Early Primers
Featured Items
Put Me in the Zoo
Put Me in the Zoo
Hardcover      ISBN: 0394800176
Edited by Dr. Seuss, this classic Beginner Book about finding your place in the world celebrates its 60th Anniversary

Spot longs to be in the zoo with all the other animals, but the zoo doesn't want him In this beloved Beginner Book edited by Dr. Seuss, Spot shows a young boy and girl all the exciting things he can do with his spots--from changing their color and juggling them, to moving them onto different objects Beginning readers will be delighted by Robert Lopshire's lively, rhymed story that not only teaches about colors, but proves there is a special spot for everyone, including Spot. Available for a limited time only with a peel-off 60th Anniversary sticker on the front cover, Put Me in the Zoo is a concept book with a timeless message. (Fans of Spot will also want to check out I Want to Be Somebody New --the sequel to Put Me in the Zoo.)

Originally created by Dr. Seuss, Beginner Books encourage children to read all by themselves, with simple words and illustrations that give clues to their meaning.

A hilarious story for a first-grade pupil to read. Shows that reading can be fun even if the vocabulary is very limited.--Material Analysis Publications.
Mouse Soup
Mouse Soup
Paperback      ISBN: 0064440419

Another sweet bedtime story about Mouse, from Arnold Lobel, the beloved author and illustrator of the Newbery Honor and Caldecott Honor award-winning Frog and Toad books.

Weasel is ready for his dinner, and poor Mouse is it. Can Mouse stop Weasel from serving up mouse soup for supper? The clever mouse tells the weasel four stories to make the soup tasty--then manages to trick the weasel and get home safely.

Arnold Lobel's Mouse Soup is a Level Two I Can Read book, geared for kids who read on their own but still need a little help. Whether shared at home or in a classroom, the engaging stories, longer sentences, and language play of Level Two books are proven to help kids take their next steps toward reading success.

Biscuit Finds a Friend
Biscuit Finds a Friend
Paperback      ISBN: 0064442438

For fans of Clifford and Spot, welcome everybody's favorite little yellow puppy, Biscuit, in an I Can Read adventure

Biscuit is back--and he's got a new friend In this charming My First I Can Read book, everyone's favorite puppy Biscuit meets an adorable lost duckling. Perfect for shared reading with a child, this story teaches a lesson about finding friends while also helping to boost reading fluency.

Hungry Plants
Hungry Plants
Paperback      ISBN: 0375825339

This book offers readers a bug s-eye view into the strange and fascinating world of carnivorous plants. From the jaws of the Venus flytrap to the pretty sundew plant whose delicate tentacles entrap its prey, the unique anatomy and behaviors of meat-eating plants are detailed with clear, engaging text and art."

Danny and the Dinosaur
Danny and the Dinosaur
Paperback      ISBN: 0064440028

Syd Hoff's comical, charming illustrations will delight readers young and old alike in this beloved classic I Can Read about a boy and his best friend, a dinosaur.

Danny loves dinosaurs When he sees one at the museum and says, It would be nice to play with a dinosaur, a voice answers, And I think it would be nice to play with you. So begins Danny and the Dinosaur's wonderful adventures together. For Danny and his prehistoric playmate, even the most everyday activities become extraordinary, like finding a big-enough place to hide a dinosaur in a game of hide-and-seek. But Danny can teach an old dinosaur new tricks. It's the most fun this dinosaur has had in a hundred million years

Originally published over 50 years ago, this beloved classic is a Level 1 I Can Read that is perfect for the beginning reader learning to sound out words and sentences. Whether shared at home or in a classroom, the short sentences, familiar words, and simple concepts of Level One books support success for children eager to start reading on their own.

Winston Companion Readers Primer
Winston Companion Readers Primer
Hardcover      SKU: 1199166731
Making Your Own Days: The Pleasures of Reading and Writing Poetry
Making Your Own Days
The Pleasures of Reading and Writing Poetry
Paperback      ISBN: 0684824388

From one of the most esteemed American poets of the twenty-first century comes a celebration of poetry and an invitation for anyone to experience its beauty and wonder.

Full of fresh and exciting insights, Making Your Own Days illuminates the somewhat mysterious subject of poetry for those who read it and for those who write it--as well as for those who would like to read and write it better. By treating poetry not as a special use of language but as a distinct language--unlike the one used in prose and conversation--Koch clarifies the nature of poetic inspiration, how poems are written and revised, and what happens to the heart and mind while reading a poem.

Koch also provides a rich anthology of more than ninety works from poets past and present. Lyric poems, excerpts from long poems and poetic plays, poems in English, and poems in translation from Homer and Sappho to Lorca, Snyder, and Ashbery; each selection is accompanied by an explanatory note designed to complement and clarify the text and to put pleasure back into the experience of poetry.
I Can Read with My Eyes Shut
I Can Read with My Eyes Shut
Hardcover      ISBN: 0394839129
Read up a storm with Dr. Seuss and the Cat in the Hat-plus his friend Young Cat

The more that you read,
the more things you will know.
The more that you learn,
the more places you'll go.

The Cat in the Hat can read in purple and in brown, in a circle and even upside down Can he teach Young Cat to do the same? A perfect stepping stone for emerging readers to show off their skills, this book will show kids all the wonderful ways and wonderful things you can read.

Originally created by Dr. Seuss himself, Beginner Books are fun, funny, and easy to read. These unjacketed hardcover early readers encourage children to read all on their own, using simple words and illustrations. Smaller than the classic large format Seuss picture books like The Lorax and Oh, The Places You'll Go , these portable packages are perfect for practicing readers ages 3-7, and lucky parents too

"Pretty much all the stuff you need to know is in Dr. Seuss." -President Barack Obama
Arthur's Honey Bear
Arthur's Honey Bear
Paperback      ISBN: 0064440338

Arthur and his sister Violet are selling all their old toys in a Tag Sale. Even Arthur's Honey Bear But Arthur finds there's more than one way to say good-bye to an old friend.

Uncle Elephant
Uncle Elephant
Paperback      ISBN: 0064441040

Another sweet, classic bedtime tale from Arnold Lobel, the beloved author and illustrator of the Newbery Honor and Caldecott Honor award-winning Frog and Toad books.

While his mother and father are away, a little elephant goes to visit his uncle. And what a time they have Uncle Elephant makes wishes come true, tells amazing stories, and trumpets the dawn. The visit is perfect, except for one thing--it ends much too soon.

This Level Two I Can Read is geared toward kids who read on their own but still need a little help.

The classic Frog and Toad stories by Arnold Lobel have won numerous awards and honors, including a Newbery Honor, a Caldecott Honor, ALA Notable Children's Book, Fanfare Honor List (Horn Book), School Library Journal Best Children's Book, and Library of Congress Children's Book.