Psychology, General
Featured Items
New Introductory Lectures on Psycho-Analysis
New Introductory Lectures on Psycho-Analysis
Paperback      ISBN: 039300743x

Freud approved the overall editorial plan, specific renderings of key words and phrases, and the addition of valuable notes, from bibliographical and explanatory. Many of the translations were done by Strachey himself; the rest were prepared under his supervision. The result was to place the Standard Edition in a position of unquestioned supremacy over all other existing versions. Newly designed in a uniform format, each new paperback in the Standard Edition opens with a biographical essay on Freud's life and work --along with a note on the individual volume--by Peter Gay, Sterling Professor of History at Yale.

The Evolving Self: A Psychology for the Third Millenium
The Evolving Self
A Psychology for the Third Millenium
Paperback      ISBN: 0060921927

The author of the bestselling Flow (more than 125,000 copies sold) offers an intelligent, inspiring guide to life in the future.

Achilles in Vietnam: Combat Trauma and the Undoing of Character
Achilles in Vietnam
Combat Trauma and the Undoing of Character
Paperback      ISBN: 0684813211
An original and groundbreaking book that examines the psychological devastation of war by comparing the soldiers of Homer's Iliad with Vietnam veterans suffering from post-traumatic stress disorder.

In this moving, dazzlingly creative book, Dr. Shay examines the psychological devastation of war by comparing the soldiers of Homer's Iliad with Vietnam veterans suffering from post-traumatic stress disorder.

A classic of war literature that has as much relevance as ever in the wake of the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan, it is a "transcendent literary adventure" (The New York Times) and "clearly one of the most original and most important scholarly works to have emerged from the Vietnam War" (Tim O'Brien, author of The Things They Carried).
Prozac Nation
Prozac Nation
Paperback      ISBN: 1573225126
"A book that became a cultural touchstone." -- The New Yorker

Elizabeth Wurtzel writes with her finger in the faint pulse of an overdiagnosed generation whose ruling icons are Kurt Cobain, Xanax, and pierced tongues. In this famous memoir of her bouts with depression and skirmishes with drugs, Prozac Nation is a witty and sharp account of the psychopharmacology of an era for readers of Girl, Interrupted and Sylvia Plath's The Bell Jar.
Toward a New Psychology of Women
Toward a New Psychology of Women
2nd Edition    Paperback      ISBN: 0807029092
An update of the feminist classic that "did nothing less than alter the course of gender psychology" (Psychology Today)

In the years since its original publication, this best-selling classic became famous for its groundbreaking demonstration of how sexual stereotypes restrict our psychological development. Toward a New Psychology of Women revolutionized the concepts of strength and weakness, dependency and autonomy, emotion, success, and power, selling more than 200,000 copies and changing the lives of women across the globe.

In this updated second edition, Dr. Jean Baker Miller reflects on where women are today, addressing both the enormous progress in some areas and the challenges still to be met. Celebrating the questions that have been raised and the actions women have taken, as well as looking toward future change, Miller affirms the strength and diversity of womanhood.
William James: Writings, 1878-1899
William James
Writings, 1878-1899
Hardcover      ISBN: 0940450720

In this Library of America volume are the brilliant, engagingly written works of the early and middle years of William James, a member of America's most illustrious intellectual family. Widely acclaimed as the country's foremost philosopher, the first of its psychologists, and a champion of religious pluralism, his influence on American thought is as strong now as it has ever been.

James's emphasis on the creative power of faith, will, and action, his opening up of philosophy to the fresh air of ordinary experience, his fascination with alternative forms of belief and states of consciousness, and his impatience with dogmas of any kind all make him a defender of individual experience and earn him a place beside Emerson and Whitman as an exponent of American democratic culture.

Psychology: Briefer Course (1892) is far more than a shortened version of his monumental Principles of Psychology. It significantly revises parts of the earlier work and adds important new materials. (Students liked to call the longer book "James" and the shorter one "Jimmy.") James's new psychology moved away from discussions of the soul, morality, and logic, and focused instead on instinct, will, and the importance of action and habit. Passages comparing human consciousness to "a wonderful stream" inspired the "stream of consciousness" in the future work of Joyce, Woolf, and Gertrude Stein, a student of James's at Harvard.

The Will to Believe and Other Essays in Popular Philosophy (1897) advances the argument that each of us has the right to believe in hypotheses that are not susceptible to proof, and that such beliefs might actually change the world. The conversational style of theses essays reflects their origin in public lectures, as well as James's conviction that truth can be discovered as much in the course of everyday life as in the activities of science or of philosophical speculation.

Talks to Teachers and to Students (1899), also drawn from lectures, helped transform the emerging science of education. Here James applies his new psychology to classroom theory and conduct, especially for the primary grades. This immensely influential book has never gone out of print. It emphasizes the role in learning of instinct, play, and habit, along with the importance of engaging the voluntary interests of students. James's warm and sympathetic nature informs his treatment of children, who can best be taught by those who respect the child's autonomy and who avoid what he calls "hammering in."

"Human Immortality" (1897) defends the possibility of life after death; eight more of James's most important essays round out this volume devoted to a writer called by John Dewey, "almost a Columbus of the inner world."

LIBRARY OF AMERICA is an independent nonprofit cultural organization founded in 1979 to preserve our nation's literary heritage by publishing, and keeping permanently in print, America's best and most significant writing. The Library of America series includes more than 300 volumes to date, authoritative editions that average 1,000 pages in length, feature cloth covers, sewn bindings, and ribbon markers, and are printed on premium acid-free paper that will last for centuries.
The Addictive Organization: Why We Overwork, Cover Up, Pick Up the Pieces, Please the Boss, and Perpetuate S
The Addictive Organization
Why We Overwork, Cover Up, Pick Up the Pieces, Please the Boss, and Perpetuate S
Paperback      ISBN: 0062548743

Schaef and Fassel show how managers, workers, and organization members exhibit the classic symptoms of addiction: denying and avoiding problems, assuming that there is no other way of acting, and manipulating events to maintain the status quo.

The Enneagram: Understanding Yourself and the Others in Your Life
The Enneagram
Understanding Yourself and the Others in Your Life
Paperback      ISBN: 0062506838

It would be impossible for most of us to spend a day without coming into direct or indirect contact with dozens of people family, friends, people in the street, at the office, on television, in our fantasies and fears. Our relationships with others are the most changeable, infuriating, pleasurable and mystifying elements in our lives.

Personality types, based on the ancient system of the Enneagram, will help you to enjoy more satisfying and fulfilling relationships in all areas of your life by introducing you to the nine basic personality types inherent in human nature. This knowledge will help you better understand how others think and why they behave as they do, as well as increasing your awareness of your own individual personality.

Written by the leading world authority on the Enneagram, it offers a framework for understanding ourselves and those around us, as well as a wealth of practical insights for anyone interested in psychology, counselling, teaching, social work, journalism and personal management.

Flow: The Psychology of Optimal Experience
Flow
The Psychology of Optimal Experience
Paperback      ISBN: 0060920432

The bestselling introduction to "flow"--a groundbreaking psychological theory that shows readers how to improve the quality of life."

Many Lives, Many Masters: The True Story of a Prominent Psychiatrist, His Young Patient, and the Past-Life Therapy That Changed Both Their Lives
Many Lives, Many Masters
The True Story of a Prominent Psychiatrist, His Young Patient, and the Past-Life Therapy That Changed Both Their Lives
Paperback      ISBN: 0671657860

From author and psychotherapist Dr. Brian Weiss comes the classic bestseller on the true case of the past-life therapy that changed the lives of both the prominent psychiatrist and young patient involved--now featuring a new afterword by the author.

As a traditional psychotherapist, Dr. Brian Weiss was astonished and skeptical when one of his patients began recalling past-life traumas that seemed to hold the key to her recurring nightmares and anxiety attacks. His skepticism was eroded, however, when she began to channel messages from the "space between lives," which contained remarkable revelations about Dr. Weiss' family and his dead son. Using past-life therapy, he was able to cure the patient and embark on a new, more meaningful phase of his own career. With more than one million copies in print, Many Lives, Many Masters is one of the breakthrough texts in alternative psychotherapy and remains as provocative and timeless as it was when first published.