Olympics
The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
The Boys in the Boat
Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
Hardcover      ISBN: 067002581x
For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics Daniel James Brown’s robust book tells the story of the University of Washington’s 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936. The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not for glory, but to regain his shattered self-regard and to find a place he can call home. The crew is assembled by an enigmatic coach and mentored by a visionary, eccentric British boat builder, but it is their trust in each other that makes them a victorious team. They remind the country of what can be done when everyone quite literally pulls together—a perfect melding of commitment, determination, and optimism. Drawing on the boys’ own diaries and journals, their photos and memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, The Boys in the Boat is an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate story of nine working-class boys from the American west who, in the depths of the Great Depression, showed the world what true grit really meant. It will appeal to readers of Erik Larson, Timothy Egan, James Bradley, and David Halberstam's The Amateurs.
The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
The Boys in the Boat
Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
Large Print    Hardcover      ISBN: 1410459543
Traces the story of an American rowing team from the University of Washington that defeated elite rivals at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics, sharing the experiences of such contributors as their enigmatic coach, a visionary boat builder and a homeless teen rower. By the author of Under a Flaming Sky. (sports & recreation). Simultaneous.
The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
The Boys in the Boat
Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
Compact Disc      ISBN: 1611761697
For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics Daniel James Brown’s robust book tells the story of the University of Washington’s 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936. The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not for glory, but to regain his shattered self-regard and to find a place he can call home. The crew is assembled by an enigmatic coach and mentored by a visionary, eccentric British boat builder, but it is their trust in each other that makes them a victorious team. They remind the country of what can be done when everyone quite literally pulls together—a perfect melding of commitment, determination, and optimism. Drawing on the boys’ own diaries and journals, their photos and memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, The Boys in the Boat is an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate story of nine working-class boys from the American west who, in the depths of the Great Depression, showed the world what true grit really meant. It will appeal to readers of Erik Larson, Timothy Egan, James Bradley, and David Halberstam's The Amateurs.
Brazil's Dance with the Devil: The World Cup, the Olympics, and the Fight for Democracy: Updated Olympics Edition
Brazil's Dance with the Devil
The World Cup, the Olympics, and the Fight for Democracy: Updated Olympics Edition
Paperback      ISBN: 1608465896
"People think speaking truth to power is easy, but if it was easy everyone would do it. This book does it. . . . It speaks truth to the powers that be, from Brazil to the US to FIFA to the IOC. It hits you like an uppercut that rattles your brain and sets it straight. I cannot recommend this book highly enough."John Carlos, 1968 Olympic medalist The people of Brazil celebrated when they learned that in the space of two years their country would host the world's two largest sporting events: the World Cup in 2014 and the Olympics in 2016. Now they are protesting in numbers the country hasn't seen in decades. Dave Zirin relies on field work from the most dangerous corners of Rio to the halls of power in Washington DC, exposing how sports and politics have collided in spectacular fashion. One of the Boston Globe's "Best Sports Books of 2014," newly updated to assess the final tally of debt and displacement that accompanied the 2014 World Cup, eyewitness accounts of the militarized police crackdown, and new reporting on the pre-Olympic plans furthering immiseration in cities across Brazil. Dave Zirin is sports correspondent for Nation magazine and author of nine books on the intersection of sports and politics. Named one of UTNE Reader's "50 Visionaries Who Are Changing Our World," Zirin is a frequent guest on MSNBC, ESPN andDemocracy Now! He also hosts his own weekly Sirius XM show, Edge of Sports Radio.
Butterfly: From Refugee to Olympian - My Story of Rescue, Hope, and Triumph
Butterfly
From Refugee to Olympian - My Story of Rescue, Hope, and Triumph
Hardcover      ISBN: 1250184401
Traces the author's life-changing rescue of a boatload of fellow refugees and how it inspired her to compete on the 2016 Refugee Olympic Team in Rio de Janeiro, tracing her subsequent work with the UN as a Goodwill Ambassador and her advocacy on behalf of people who have been forced from their homes by war.
Chasing Grace: What the Quarter Mile Has Taught Me About God and Life
Chasing Grace
What the Quarter Mile Has Taught Me About God and Life
Hardcover      ISBN: 0310349400
Five-time Olympic medalist Sanya Richards-Ross shares triumphant and heartbreaking stories as she tells of her journey to becoming a world-class runner. Sanya helps readers learn how to run their best race and live their best life.
Chasing Water: Elegy of an Olympian
Chasing Water
Elegy of an Olympian
Paperback      ISBN: 1617754447
A gold-medal-winning U.S. Olympic swimmer discusses his early success, his retirement to engage on a spiritual journey and his return to worldwide competition, including the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio. Original.
Course Correction: A Story of Rowing and Resilience in the Wake of Title IX
Course Correction
A Story of Rowing and Resilience in the Wake of Title IX
Paperback      ISBN: 0807090360
"This story is rooted in the power of sport, but it is not a sports memoir. Yes, Course Correction chronicles one young woman's transformation from a couch potato-in-training into an elite athlete who reached the highest echelon of her sport. In addition, the book offers a persuasive example of the enormous impact of sports participation on the rest of life and validates the power, import, and necessity of Title IX. Just like Ginny, girls everywhere deserve the chance not only to dream of athletic stardom, but to reach for it. Ginny discovered rowing as a freshman at Yale. From her first strokes as a novice, Ginny found herself in a new world. Starting with her first practice, she trained alongside two Olympics-bound rowers. Then a mere handful of monthsinto her freshman year, she participated in the now renowned Title IX naked protest on campus. That event not only forced Yale to provide equal access to sports facilities for its women athletes, but helped mold the future of women's crew programs acrossthe country. Course Correction recounts the physical and psychological barriers Ginny had to confront and overcome to achieve the extraordinary. Taking place against a backdrop of unprecedented cultural change, Ginny's story personalizes the impact of Title IX, demonstrating the life-changing effects of lessons learned in sports far beyond the athletic fields of play. Her journey wends its way to the Olympic podium in 1984, detouring through the 1980 Olympics, which the United States boycotted at then-president Jimmy Carter's insistence, carries her through family tragedy, strengthens her to face her own demons and truths, and ultimately frees her to live her life despite her persistent fear of loss"--
Disqualified: Eddie Hart, Munich 1972, and the Voices of the Most Tragic Olympics
Disqualified
Eddie Hart, Munich 1972, and the Voices of the Most Tragic Olympics
Hardcover      ISBN: 1606353128
Having previously tied the world record, Eddie Hart was a strong favorite to win the 100-meter dash at the 1972 Olympics in Munich, Germany. Then the inexplicable happened: he was disqualified after arriving seconds late for a quarterfinal heat. Ten years of training to become the
Dream Team: How Michael, Magic, Larry, Charles, and the Greatest Team of All Time Conquered the World and Changed the Game of Basketball Forever
Dream Team
How Michael, Magic, Larry, Charles, and the Greatest Team of All Time Conquered the World and Changed the Game of Basketball Forever
Paperback      ISBN: 0345520491
Documents the story of the Olympic squad that won the gold at the 1992 Barcelona Games, assessing the achievements and legacy of some of the NBA's greatest players, including Magic Johnson, Michael Jordan, and Charles Barkley.