Children's Comics/Graphic Novels
Featured Items
Brave New Pond
Brave New Pond
Paperback      ISBN: 0375843906
Soon to be an animated show on HBO Max

It's SQUISH--a hilarious, action packed graphic novel series from the award-winning creators of Babymouse Filled with superheroes, comics within comics, and gross-out science, Squish is perfect for fans of Dog Man, Captain Underpants, and My Weird School.

He's baa-ack It's a brand new school year for everyone's favorite AMOEBA Will Squish finally get to sit with the cool kids at lunch? Will Pod stop the giant asteroid from destroying the world? Will the LEECHES be the end of Super Amoeba? And what makes cafeteria nachos so delicious anyway? Find out the answers to these questions and more in Squish's second electrifying, fast-paced adventure, Squish #2: Brave New Pond--saving the world, one cell at a time

Yowza You can draw comics, too Look in the back to find out how to draw one of the Squish characters Also includes instructions for a sensational science experiment you can do at home Shazam

Here's what people are saying about everyone's favorite amoeba

New York Times:
An energetic, good-hearted escapade, one that young readers will enjoy.

Starred Review, Kirkus Reviews
* Hilarious. If ever a new series deserved to go viral, this one does.

The Bulletin:
A perfect mix of writing that is simple enough for early readers but still remarkably snarky, clever, and entertaining. Kids will soak up the humor, tidbits of science instruction, and adventure.
Bone Handbook
Bone Handbook
1st Edition    Paperback      ISBN: 0545211425

The ulimate BONE guide for every BONE fan

This is the ultimate handbook for every BONE fan Includes character profiles, a timeline of events, interviews with creator Jeff Smith and colorist Steve Hamaker, a showcase of cover art from the original BONE editions, a behind-the-scenes look at how the Scholastic editions were colorized, and other fun stuff
Percy Jackson and the Olympians Sea of Monsters, The: The Graphic Novel
Percy Jackson and the Olympians Sea of Monsters, The
The Graphic Novel
Paperback      ISBN: 142314550x

Seventh grade has been surprisingly quiet for Percy Jackson. Not a single monster has set foot on his New York prep-school campus. But when an innocent game of dodgeball among Percy and his classmates turns into a death match against an ugly gang of cannibal giants, things get...well, ugly. And the unexpected arrival of his friend Annabeth brings more bad news: the magical borders that protect Camp Half-Blood have been poisoned by a mysterious enemy, and unless a cure is found, the only safe haven for demigods will be destroyed.

In the follow-up to the wildly popular The Lightning Thief, The Graphic Novel, Percy and his friends must journey into the Sea of Monsters to save their camp. But first, Percy will discover a stunning new secret about his family--one that makes him question whether being claimed as Poseidon's son is an honor or simply a cruel joke.

Featuring a faithful adaptation by Robert Venditti, stunning artwork by Attila Futaki, and sumptuous colors by newcomer Tamas Gaspar, Rick Riordan's blockbuster book comes to life in The Sea of Monsters, The Graphic Novel.

Bone: Quest for the Spark #1
Bone
Quest for the Spark #1
Paperback      ISBN: 0545141028

A return to the enthralling world of BONE with book one in this gripping spin-off novel trilogy, illustrated in four-color

Twelve-year-old Tom Elm is just an ordinary turnip farmer from the Valley, but he's always felt destined for something bigger. So when he discovers everyone in his village is asleep and plagued by nightmares, he assembles a band of unlikely heroes. They must fight to preserve the Spark--a divine light born at the core of a vast, dark nothingness called the Nacht. The Nacht is trying to permeate the Waking World with nightmares of the Dreaming, and it's Tom's mission to defeat the Nacht and its most loyal follower, the Constable. If he fails, his family--and everyone--might never wake up again.
Chick & Chickie Play All Day!: Toon Level 1
Chick & Chickie Play All Day!
Toon Level 1
School & Library      ISBN: 1935179144

Chick and Chickie love to play in their very own way, whether scaring each other silly or tickling the letter A. The fast-paced and zany narrative by Claude Ponti, one of the world's most beloved children's book authors, will instantly delight early readers and will just as surely turn reading into play.

Olympians: Poseidon: Earth Shaker
Olympians: Poseidon
Earth Shaker
Paperback      ISBN: 1596437383

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

In the fifth installment of the Olympians series of graphic novels, author/artist George O'Connor turns the spotlight on that most mysterious and misunderstood of the Greek gods, Poseidon: Earth Shaker. Thrill to such famous myths as Theseus and the Minotaur, Odysseus and Polyphemos, and the founding of Athens--and learn how the tempestuous Poseidon became the King of the Seas.

This title has Common Core connections.

Old Man's Cave (Bone #6)
Old Man's Cave (Bone #6)
Paperback      ISBN: 0439706351

A showdown with the rat creatures and a secret ceremony by moonlight; revelations and battles: The Bone cousins are in the thick of it again

The thrilling BONE saga continues in book six. As war spreads through the valley, the Bone cousins join Gran'ma Ben and Lucius at Old Man's Cave to make a stand against the rat creatures. But not everything goes as planned. By the end of the book, Phoney Bone is strapped to a stone altar and about to be sacrificed; Thorn is lying lifeless nearby; and the rumblings of an earthquake suggest that the Lord of the Locusts is about to be released. Fone and Smiley Bone must do something drastic to save their friends.
Anya's Ghost
Anya's Ghost
Paperback      ISBN: 1596435526

Anya could really use a friend. But her new BFF isn't kidding about the Forever part . . .

Of all the things Anya expected to find at the bottom of an old well, a new friend was not one of them. Especially not a new friend who's been dead for a century.

Falling down a well is bad enough, but Anya's normal life might actually be worse. She's embarrassed by her family, self-conscious about her body, and she's pretty much given up on fitting in at school. A new friend--even a ghost--is just what she needs.

Or so she thinks.
Spooky, sardonic, and secretly sincere, Anya's Ghost is a wonderfully entertaining debut graphic novel from author/artist Vera Brosgol.

This title has Common Core connections.

Anya's Ghost is a 2011 Kirkus Best Teen Books of the Year title.
One of School Library Journal's Best Fiction Books of 2011.
One of Horn Book's Best Fiction Books of 2011.
Winner of the 2012 Eisner Award for Best Publication for Young Adults (Ages 12-17)
The Power of the Parasite
The Power of the Parasite
Paperback      ISBN: 0375843914
Soon to be an animated show on HBO Max

It's SQUISH--a hilarious, action packed graphic novel series from the award-winning creators of Babymouse Filled with superheroes, comics within comics, and gross-out science, Squish is perfect for fans of Dog Man, Captain Underpants, and My Weird School.

School's out Everyone's favorite amoeba is headed to summer camp But instead of SUPER AWESOME FUN, Squish's summer is turning out to be SUPER AWESOME TERRIFYING For one thing, Squish can't swim. And to make matters worse, his new camp friend is a Hydra (scientific fact: A hydra's tentacles can paralyze you ). Will Squish sink or will he swim this summer? (And what's up with Pod and black holes anyways ) Find out the answers to these questions and more in the super spectacular adventure, Squish #3: The Power of the Parasite. Summer reading has never been so slimey

Yowza You can draw comics, too Look in the back to find out how to draw one of the Squish characters Also includes instructions for a sensational science experiment you can do at home Shazam

Here's what people are saying about everyone's favorite amoeba

New York Times:
An energetic, good-hearted escapade, one that young readers will enjoy.

Starred Review, Kirkus Reviews
* Hilarious. If ever a new series deserved to go viral, this one does.

The Bulletin:
A perfect mix of writing that is simple enough for early readers but still remarkably snarky, clever, and entertaining. Kids will soak up the humor, tidbits of science instruction, and adventure.
Dragonslayer (Bone #4)
Dragonslayer (Bone #4)
Paperback      ISBN: 0439706378

The forces of evil are growing stronger - but could our heroes' worst enemy be Phoney Bone himself?

Fone Bone confronts a host of dangers in Book 4 of the BONE saga, The Dragonslayer. He and Gran'ma Ben and Thorn have a terrifying encounter with Kingdok, ruler of the rat creatures. The Hooded One is inciting his army to full-scale war. Someone is continuing to haunt Thorn in her dreams. And then wise Gran'ma Ben disappears. To make matters worse, Phoney Bone has hoodwinked the townspeople into believing that he is a mighty dragonslayer. When he actually does catch the Red Dragon -- much to his surprise -- he must face up to his promise: to slay the dragon at sunrise.