback      ISBN: 0062510266

The first easy, and fun 埧uide to the Enneagram, the fascinating and revealing method of understanding personality types, for the beginner, the expert, and everyone in between. This witty and informative guide demystifies the ancient Enneagram system with cartoons, exercises, and personality tests that reveal our motivations and desires and show how to put that knowledge to use in our everyday lives.

The 9 types of people:

  • The Perfectionist motivated by the need to live life the right way, improve oneself and others, and avoid anger.

  • The Helper motivated by the need to be loved and appreciated and to express your positive feelings towards others.

  • The Achiever motivated by the need to be productive, to achieve success, and to avoid failure.

  • The Romantic motivated by the need to understand your feelings and to be understood to search for the meaning of life, and to avoid being ordinary.

  • The Observer motivated by the need to know everything and understand the universe, to be self–sufficient and left alone, and to avoid not having the answer or looking foolish.

  • The Questioner motivated by the need for security, to feel taken care of, or to confront your fears.

  • The Adventurer motivated by the need to be happy and plan fun things, to contribute to the world, and to avoid suffering and pain.

  • The Asserter motivated by the need to be self–reliant and strong, to make an impact on the world, and to avoid being weak.

  • The Peacemaker motivated by the need to keep the peace, merge with others, and avoid conflict.

In a Different Voice: Psychological Theory and Women's Development
In a Different Voice
Psychological Theory and Women's Development
Paperback      ISBN: 0674445449

This is the little book that started a revolution, making women's voices heard, in their own right and with their own integrity, for virtually the first time in social scientific theorizing about women. Its impact was immediate and continues to this day, in the academic world and beyond. Translated into sixteen languages, with more than 700,000 copies sold around the world, In a Different Voice has inspired new research, new educational initiatives, and political debate and helped many women and men to see themselves and each other in a different light.Carol Gilligan believes that psychology has persistently and systematically misunderstood women their motives, their moral commitments, the course of their psychological growth, and their special view of what is important in life. Here she sets out to correct psychology's misperceptions and refocus its view of female personality. The result is truly a tour de force, which may well reshape much of what psychology now has to say about female experience."

Prozac Nation
Prozac Nation
Paperback      ISBN: 1573225126
"A book that became a cultural touchstone." -- The New Yorker

Elizabeth Wurtzel writes with her finger in the faint pulse of an overdiagnosed generation whose ruling icons are Kurt Cobain, Xanax, and pierced tongues. In this famous memoir of her bouts with depression and skirmishes with drugs, Prozac Nation is a witty and sharp account of the psychopharmacology of an era for readers of Girl, Interrupted and Sylvia Plath's The Bell Jar.