Staff Picks
Featured Items
Skirmish: Poems
Skirmish
Poems
Paperback      ISBN: 1555975151
New poetry by Dobby Gibson, author of Polar, which “teems with a language so alive and so imaginative that one cannot help but read on with wonder and rapture” (The Bloomsbury Review) We have to escape while we can. I’m trying to remember you—quick, now you try to remember me. —from “Refuge” With sheer wit and keen observation, Dobby Gibson’s Skirmish puts into conflict the private and public self, civil disobedience and civic engagement, fortunes told and fortunes made. These poems imaginatively, sometimes manically, move from perception to perception with the speed of a mind forced moment by moment to make sense of distant war and local unrest, global misjudgment and suspicious next-door neighbors, the splice-cuts of the media and the gliding leaves on the Mississippi River.
Lush Life
Lush Life
Paperback      ISBN: 0312428227
Still living on the Lower East Side and waiting tables in a restaurant, thirty-five-year-old Eric Cash has every reason in the world to be jealous of Ike Marcus, a handsome, well-liked, ambitious young man on the way to the top, until he is supposedly gunned down by two street thugs while walking one night with Eric. Reprint.
Fingerprints of the Gods
Fingerprints of the Gods
Paperback      ISBN: 0517887290
A search for evidence of a prehistoric, advanced civilization speculates about an Atlantis-like world buried beneath Antarctic ice and makes predictions about forthcoming geological disasters. Reprint. 35,000 first printing.
Blue Highways: A Journey into America
Blue Highways
A Journey into America
Paperback      ISBN: 0316353299
Recounts the author's journey through America along the nation's backroads
Man Tiger
Man Tiger
Paperback      ISBN: 1781688591
""After half a century," writes renowned Indonesia scholar Benedict Anderson, "Pramaoedya Ananta Toer has found a successor." Eka Kurniawan has been described as the "brightest meteorite" in Indonesia's new literary firmament, the author of two remarkable novels whose sheer beauty, elegance, cosmopolitanism, and ambition have brought comparisons not only to Pramaoedya, universally considered Indonesia's modern literary genius, but also to Salman Rushdie, Gabriel García Marquez, and Mark Twain. A new generation of young literary figures in Indonesia, emerging after decades of repressive dictatorship ended in 1998, is renewing the culture of the world's largest Muslim nation (and its language, which was only nationally instituted in 1945). Kurniawan's Beauty Is a Wound and Man Tiger are the capstones of this movement. A slim, wry story set in an unnamed town near the Indian Ocean, Man Tiger tells the story of two interlinked and tormented families, and of Margio, an ordinary half-city, half-rural youngster who also happens to be half-man, half-supernatural female white tiger (in many parts of Indonesia, magical tigers protect good villages and families). At once elegant and bawdy, experimental and political, Man Tiger will help to establish Indonesia's new voice, underrepresented in world literature, while demonstrating the influence of world literature on Indonesian writers"--
Love in a Cold Climate
Love in a Cold Climate
Paperback      ISBN: 030774082x
One of Nancy Mitford’s most beloved novels, Love in a Cold Climate is a sparkling romantic comedy that vividly evokes the lost glamour of aristocratic life in England between the wars. Polly Hampton has long been groomed for the perfect marriage by her mother, the fearsome and ambitious Lady Montdore. But Polly, with her stunning good looks and impeccable connections, is bored by the monotony of her glittering debut season in London. Having just come from India, where her father served as Viceroy, she claims to have hoped that society in a colder climate would be less obsessed with love affairs. The apparently aloof and indifferent Polly has a long-held secret, however, one that leads to the shattering of her mother’s dreams and her own disinheritance. When an elderly duke begins pursuing the disgraced Polly and a callow potential heir curries favor with her parents, nothing goes as expected, but in the end all find happiness in their own unconventional ways.
Lab Girl
Lab Girl
Paperback      ISBN: 1101873728
National Best Seller Named One of TIME magazine’s "100 Most Influential People" An illuminating debut memoir of a woman in science; a moving portrait of a longtime friendship; and a stunningly fresh look at plants that will forever change how you see the natural world Acclaimed scientist Hope Jahren has built three laboratories in which she’s studied trees, flowers, seeds, and soil. Her first book is a revelatory treatise on plant life—but it is also so much more. Lab Girl is a book about work, love, and the mountains that can be moved when those two things come together. It is told through Jahren’s remarkable stories: about her childhood in rural Minnesota with an uncompromising mother and a father who encouraged hours of play in his classroom’s labs; about how she found a sanctuary in science, and learned to perform lab work done “with both the heart and the hands
Hunger Makes Me a Modern Girl: A Memoir
Hunger Makes Me a Modern Girl
A Memoir
Paperback      ISBN: 0399184767
The guitarist and vocalist of feminist punk trio Sleater-Kinney presents a candid and deeply personal assessment of life in the rock-and-roll industry that reveals her struggles with rock's double standards and her codevelopment of the comedy Portlandia. Reprint.
The Freeze-Frame Revolution
The Freeze-Frame Revolution
Paperback      ISBN: 1616962526
She believed in the mission with all her heart. But that was sixty million years ago. How do you stage a mutiny when you're only awake one day in a million? How do you conspire when your tiny handful of potential allies changes with each shift? How do you engage an enemy that never sleeps, that sees through your eyes and hears through your ears and relentlessly, honestly, only wants what best for you? Sunday Ahzmundin is about to find out.
The City of Brass
The City of Brass
Paperback      ISBN: 0062678116
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY Library Journal| Vulture | The Verge | SYFYWire *Finalist for the World Fantasy Award: Best Novel *Nominated for the Locus Award: Best First Novel *Finalist for the British Fantasy Award: Best Newcomer Step into The City of Brass, the spellbinding debut from S. A. Chakraborty perfect for fans of The Golem and the Jinni, The Grace of Kings, and Uprooted, in which the future of a magical Middle Eastern kingdom rests in the hands of a clever and defiant young con artist with miraculous healing gifts. Featuring a stepback and extra content including a bonus scene and an excerpt from The Kingdom of Copper. On the streets of eighteenth-century Cairo, Nahri is a con woman of unsurpassed skill. She makes her living swindling Ottoman nobles, hoping to one day earn enough to change her fortunes. But when Nahri accidentally summons Dara, an equally sly, darkly mysterious djinn warrior, during one of her cons, she learns that even the cleverest of schemes can have deadly consequences. Forced to flee Cairo, Dara and Nahri journey together across hot, windswept sands teeming with creatures of fire and rivers where the mythical marid sleep, past ruins of once-magnificent human metropolises and mountains where the circling birds of prey are more than what they seem, to Daevabad, the legendary city of brass. It’s a city steeped in magic and fire, where blood can be as dangerous as any spell; a city where old resentments run deep and the royal court rules with a tenuous grip; a city to which Nahri is irrevocably bound—and where her very presence threatens to ignite a war that has been simmering for centuries.