Kids F Independent Reader
Featured Items
Ben and Me: An Astonishing Life of Benjamin Franklin by His Good Mouse Amos
Ben and Me
An Astonishing Life of Benjamin Franklin by His Good Mouse Amos
Paperback      ISBN: 0316517305

Ever wonder where inventors get their ideas? As it turns out, the great inventor Benjamin Franklin got his best ideas from a mouse named Amos Funny, interesting and wise, this classic tale has been a favorite for generations. Once you've met Amos and read his account, you'll never think of Ben Franklin-or American history-quite the same way.

Explore this historical time period even further in this new edition of award-winning author Robert Lawson's classic tale, with additional bonus material, including a map of Ben Franklin's travels
Did you ever wonder where inventors get their ideas? Benjamin Franklin was one of the most famous inventors in American history, and according to this amusing book, he got most of his ideas--the good ones at any rate--from a mouse Funny, interesting and wise, Ben and Me is a classic American story that has been read by generations of young people. Once you've met Amos the mouse, you'll always remember Benjamin Franklin a little differently than the history books do.
Wind in the Willows
Wind in the Willows
School & Library      ISBN: 0684128195

the adventures of four amiable friends--Rat, Toad, Mole, and Badger--along a river in the English countryside

Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle
Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle
Paperback      ISBN: 0064401480

Perfect for fans of Mary Poppins and Nanny McPhee, this classic series is all about learning and problem-solving. Young readers will love this book.This chapter book is an excellent choice to share during homeschooling, in particular for children ages 6 to 8 who are ready to read independently. It's a fun way to keep your child engaged and as a supplement for activity books for children.

Meet Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle She lives in an upside-down house with a kitchen that is always full of freshly baked cookies. She was even married to a pirate once Best of all, she knows everything there is to know about children.

When Mary turns into an Answer-Backer or Dick becomes Selfish or Allen decides to be a Slow-Eater-Tiny-Bite-Taker, Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle has the perfect cure. And her solutions always work, with plenty of laughs along the way. This is the book that started it all

Perfect for fans of Mary Poppins and Nanny McPhee, this classic series is all about learning and problem-solving. Young readers will love this book.

The Midnight Fox
The Midnight Fox
Paperback      ISBN: 0140314504

Tom hates having to spend the summer on a farm . . . until he discovers the midnight fox.

No one asked Tom how he felt about spending two months on his Aunt Millie's farm. For a city boy, the farm holds countless terrors--stampeding baby lambs, boy-chasing chickens, and worst of all, loneliness. But everything changes when Tom sees the midnight fox. He can spend hours watching the graceful black fox in the woods. And when her life--and that of her cub--is in danger, Tom knows exactly what he must do.

"An exceptional book."--Booklist

A Library of Congress Children's Book of the Year
Samantha Saves the Day: A Summer Story
Samantha Saves the Day
A Summer Story
Paperback      ISBN: 0937295418

Samantha and her family are spending the summer at Piney Point, Grandmary's home in the mountains. One day Samantha and the twins, Agnes and Agatha, find a sketchbook made by Samantha's mother. In it, Samantha sees a beautiful waterfall she had visited with her parents long ago, before they died in a boating accident. Using the sketchbook as a map, Samantha and the twins set off. When their secret exploration puts them in the middle of a dangerous storm, Samantha must save the day.

Nancy Drew 07: The Clue in the Diary
Nancy Drew 07
The Clue in the Diary
Hardcover      ISBN: 0448095076

Nancy and her friends, George and Bess, are returning from a country carnival when they witness the explosion and burning of a beautiful country mansion. Fearing its occupants may be trapped in the blazing building, they rush to the rescue - and unexpectedly fund themselves confronted with a mystery that seems to be insoluble. The first clue, an anonymous diary, includes not only indecipherable handwriting, but puzzling technical drawings and chemical formulas as well. Who dropped the diary near the burning house? Was it the gaunt stranger Nancy glimpsed running away from the flaming structure? What was he doing there? And does he know the whereabouts of Felix Raybolt, an unscrupulous dealer in patents, who has not been seen since his home burned? Or did Raybolt die in the fire? When evidence mounts against Joe Swenson, who was swindled by "Foxy Felix", our young detective makes the desperate effort to exonerate the inventor of the suspicion of arson because of his dear five-year-old daughter.

The Camp-Out Mystery
The Camp-Out Mystery
Paperback      ISBN: 0807510521

While on a camping trip with their grandfather, the Alden children try to find out about the loud music and missing food that threatens to scare away other campers.

Snowbound Mystery
Snowbound Mystery
Paperback      ISBN: 080757516x

A freak snowstorm isolates the Aldens in a mountain cabin where they discover a coded message.

Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
Hardcover      ISBN: 0448060000

Revered by all of the town's children and dreaded by all of its mothers, Huckleberry Finn is indisputably the most appealing child-hero in American literature. Unlike the tall-tale, idyllic world of Tom Sawyer, The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn is firmly grounded in early reality. From the abusive drunkard who serves as Huckleberry's father, to Huck's first tentative grappling with issues of personal liberty and the unknown, Huckleberry Finn endeavors to delve quite a bit deeper into the complexities-both joyful and tragic of life.


Nancy Drew 04: The Mystery at Lilac Inn
Nancy Drew 04
The Mystery at Lilac Inn
Hardcover      ISBN: 0448095041

Nancy and her friend Helen visit their friend Emily Willouby at the Lilac Inn, which Emily now owns, to help her plan her wedding. Emily plans on selling inherited diamonds in order to help fix up the Lilac Inn. However, Nancy soon learns that someone has been impersonating her and making expensive purchases under her name. Soon after, Emily's diamonds are stolen Can Nancy find the thieves and recover the missing diamonds?