Scouting
3 Falafels in My Pita: A Counting Book of Israel
3 Falafels in My Pita
A Counting Book of Israel
Hardcover      ISBN: 1467734721

Let's count from 1 to 10 with Israeli food and fun

About the B'Nai Bagels
About the B'Nai Bagels
Paperback      ISBN: 1416957987

Mark Setzer has a lot on his mind. He's worried about his upcoming bar mitzvah, and he misses his best friend, who's moved to the rich side of town and started hanging out with the obnoxious kid they used to make fun of. Mark doesn't need the aggravation of his mother signing on to manage his Little League team.

But if Mother Bagel complicates Mark's life, she's great for the team. Suddenly, they're winning games and headed toward the championship. The problem is, Mark has some information that could change everything, and he doesn't know what to do with it. He's a friend, a teammate, and the manager's son -- can he be all these and still be true to himself?
All Three Stooges
All Three Stooges
Hardcover      ISBN: 0399551751
SYDNEY TAYLOR BOOK AWARD HONOREE FOR OLDER READERS
WINNER OF THE NATIONAL JEWISH BOOK AWARD FOR CHILDREN'S LITERATURE

An unforgettable coming-of-age story about comedy, loss, and friendship for fans of Jennifer L. Holm and Gary D. Schmidt.

Spoiler alert: This book is not about the Three Stooges. It's about Noah and Dash, two seventh graders who are best friends and comedy junkies. That is, they were best friends, until Dash's father died suddenly and Dash shut Noah out. Which Noah deserved, according to Noa, the girl who, annoyingly, shares both his name and his bar mitzvah day.

Now Noah's confusion, frustration, and determination to get through to Dash are threatening to destroy more than just their friendship. But what choice does he have? As Noah sees it, sometimes you need to risk losing everything, even your sense of humor, to prove that gone doesn't have to mean "gone for good."

Equal parts funny, honest, and deeply affecting, All Three Stooges is a book that will stay with readers long after the laughter subsides.

"Perl has created a moving coming-of-age journey steeped in Jewish traditions and comedic history, elegantly balancing humor with an honest look at the impact of suicide. Noah's genuine voice and tricky situation will have readers pulling for him."--Publishers Weekly

"This novel is excellent on multiple fronts. A satisfying story that will appeal to all middle grade readers."--SLJ

"Watching Noah repeatedly sliding on a banana peel (even, once, literally) gives readers plenty of occasions to wince, to chortle, and ultimately, to applaud."--Booklist

"A welcome portrayal of a very difficult situation's impact on someone not ready to deal with it--and there are plenty of funny moments to make it all easier to take."--Horn Book

All-Of-A-Kind Family Downtown
All-Of-A-Kind Family Downtown
Paperback      ISBN: 1939601258

Ella, Henny, Sarah, Charlotte, and Gertie are back In the fourth entry in the All-of-a-Kind Family series--set right after the first book--Charlie is growing up. Ella gets a big role in the Purim play, Henny gets into trouble at school and runs away from home, Sarah gets her ears pierced, Charlotte has a scary kitchen accident, and Gertie finally is old enough to have a book of her own. Life is never dull for this one-of-a-kind family

Born in 1904 on New York's Lower East Side, Sydney Taylor was one of the first authors of children's books centered on Jewish characters, and is especially known for the immensely popular All-of-a-Kind Family series. The Sydney Taylor Book Award is given each year by the Jewish Association of Libraries to a book for young people that authentically portrays the Jewish experience.


All-Of-A-Kind Family Uptown
All-Of-A-Kind Family Uptown
Paperback      ISBN: 1939601177

Your favorite All-of-a-Kind Family has a new home in the Bronx, new friends and neighbors, and best all, new adventures. In the third book in the beloved series about a Jewish family growing up in early twentieth century New York, Ella misses her boyfriend Jules, who has joined the Army to fight in World War I, Henny spills tea on a dress she borrowed without asking, Sarah works to win a prize at school, Charlotte takes the elevated train without paying her fare, Gertie makes a pancake, and little Charlie is terrified when he meets Santa Claus. In true All-Of-A-Kind Family spirit, everyone must come together to keep the house running smoothly when Mama goes into the hospital to have her appendix removed.

The American Boy's Handy Book: Turn-of-The-Century Classic of Crafts and Activities
The American Boy's Handy Book
Turn-of-The-Century Classic of Crafts and Activities
Paperback      ISBN: 048643138x

As timely as it is timeless, this instructive book has captured the interest and imagination of boys for well over a century. Chapters on kite flying and fishing, rigging and sailing small boats, camping out without a tent, knot-tying for mountain climbing and other activities, as well as training dogs, raising wild birds, and other projects will appeal as much to today's youngsters as they did to children in the late 1800s. This classic includes scores of projects that will keep children occupied all year long ― from sculpting snowmen and making sleds to stocking aquariums and performing puppet shows. Many of these enterprises have also been known to compete effectively with TV and video games Best of all, the projects have the power to inspire the imagination and help youngsters master new skills and experience the satisfaction of personal accomplishment.

The American Boy's Handy Book: What to Do and How to Do It
The American Boy's Handy Book
What to Do and How to Do It
Paperback      ISBN: 1586670654

Each summer, millions of children complain, "There's nothing to do." Originally published in 1888, The American Boy's Handy Book resoundingly challenges this age-old dilemma by providing a huge number of ideas for fun and instructional projects for young boys. Everything from camping and kite building to raising dogs and building boats is detailed for the would-be adventurer and do-it your-selfer.

And There Was Evening, and There Was Morning
And There Was Evening, and There Was Morning
Paperback      ISBN: 1512483656

The world began when God said Light,
And changed the world from dark to bright.


Gentle rhyming couplets tell the story of how God created the world, describing six days of work fashioning everything from seas and clouds to animals and people, to--finally--resting on Shabbat.

-- "Website"
The Art Lesson: A Shavuot Story
The Art Lesson
A Shavuot Story
School & Library      ISBN: 146778172x

Shoshana loves spending time at Grandma Jacobs' art studio and for Shavuot, Grandma Jacobs has a very special art project in mind Shoshana learns how to make papercuts by carefully folding squares of paper and cutting shapes out of them. But can she create works of art as beautiful as the ones Grandma makes?

-- "Magazine"
The Barefoot Book of Jewish Tales
The Barefoot Book of Jewish Tales
Paperback      ISBN: 1782853545