Early Primers
Featured Items
Winston Companion Readers Primer
Winston Companion Readers Primer
Hardcover      SKU: 1199166731
Put Me in the Zoo
Put Me in the Zoo
Hardcover      ISBN: 0394800176

Spot believes he deserves to be in the zoo with the other amazing animals. In this Beginner Book edited by Dr. Seuss, Spot shows two young friends all the exciting things he can do with his spots. From changing their color and juggling them to moving them onto everything around him, you won't believe what Spot can do. Beginning readers will be delighted by Robert Lopshire's lively tale that proves there is a special spot for everyone.

Originally created by Dr. Seuss, Beginner Books encourage children to read all by themselves, with simple words and illustrations that give clues to their meaning.

"A hilarious story for a first-grade pupil to read. Shows that reading can be fun even if the vocabulary is very limited."--Material Analysis Publications.
Uncle Elephant
Uncle Elephant
Paperback      ISBN: 0064441040

Another sweet, classic bedtime tale from Arnold Lobel, the beloved author and illustrator of the Newbery Honor and Caldecott Honor award-winning Frog and Toad books.

While his mother and father are away, a little elephant goes to visit his uncle. And what a time they have Uncle Elephant makes wishes come true, tells amazing stories, and trumpets the dawn. The visit is perfect, except for one thing--it ends much too soon.

This Level Two I Can Read is geared toward kids who read on their own but still need a little help.

The classic Frog and Toad stories by Arnold Lobel have won numerous awards and honors, including a Newbery Honor, a Caldecott Honor, ALA Notable Children's Book, Fanfare Honor List (Horn Book), School Library Journal Best Children's Book, and Library of Congress Children's Book.

Mouse Tales
Mouse Tales
Paperback      ISBN: 0064440133

Another sweet, classic bedtime tale from Arnold Lobel, the beloved author and illustrator of the Newbery Honor and Caldecott Honor award-winning Frog and Toad books. This I Can Read book is an excellent choice to share during homeschooling, in particular for children ages 5 to 7 who are ready to read independently. It's a fun way to keep your child engaged and as a supplement for activity books for children.

When Papa's seven little mouse boys ask for a bedtime story, Papa does even better than that--he tells seven stories, one for each boy

This Level Two I Can Read is geared toward kids who read on their own but still need a little help.

Biscuit Finds a Friend
Biscuit Finds a Friend
Paperback      ISBN: 0064442438

For fans of Clifford and Spot, welcome everybody's favorite little yellow puppy, Biscuit, in an I Can Read adventure

Biscuit is back--and he's got a new friend In this charming My First I Can Read book, everyone's favorite puppy Biscuit meets an adorable lost duckling. Perfect for shared reading with a child, this story teaches a lesson about finding friends while also helping to boost reading fluency.

Making Your Own Days: The Pleasures of Reading and Writing Poetry
Making Your Own Days
The Pleasures of Reading and Writing Poetry
Paperback      ISBN: 0684824388

From one of the most esteemed American poets of the twenty-first century comes a celebration of poetry and an invitation for anyone to experience its beauty and wonder.

Full of fresh and exciting insights, Making Your Own Days illuminates the somewhat mysterious subject of poetry for those who read it and for those who write it--as well as for those who would like to read and write it better. By treating poetry not as a special use of language but as a distinct language--unlike the one used in prose and conversation--Koch clarifies the nature of poetic inspiration, how poems are written and revised, and what happens to the heart and mind while reading a poem.

Koch also provides a rich anthology of more than ninety works from poets past and present. Lyric poems, excerpts from long poems and poetic plays, poems in English, and poems in translation from Homer and Sappho to Lorca, Snyder, and Ashbery; each selection is accompanied by an explanatory note designed to complement and clarify the text and to put pleasure back into the experience of poetry.
The Case of the Cat's Meow
The Case of the Cat's Meow
Paperback      ISBN: 0064440176

The four members of the Private Eyes Club--Skinny, Wizard, Snitch, and Tubby--solve the baffling case of the missing cat.

Peanut
Peanut
1st Edition    Paperback      ISBN: 0375806180

This funny and kid-appealing Step 2 early reader is about one small but brave little dog Peanut has a super sniffer. When the toddler in his family wanders off in the grocery store, Peanut's sniffing skills pay off and make him a big hero. A very relatable story in an easy-to-read format with bright illustrations from Mike Reed.

Step 2 Readers use basic vocabulary and short sentences to tell simple stories, for children who recognize familiar words and can sound out new words with help. Rhyme and rhythmic text paired with picture clues help children decode the story.
Sixth Eclectic Reader
Sixth Eclectic Reader
Hardcover      SKU: 1199166154
My Book about Me by Me Myself
My Book about Me by Me Myself
Hardcover      ISBN: 0394800931
Tell your own story with a little help from Dr. Seuss in this DIY dream activity book that's all about YOU

How tall are YOU? How many teeth do YOU have? Where do YOU live? What do YOU like to eat?

Kids will answer these questions and more, celebrating their unique selves while creating their very own biographies in this classic activity book from Dr. Seuss, illustrated by Roy Mckie. With fill-in-the-blanks, lists, check boxes, and drawing prompts, this book allows readers to write and draw right on the fun-filled pages From the number of freckles you have, to the kind of house you live in, to the silly animal sounds you can make, Dr. Seuss guides kids through an interactive reading experience with a creative spark. The perfect gift for special birthdays or for year-round fun, this book will hold special memories long after it's filled in.

"Pretty much all the stuff you need to know is in Dr. Seuss." -President Barack Obama