Child Psychology
Featured Items
NurtureShock: New Thinking about Children
NurtureShock
New Thinking about Children
Paperback      ISBN: 0446504130

In a world of modern, involved, caring parents, why are so many kids aggressive and cruel? Where is intelligence hidden in the brain, and why does that matter? Why do cross-racial friendships decrease in schools that are more integrated? If 98% of kids think lying is morally wrong, then why do 98% of kids lie? What's the single most important thing that helps infants learn language?
NurtureShock is a groundbreaking collaboration between award-winning science journalists Po Bronson and Ashley Merryman. They argue that when it comes to children, we've mistaken good intentions for good ideas. With impeccable storytelling and razor-sharp analysis, they demonstrate that many of modern society's strategies for nurturing children are in fact backfiring--because key twists in the science have been overlooked.
Nothing like a parenting manual, the authors' work is an insightful exploration of themes and issues that transcend children's (and adults') lives.

The Forbidden Experiment: The Story of the Wild Boy of Aveyron
The Forbidden Experiment
The Story of the Wild Boy of Aveyron
Paperback      ISBN: 1568360487

International in scope, this series of non-fiction trade paperbacks offers books that explore the lives, customs and thoughts of peoples and cultures around the world.

The Defining Decade: Why Your Twenties Matter and How to Make the Most of Them Now
The Defining Decade
Why Your Twenties Matter and How to Make the Most of Them Now
Paperback      ISBN: 0446561754

Our "thirty-is-the-new-twenty" culture tells us the twentysomething years don't matter. Some say they are a second adolescence. Others call them an emerging adulthood. Dr. Meg Jay, a clinical psychologist, argues that twentysomethings have been caught in a swirl of hype and misinformation, much of which has trivialized what is actually the most defining decade of adulthood.

Drawing from a decade of work with hundreds of twentysomething clients and students, The Defining Decade weaves the latest science of the twentysomething years with behind-closed-doors stories from twentysomethings themselves. The result is a provocative read that provides the tools necessary to make the most of your twenties, and shows us how work, relationships, personality, social networks, identity, and even the brain can change more during this decade than at any other time in adulthood-if we use the time wisely.

The Defining Decade is a smart, compassionate and constructive book about the years we cannot afford to miss.
Healthy Sleep Habits, Happy Child
Healthy Sleep Habits, Happy Child
Paperback      ISBN: 0449004023

A pediatrician outlines his program to help parents ensure a good night's sleep for their children by working with their natural sleep cycles

From Magical Child to Magical Teen: A Guide to Adolescent Development
From Magical Child to Magical Teen
A Guide to Adolescent Development
Paperback      ISBN: 0892819960

A groundbreaking perspective on Nature's plan for full human creativity and intelligence during the teen years

- Shows what is at the core of today's serious social and psychological problems

- Explores the sexual and spiritual stage of adolescent development

- Details the connection between adolescent brain and heart development and the issue of nature vs. nurture

- By the author of Magical Child (250,000 copies sold)

Something is supposed to happen during the adolescent years--something greater than MTV, video games, and the Internet. Joseph Chilton Pearce describes this something as the natural mandate for post-biological development--the development of the sexual and spiritual senses and expansion of our growth process outside of our bodies and into the physical world that surrounds us.

Though first written in the mid 1980s, the message of From Magical Child to Magical Teen is even more compelling and helpful today--especially for those who live with and work with adolescents. Drawing on the stages of development outlined by Swiss biologist Jean Piaget and the brain research of neuroscientist Paul MacLean, Pearce demonstrates how nature has built into us an agenda for the intelligent unfolding of our lives. He offers a powerful critique of contemporary child-rearing practices and a groundbreaking alternative to existing perspectives on adolescence so we can unleash our greatest potential, as well as that of our children, in order to experience our fullness in the manner nature intended all along.
Hurry Down Sunshine
Hurry Down Sunshine
Hardcover      ISBN: 1590511913
HURRY DOWN SUNSHINE TELLS THE STORY OF THE extraordinary summer when, at the age of fifteen, Michael Greenberg's daughter was struck mad. It begins with Sally's visionary crack-up on the streets of Greenwich Village, and continues, among other places, in the out-of-time world of a Manhattan psychiatric ward during the city's most sweltering months. "I feel like I'm traveling and traveling with nowhere to go back to," Sally says in a burst of lucidity while hurtling away toward some place her father could not dream of or imagine. Hurry Down Sunshine is the chronicle of that journey, and its effect on Sally and those closest to her-her brother and grandmother, her mother and stepmother, and, not least of all, the author himself. Among Greenberg's unforgettable gallery of characters are an unconventional psychiatrist, an Orthodox Jewish patient, a manic Classics professor, a movie producer, and a landlord with literary dreams. Unsentimental, nuanced, and deeply humane, Hurry Down Sunshine holds the reader in a mesmerizing state of suspension between the mundane and the transcendent.

"The psychotic break of his fifteen-year-old daughter is the grit around which Michael Greenberg forms the pearl that is Hurry Down Sunshine. It is a brilliant, taut, entirely original study of a suffering child and a family and marriage under siege. I know of no other book about madness whose claim to scientific knowledge is so modest and whose artistic achievement is so great." - Janet Malcolm, author of The Silent Woman: Sylvia Plath & Ted Hughes and The Journalist and the Murderer

"One of the most gripping and disturbingly honest books I have ever read. The courage Michael Greenberg shows in narrating the story of his adolescent daughter's descent into psychosis is matched by his acute understanding of how alone each of us, sane or manic, is in our processing of reality and our attempts to get others to appreciate what seems important to us. This is a remarkable memoir." - Phillip Lopate, author of Two Marriages and Waterfront: A Journey Around Manhattan
The Whole-Brain Child: 12 Revolutionary Strategies to Nurture Your Child's Developing Mind
The Whole-Brain Child
12 Revolutionary Strategies to Nurture Your Child's Developing Mind
Paperback      ISBN: 0553386697

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - The authors of No-Drama Discipline and The Yes Brain explain the new science of how a child's brain is wired and how it matures in this pioneering, practical book.

"Simple, smart, and effective solutions to your child's struggles."--Harvey Karp, M.D.

In this pioneering, practical book, Daniel J. Siegel, neuropsychiatrist and author of the bestselling Mindsight, and parenting expert Tina Payne Bryson offer a revolutionary approach to child rearing with twelve key strategies that foster healthy brain development, leading to calmer, happier children. The authors explain--and make accessible--the new science of how a child's brain is wired and how it matures. The "upstairs brain," which makes decisions and balances emotions, is under construction until the mid-twenties. And especially in young children, the right brain and its emotions tend to rule over the logic of the left brain. No wonder kids throw tantrums, fight, or sulk in silence. By applying these discoveries to everyday parenting, you can turn any outburst, argument, or fear into a chance to integrate your child's brain and foster vital growth.

Complete with age-appropriate strategies for dealing with day-to-day struggles and illustrations that will help you explain these concepts to your child, The Whole-Brain Child shows you how to cultivate healthy emotional and intellectual development so that your children can lead balanced, meaningful, and connected lives.

" A] useful child-rearing resource for the entire family . . . The authors include a fair amount of brain science, but they present it for both adult and child audiences."--Kirkus Reviews

"Strategies for getting a youngster to chill out with] compassion."--The Washington Post

"This erudite, tender, and funny book is filled with fresh ideas based on the latest neuroscience research. I urge all parents who want kind, happy, and emotionally healthy kids to read The Whole-Brain Child. This is my new baby gift."--Mary Pipher, Ph.D., author of Reviving Ophelia and The Shelter of Each Other

"Gives parents and teachers ideas to get all parts of a healthy child's brain working together."--Parent to Parent
Early Development and Its Disturbances: Clinical, Conceptual, and Empirical Research on ADHD and Other Psychopathologies and Its Epistemological Reflections
Early Development and Its Disturbances
Clinical, Conceptual, and Empirical Research on ADHD and Other Psychopathologies and Its Epistemological Reflections
1st Edition    Paperback      ISBN: 1855757451

This is one of the first psychoanalytic books devoted to ADHD and other disturbances of early development. Some of the papers of this volume have been presented at the 9th Joseph Sandler Research Conference which took place in Frankfurt, organized by both Research Subcommittees of the International Psychoanalytical Association: The Research Subcommittee for Empirical Research (Chair: Peter Fonagy) and the Research Subcommittee for Clinical, Conceptual, Historical and Epistemological Research (Chair: Marianne Leuzinger-Bohleber). The research conference carried the name of Joseph Sandler, one of the most productive psychoanalytic researchers of the last decades. With this volume the authors contribute to a more intensive engagement of psychoanalysts in this field.

Contemporary Play Therapy: Theory, Research, and Practice
Contemporary Play Therapy
Theory, Research, and Practice
1st Edition    Paperback      ISBN: 1593856334

This highly practical book presents current developments in play therapy, including innovative applications for particular problems and populations. Contributors first discuss the latest ideas and techniques emerging from object relations, experiential, dynamic, and narrative perspectives. Next, research evaluating the effectiveness of play interventions is reviewed in detail. The book's third and largest section demonstrates creative approaches for helping children deal with a variety of adverse circumstances: homelessness, family problems, sexual abuse, social aggression, natural disasters, and more. Throughout, rich case illustrations enhance the book's utility for clinicians.

The Burn Journals
The Burn Journals
Paperback      ISBN: 1400096421

Fans of Thirteen Reasons Why, Running with Scissors and Girl, Interrupted will be entranced by this remarkable true story of teenage despair and recovery

In 1991, fourteen-year-old Brent Runyon came home from school, doused his bathrobe in gasoline, put it on, and lit a match.

He suffered third-degree burns over 85% of his body and spent the next year recovering in hospitals and rehab facilities. During that year of physical recovery, Runyon began to question what he'd done, undertaking the complicated journey from near-death back to high school, and from suicide back to the emotional mainstream of life.