Ya Gn
Featured Items
Flamer
Flamer
Paperback      ISBN: 1250756146

Award-winning author and artist Mike Curato draws on his own experiences in Flamer, his debut graphic novel, telling a difficult story with humor, compassion, and love.

This book will save lives. --Jarrett J. Krosoczka, author of National Book Award Finalist Hey, Kiddo

I know I'm not gay. Gay boys like other boys. I hate boys. They're mean, and scary, and they're always destroying something or saying something dumb or both.

I hate that word. Gay. It makes me feel . . . unsafe.

It's the summer between middle school and high school, and Aiden Navarro is away at camp. Everyone's going through changes--but for Aiden, the stakes feel higher. As he navigates friendships, deals with bullies, and spends time with Elias (a boy he can't stop thinking about), he finds himself on a path of self-discovery and acceptance.

Godwin Books
Lizard in a Zoot Suit
Lizard in a Zoot Suit
Paperback      ISBN: 1541586956

Los Angeles, 1943. It's the era of the Zoot Suit Riots, and Flaca and Cuata have a problem. It's bigger than being grounded by their strict mother. It's bigger than tensions with the soldiers stationed nearby. And it's shaped like a five-foot-tall lizard. When a lost member of an unknown underground species needs help, the sisters must scramble to keep their new friend away from a corrupt military scientist--but they'll do it in style. Cartoonist Marco Finnegan presents Lizard in a Zoot Suit, an outrageous, historical, sci-fi graphic novel.

Ever After
Ever After
Paperback      ISBN: 1728412927

Vivi and Eva are two travelers in a countryside filled with the undead. The survivors of their world live behind barricades--and live in fear of the next attack.

After a train breaks down, stranding them between safe zones, the young women partner up to stay alive. Vivi is struggling with grief--and guilt--over the loss of her sister. Eva is hiding the start of a horrifying transformation. Together they'll face heat, zombie hordes, and their own inner demons, searching for signs of life in a land of the dead. This graphic novel addition to an enduring genre is thoughtful and emotion-driven, but also full of zombie scares and action.

"There is a raw, fearless physicality to Vieweg's] work that sets it apart." -- Marc-Oliver Frisch, The Comics Journal

Hamlet: Prince of Denmark
Hamlet
Prince of Denmark
Paperback      ISBN: 0764140132

Shakespeare's immortal drama is retold here in a graphic novel format. The prince of Denmark seeks to avenge his father's death by exposing the king as his murderer. Barron's popular and growing series of Graphic Classics titles introduce many of the world's literary masterpieces to young readers. Elementary and secondary school teachers will value these books as a way to make great novels and plays accessible to their students--especially to those students who resist reading. Presented in graphic novel format, each title tells an absorbing, fast-paced story dramatized with high-quality color illustrations. After delving into any of these stimulating titles, many boys and girls will feel encouraged to discover the joy of reading the masterworks in their original form. Each Graphic Classics title includes a thumbnail biography of the author, a list of his or her important works, a timeline of historic events that helped inspire the story, general notes, and an index. Graphic Classics titles are available in both paperback and hardcover editions.

The Backups: A Summer of Stardom
The Backups
A Summer of Stardom
Paperback      ISBN: 1250212596

Step into the spotlight with The Backups, a graphic novel from writer Alex de Campi and artist Lara Kane about crushes, confidence, and catchy choruses

Spending an entire summer on tour as a backup singer for pop star Nika Nitro? What? That's the DREAM, right? Especially for Jenni, Lauren, and Maggie, three misfit performing arts students with hopes of making it in the music world.

But being twenty feet from fame isn't easy. Between crushes, constant rehearsals, Nika's sky-high expectations, and their own insecurities, this dream is starting to feel more like a nightmare. And that's before they accidentally start a beef with a rival band threatening to reveal a secret that could end Nika's career.

Can this trio of new friends come together to save the tour, or will the Backups be kept out of the spotlight forever?

An Imprint Book
Nutmeg Volume 3: Early Winter: Femme Brûlée
Nutmeg Volume 3: Early Winter
Femme Brûlée
Paperback      ISBN: 1632291533

Vol. 3 "Early Winter: Femme Br l e" collects issues 7-9 of Nutmeg. The Patty Cakes brownie empire reaches its apex as baking criminals Poppy and Cassia humble their rival, Saffron. While detectives Ginger and Anise creep closer to blowing the lid off, it's Poppy's secret addiction to these same brownies that threatens to bring everything crumbling down.

The Plain Janes
The Plain Janes
Paperback      ISBN: 0316522813
Meet the Plain Janes--artist activists on a mission to wake up their sleepy suburban town. This cult classic graphic novel is perfect for fans of The LumberJanes and Awkward.When artsy misfit Jane Beckles is forced to leave her beloved city life behind for the boring suburb of Kent Waters, she thinks her life is over. But then she finds where she belongs: at the reject table in the cafeteria, along with fellow misfits Brain Jayne, Theater Jane, and sporty Polly Jane. United by only two things-a shared name and frustration with the adults around them--the girls form a secret club dedicated to fighting suburban apathy with guerrilla works of art scattered around their small town.

But for Main Jane, the group is more than simple teenaged rebellion; it's an act of survival. She's determined not to let fear rule her life like it does her parents' and neighbors' lives. Armed with her sketchbook and a mission of resistance, the PLAIN Janes are out to prove that passion, bravery, and a group of great friends can save anyone from the hell that is high school.

With each installment printed in its own distinct color, this volume includes the original two stories--The Plain Janes and Janes in Love--plus a never-before-seen third story, Janes Attack Back. The Janes are back, and better than ever.

Last Pick: Rise Up
Last Pick
Rise Up
Paperback      ISBN: 162672895x

Earth's last hope are also the last picked, in this thrilling conclusion of Jason Walz's dystopian graphic trilogy, Last Pick: Rise Up.

Wyatt is now the reluctant leader of the last picked--the disabled, the elderly, and those deemed too young to be useful for hard labor by their alien captors. But how can he and his ragtag allies take down an entire alien federation?

Meanwhile, Wyatt's twin sister Sam and her girlfriend Mia are creating chaos all over the galaxy in an attempt to rescue Sam's parents. But even if the family is reunited, can they stay alive long enough to see the end of the alien regime?
Topside
Topside
Paperback      ISBN: 1541572858

A wild outer-space fantasy about fixing your mistakes and the friends you meet along the way.
When Jo, a headstrong maintenance technician, makes an error that destabilizes her planet's core, she only knows one way to fix things: leaving her underground home for a trip to the planet's dangerous, unruly surface. Soon she's wandering through deserts, riding on the backs of giant beasts, and cutting deals with con artists and bounty hunters. Meanwhile, agents of the core are in hot pursuit. J. N. Monk and Harry Bogosian (co-creators of the web-comic StarHammer) present a wild outer-space fantasy about fixing your mistakes and the friends you meet along the way.

Constitution Illustrated
Constitution Illustrated
Paperback      ISBN: 1770463968

The master of the visual mash-up returns with his signature idiosyncratic take on the Constitution

R. Sikoryak is the master of the pop culture pastiche. In Masterpiece Comics, he interpreted classic literature with defining twentieth-century comics. With Terms and Conditions, he made the unreadable contract that everyone signs, and no one reads, readable. He employs his magic yet again to investigate the very framework of the country with Constitution Illustrated. By visually interpreting the complete text of the supreme law of the land with more than a century of American pop culture icons, Sikoryak distills the very essence of the government legalese from the abstract to the tangible, the historical to the contemporary.

Among Sikoryak's spot-on unions of government articles and amendments with famous comic-book characters: the Eighteenth Amendment that instituted prohibition is articulated with Homer Simpson running from Chief Wiggum; the Fourteenth Amendment that solidifies citizenship to all people born and naturalized in the United States is personified by Ms. Marvel; and, of course, the Nineteenth Amendment offering women the right to vote is a glorious depiction of Wonder Woman breaking free from her chains. American artists from George Herriman (Krazy Kat) and Charles Schulz (Peanuts) to Raina Telgemeier (Sisters) and Alison Bechdel (Dykes to Watch Out For) are homaged, with their characters reimagined in historical costumes and situations.

We the People has never been more apt.