Children's Non-Fiction
Featured Items
City: A Story of Roman Planning and Construction
City
A Story of Roman Planning and Construction
Paperback      ISBN: 0395349222

Superb design, magnificent illustrations, and clearly presented information distinguish all of David Macaulay's books. Whether chronicling the monumental achievements of past civilizations or satirizing modern architecture, he is concerned above all in how constructions are made and what their effects are on people and their lives.

A Visit to William Blake's Inn: Poems for Innocent and Experienced Travelers
A Visit to William Blake's Inn
Poems for Innocent and Experienced Travelers
Paperback      ISBN: 0152938230
1982 Newbery Medal Winner
A 1982 Caldecott Honor Book

Inspired by William Blake's Songs of Innocence and Songs of Experience, this delightful collection of poetry for children brings to life Blake's imaginary inn and its unusual guests.
De Colores and Other Latin-american Folk Songs for Children
De Colores and Other Latin-american Folk Songs for Children
Hardcover      ISBN: 0525452605

Bright with colors and music, this is a joyous, festive celebration of songs from all of Latin America.

Anna Banana: 101 Jump Rope Rhymes
Anna Banana
101 Jump Rope Rhymes
Paperback      ISBN: 0688088090

The must-have book of jump rope rhymes

How many times can you jump rope? Can you hop, skip, and double-dutch? With these rhymes and rhythms, jump rope is even more fun. There are red-hot pepper rhymes for jumping very fast, counting rhymes to keep the beat, and rhymes for jumping in and out. There are even fortune-telling rhymes that answer questions and help you predict the future

Jumping rope is not only great exercise, it's also great entertainent. With Anna Banana, you'll never run out of chants to use while swinging the ropes. Learn over one hundred traditional rhymes that will make rope jumping challenging and, best of all, fun

Dolphins!
Dolphins!
Paperback      ISBN: 0679844376

Illus. in full color. Chock-full of information about the most sensitive, intelligent, and friendly of large aquatic creatures, Dolphins should fare swimmingly with kids who read about whales and sharks.

City: A Story of Roman Planning and Construction
City
A Story of Roman Planning and Construction
Hardcover      ISBN: 039519492x

Superb design, magnificent illustrations, and clearly presented information distinguish all of David Macaulay's books. Whether chronicling the monumental achievements of past civilizations or satirizing modern architecture, he is concerned above all in how constructions are made and what their effects are on people and their lives.

Ride a Purple Pelican
Ride a Purple Pelican
Hardcover      ISBN: 0688040314

It is hard to believe that Cincinnati Patty, Justin Austin, Pennington Poe, and the little pink pig in Arkansas have not been chanted and sung about by children for generations. But it is not hard to believe that they Will be chanted and sung about for generations to come Jack Prelutsky and Garth Williams have created a nursery world, peopled with unforgettable characters. Come and meet your new friends. They will be old friends soon

Sir Francis Drake: His Daring Deeds
Sir Francis Drake
His Daring Deeds
Paperback      ISBN: 0374466882

"The incredible adventures of Sir Francis Drake are splendidly recreated as a ballad...Gerrard's words and pictures create an intriguing miniature world...Children will find the spectacle of this unfolding life mesmerizing." -Publishers Weekly

A Coloring Book of Tutankhamun
A Coloring Book of Tutankhamun
Paperback      ISBN: 0883880598
Machines at Work
Machines at Work
School & Library      ISBN: 0694001902

Byron Barton's classic book about a busy day at the construction site is perfect for fans of Richard Scarry and Tom Lichtenheld

Rhythmic text and bold, graphic illustrations convey all the energy and excitement of the day while workers use a variety of machines to knock down a building and begin constructing a new one. Young readers will love learning the names of the machines while seeing them at work.

Supports the Common Core State Standards.