Children's Transportation
Featured Items
Construction Machines
Construction Machines
Paperback      ISBN: 0228101115

An interactive reader experience that poses the question: which machine is best for the job?

Children love machines Especially big ones Big ones in the dirt Construction Machines is a new take on the world of big machines. It looks at a specific job that needs doing, then provides information on the right machine to do it, whether a digger, steam roller, excavator, loader or bulldozer.

The book includes sections on quarrying stone, laying a road, building a skyscraper, digging a tunnel, and demolishing a building. Each section begins with a construction scene and asks "what sort of big machines can get this job done?" A sidebar gives the reader different machine options and subsequent spreads take a detailed look at the amazing machines that are up to the challenge.

Accessible text gives the key characteristics of favorite machines and colorful sidebar boxes give each machine's vital statistics. Value priced, colorful and informative, this is the perfect book for all young machine enthusiasts Pack it up with Emergency Machines (9780228101123) to make a great gift.

Ultimate Sticker Book: Things That Go: More Than 250 Reusable Stickers
Ultimate Sticker Book: Things That Go
More Than 250 Reusable Stickers
by DK
Paperback      ISBN: 1465447202

Packed with activities -- from matching the tire to the correct vehicle to piecing together the jigsaw stickers to make a truck -- Ultimate Sticker Book: Things That Go contains more than 250 reusable stickers of kids' favorite planes, trains, and automobiles. Featuring race cars, classic cars, motorcycles, and more, fun facts are paired with bright, eye-catching stickers, encouraging children to return to this new sticker book again and again to learn even more about their favorite subject.

Taking subjects that kids love, from dinosaurs to baby animals to transportation, DK's Ultimate Sticker Book series is being refreshed and updated and now features more than 250 fun, reusable stickers. Packed with activities that allow children to create scenes, match pairs, and complete jigsaws, the activities throughout each book are simple enough for the child to do independently, but engaging enough to keep their interest and help develop dexterity, making these books products parents can trust, and ones that kids will want to keep picking up to learn more about their favorite subjects.

Tractors and Farm Vehicles
Tractors and Farm Vehicles
Paperback      ISBN: 155407620x

The Mighty Machines series. Mighty machines in full color for the kids who love them.

In the Mighty Machines series, vivid color photographs of machines at work jump off the page. Large type describes the machines, their parts and their uses. Glossaries explain essential terms, and suggested activities add to the fun. The big format and vibrant designs make the books perfect for kids to read alone or share with a friend.

With their lively designs and topics that are always a favorite with kids, these books offer popular subject matter and excellent value.

Traveling down the highway, kids often see spiderlike harvesters and dust-raising tractors working in a field and wonder what these extraordinary vehicles are doing. This book shows all kinds of wheeled farm equipment at work, including:

  • Tractors and their enormous wheels
  • Plows
  • Seed drills
  • Field weeders and crop sprayers
  • Vegetable harvesters
  • Combine harvesters
  • Straw balers
  • The sport and fun of a tractor race
  • Boats: Fast & Slow
    Boats
    Fast & Slow
    Hardcover      ISBN: 1911171925
    From the haunting Viking longships, to Native American log canoes, and onwards to Chinese Dragon Boats and pirate ships, to modern racing sailboats, Boats helps to tell the story of humankind in this artfully illustrated nonfiction picture book.

    Boats are one of the most important inventions in human history. With the ability to venture onto the waves, we have fished for food, crossed oceans, discovered new lands, and opened up trade around the world. From great warships to small kayaks, boats are a part of every culture with access to water, and are a testament to humankind's resourcefulness, curiosity, and thirst for adventure.
    Dump Trucks and Other Big Machines
    Dump Trucks and Other Big Machines
    Paperback      ISBN: 1770858504

    What kid doesn't love dump trucks? And diggers, loaders, bulldozers, and big spinning concrete mixers? There are also mighty machines that kids might not see. Rock-eating tunnelers used underground, roadbuilders and pavers used at night, and enormous flat-bed trucks that carry the supertall cranes used to build skyscrapers. Big machines are a thrill that never grows old.

    Here are Mighty Machines that jump off the page. Large type describes the machines, their parts and their uses. Glossaries explain essential terms and suggested activities add to the fun. The big format and vibrant designs make the books perfect for kids to read alone or share with a friend.

    With their lively designs and topics that are always a favorite with kids, these books offer popular subject matter and excellent value.

    Cars
    Cars
    Paperback      ISBN: 1554076277

    The Mighty Machines series. Mighty machines in full color for the kids who love them.

    In the Mighty Machines series, vivid color photographs of machines at work jump off the page. Large type describes the machines, their parts and their uses. Glossaries explain essential terms, and suggested activities add to the fun. The big format and vibrant designs make the books perfect for kids to read alone or share with a friend.

    With their lively designs and topics that are always a favorite with kids, these books offer popular subject matter and excellent value.

    Cars are everywhere and we use them everyday. With their bright colors, variety of shapes and revving sounds, they are a perennial favorite of children. Cars featured in this book include:

  • Everyday cars, including hybrids and mini cars
  • Sports cars, including convertibles
  • Custom-built super cars
  • Race cars
  • Off-road vehicles
  • Luxury cars, with a description of the president's car
  • Kids Meet the Emergency and Rescue Vehicles
    Kids Meet the Emergency and Rescue Vehicles
    Hardcover      ISBN: 1604334681

    Vroom vroom Beep beep Honk honk Woooop wooooop Make way for these emergency vehicles coming to the rescue

    Kids Meet the Emergency Vehicles, the latest addition to the popular Kids Meet series, teaches kids in a fun and friendly manner about some common and unusual emergency vehicles including fire trucks, police cruisers, ambulances, rescue helicopters, motorbikes and more Kids will learn how the vehicles work, what their purposes are, about the heroic crews behind them, and the amazing rescues they respond to. Each spread features a different emergency vehicle complete with full color illustrations and a die cut. Fascinating images, simple dialogue, and personal narratives will keep kids engaged throughout the entire book
    Trucks
    Trucks
    Paperback      ISBN: 1554076196

    The Mighty Machines series. Mighty machines in full color for the kids who love them.

    In the Mighty Machines series, vivid color photographs of machines at work jump off the page. Large type describes the machines, their parts and their uses. Glossaries explain essential terms, and suggested activities add to the fun. The big format and vibrant designs make the books perfect for kids to read alone or share with a friend.

    With their lively designs and topics that are always a favorite with kids, these books offer popular subject matter and excellent value.

    Young readers will recognize this fun selection of trucks from their everyday life and around their town. Vehicles featured include:

  • Pickup trucks and 18-wheelers
  • Car-carrying transporters and flatbed trucks
  • Road trains and logging trucks
  • Dumpers and tippers
  • Concrete mixers and crane trucks
  • Street cleaners, garbage trucks and snow plows
  • Giant-wheeled monster trucks
  • Airport
    Airport
    Paperback      ISBN: 0064431452

    Byron Barton introduces young readers to the fun of the airport in this bold and colorful book. From the excitement of arrival to the wonder of taking off, Airport captures all the magic of an airport with joyous and powerful images and simple text. Perfect for fans of Richard Scarry and Tom Lichtenheld

    Supports the Common Core State Standards.

    Firefly Encyclopedia of Transportation: A Comprehensive Look at the World of Transportation
    Firefly Encyclopedia of Transportation
    A Comprehensive Look at the World of Transportation
    Paperback      ISBN: 1770859314

    A comprehensive look at the world of transportation with hundreds of superb illustrations.

    Firefly Encyclopedia of Transportation transports readers through the amazing history of how we get around today, how we got around in the past, and how we might be getting around in the future. Packed with more than 1000 accurate illustrations, this encyclopedic reference is divided into six easy-to-follow sections -- On Wheels, On Water, On Tracks, Green Transportation, In the Air, and In Space. The double-page spreads are organized according to modes of transportation and purpose or method. For example, in "On Water" there is "Sailing to new worlds", "Fighting ships", "Luxury liners" and "Underwater vessels".

    Each entry contains the story of the "vehicle" and a fact box to see at-a-glance aspects, from speed and size, to the number of people carried. In addition, special spreads feature cutaway illustrations showing interior and exterior parts and mechanisms. These include a Formula 1 racing car, the Cable and Wireless Adventurer powerboat, a high-speed TGV (Train Grande Vitesse) locomotive, a hydrogen fuel cell bus, and the Space Shuttle. Examples of the many other special topics are the Wright Brothers, traffic control on the ground and in the air, and the invention of the wheel.

    Information on low-energy transportation and entries on "green" vehicles makes Firefly Encyclopedia of Transportation up to date. The book's backmatter is a bundle of useful and fascinating facts and trivia, including trailblazing inventors, world records, and a glossary of technical terms. A transportation timeline puts the rest of the book into perspective.

    This is an authoritative, comprehensive and entertaining guide that is as ideal for homework as it is for browsing. A most suitable selection for home or school.