Early Primers
Featured Items
Snowmen at Night
Snowmen at Night
School & Library      ISBN: 0803725507

Have you ever built a snowman and discovered the next day that his grin has gotten a little crooked, or his tree-branch arms have moved? And you've wondered . . . what do snowmen do at night? This delightful wintertime tale reveals all Caralyn Buehner's witty, imaginative verse offers many amusing details about the secret life of snowmen and where they go at night, while Mark Buehner's roly-poly snowmen are bursting with personality and charm. From the highly successful team that created such winning titles as Fanny's Dream, Snowmen at Night is fabulous, frosty, and fun

You Read to Me, I'll Read to You: Very Short Stories to Read Together
You Read to Me, I'll Read to You
Very Short Stories to Read Together
School & Library      ISBN: 0316363502
Here's a book with something new - you read to me I'll read to you We'll read each page to one another - you'll read one side, I the other.

A unique book 'in two voices' that uses traditional reading teaching techniques (alliteration, rhyme, repetition, short sentences) to invite young children to read along with an adult. Each of the twelve short stories fit on one spread and features childlike themes - family, friendship, pets and seasons. With clear, color-coded typography and amusing illustrations, this collection is sure to entertain.
John Coltrane's Giant Steps
John Coltrane's Giant Steps
School & Library      ISBN: 0689845987

You may be surprised
at the tricky music
a box,
a snowflake,
some raindrops,
and a kitten
can make.

Right before your eyes.
And on the pages
of this book.

There is someone
backstage
watching, encouraging
our performers
but keeping them
under control.

Why not
listen along?
Twisted Tales: Level 3
Twisted Tales
Level 3
Paperback      ISBN: 1584765143

It's phonics It's comics It's fun to read Each cool 24 page comic book includes three exciting, easy-to-read stories. Perfect for motivating new and reluctant readers This level 3 title for confident readers introduces multisyllabic words and more advanced vocabulary, complex vowel sounds, more challenging story lines, and advanced sight words. GRL: M

Arthur's Back to School Day
Arthur's Back to School Day
Paperback      ISBN: 0064442454
Brrr ... ing
There's the school bell
It's the first day back at school for Arthur and Violet and all of their friends. Time for riding the school bus, going to class, and best of all, eating snacks and playing games at recess.

But this year the first day is full of surprises. The bus ride to school is an unexpected adventure, and Arthur's friend, Norman, almost loses his lunch box. Just when things settle down, Arthur finds his snack has disappeared from his lunch box. What will happen next on this exciting first day of school?

Beginning readers heading back to school will enjoy the humor in Lillian Hoban's tenth I Can Read Book about these much loved characters.

Biscuit Wants to Play
Biscuit Wants to Play
Paperback      ISBN: 0064443159

For fans of Clifford and Spot, welcome everybody's favorite little yellow puppy, Biscuit, in an I Can Read adventure

When Biscuit meets two little kittens, he wants to be friends. He wants to play ball and run around. But the kittens are having too much fun with their own games to play with him. Biscuit doesn't give up, though, and soon the kittens find out what a good friend he can be.

Biscuit Wants to Play, a My First I Can Read book, is carefully crafted using basic language, word repetition, sight words, and sweet illustrations--which means it's perfect for shared reading with emergent readers.

Be Fair, Share!
Be Fair, Share!
Paperback      ISBN: 1402734220

It's a situation kids know all too well: the food they have to eat is BORING What's the answer? Trade and share Three friends see how fair they can be as they distribute and redistribute the food they brought. The lively, appealing art comes from Pete Whitehead--illustrator of Scooters.

Baa-Choo!
Baa-Choo!
Paperback      ISBN: 006443740x

Sam the lamb has a bad cold. But every time he thinks he is going to sneeze, he only gets as far as "Baa . . . ahhh . . ." No choo

Sarah Weeks′ rhyming tale and Jane Manning′s lively art make for a hilarious barnyard romp.

Ages 4+

Pillow Fight
Pillow Fight
Paperback      ISBN: 1402727194

Mike and Tony do everything together--including a sleepover each Friday. But this week they started a small pillow fight that grew...and grew...and grew. Will this be the end of a beautiful friendship?

Is It Hanukkah Yet?
Is It Hanukkah Yet?
Paperback      ISBN: 037580286x

" Is it Hanukkah yet?"
" Not yet. We have to wait for the sun to set "
Families who celebrate Hanukkah will recognize this familiar refrain. And what better way to make the wait go faster than to read this sweet family story about how one very enthusiastic little girl awaits the holiday? Kids will find their favorite songs, games, and traditions in this early reader that captures the joy and warmth of the Festival of Lights.