Genetics
Featured Items
Francis Crick: Discoverer of the Genetic Code
Francis Crick
Discoverer of the Genetic Code
Paperback      ISBN: 0061148458

Between 1953 and 1966, scientist Francis Crick led a revolution in biology by discovering, quite literally, the secret of life: the genetic code. Crick, who died in 2004 at the age of 88, will be remembered as one of the most influential scientists in history, but little is known about his life outside of the laboratory. Science writer Matt Ridley, author of the national bestseller Genome, presents the most complete, in-depth portrait of Crick available today.

Ridley's comprehensive work follows Crick from his childhood in the English Midlands to a lackluster education and six years designing magnetic mines for the Royal Navy, to his leap into biology at the age of thirty-one and its astonishing consequences. In the process, Ridley illuminates the life and ideas of the man who forever changed our world and how we understand it.

Matt Ridley's books have been shortlisted for six literary awards, including the Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Genome. His book The Agile Gene was named best science book published in 2003 by The National Academies of Science. He is a visiting professor at Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory in New York. He lives in Newcastle, England.

"Matt Ridley's Francis Crick perceptively and warmly recounts the extraordinary life of the 20th century's most important biologist." -- James D. Watson--David Quammen
Epigenetics: How Environment Shapes Our Genes
Epigenetics
How Environment Shapes Our Genes
Paperback      ISBN: 039334228x

The burgeoning new science of epigenetics offers a cornucopia of insights--some comforting, some frightening. For example, the male fetus may be especially vulnerable to certain common chemicals in our environment, in ways that damage not only his own sperm but also the sperm of his sons. And it's epigenetics that causes identical twins to vary widely in their susceptibility to dementia and cancer. But here's the good news: unlike mutations, epigenetic effects are reversible. Indeed, epigenetic engineering is the future of medicine.

Hidden Order: How Adaptation Builds Complexity
Hidden Order
How Adaptation Builds Complexity
Hardcover      ISBN: 0201407930

This work explains how scientists who study the field of complexity are convinced that certain constant processes are at work in all kinds of unrelated complex systems. The author also illustrates the relevance of scientific debate to the layman.

Faster, Higher, Stronger: The New Science of Creating Superathletes, and How You Can Train Like Them
Faster, Higher, Stronger
The New Science of Creating Superathletes, and How You Can Train Like Them
Paperback      ISBN: 0147516471
A New York Times bestseller

"A smart and important book."--Gretchen Reynolds, author of The First 20 Minutes

Publications as varied as Wired, Men's Fitness, and The New Yorker are abuzz over the New York Times bestseller Faster, Higher, Stronger. In it, veteran journalist Mark McClusky explains how today's top athletes are turning to advanced technology and savvy science to improve their performance. Sports buffs and readers of David Epstein and Gretchen Reynolds will want to join McClusky as he goes behind the scenes everywhere from the Olympics to the NBA Finals, from the World Series to the Tour de France, and from high-tech labs to neighborhood gyms to show how athletes at every level can incorporate cutting-edge science into their own workouts.
The Island of the Colour-blind and Cycad Island
The Island of the Colour-blind and Cycad Island
Trade Paperback      ISBN: 033035082x

Oliver Sacks travels once again in search of human diversity, to the South Pacific atoll of Pingelap, where he finds that a high proportion of the population is colourblind and investigates the causes and effects of that condition. This book explores the islands, the people and their case studies.

Shadows of Forgotten Ancestors: A Search for Who We Are
Shadows of Forgotten Ancestors
A Search for Who We Are
1st Edition    Hardcover      ISBN: 0394534816

Investigates the origins of human life on Earth, reconstructing the links in the evolutionary chain from the primordial soup to early hominid ancestors

DNA: The Story of the Genetic Revolution
DNA
The Story of the Genetic Revolution
Paperback      ISBN: 0385351186
The definitive insider's history of the genetic revolution--significantly updated to reflect the discoveries of the last decade.

James D. Watson, the Nobel laureate whose pioneering work helped unlock the mystery of DNA's structure, charts the greatest scientific journey of our time, from the discovery of the double helix to today's controversies to what the future may hold. Updated to include new findings in gene editing, epigenetics, agricultural chemistry, as well as two entirely new chapters on personal genomics and cancer research. This is the most comprehensive and authoritative exploration of DNA's impact--practical, social, and ethical--on our society and our world.
Genetics for Dummies
Genetics for Dummies
2nd Edition    Paperback      ISBN: 0470551747
A plain-English guide to genetics

Want to know more about genetics? This non-intimidating guide gets you up to speed on all the fundamentals and the most recent discoveries. Now with 25% new and revised material, Genetics For Dummies, 2nd Edition gives you clear and accessible coverage of this rapidly advancing field.

From dominant and recessive inherited traits to the DNA double-helix, you get clear explanations in easy-to-understand terms. Plus, you'll see how people are applying genetic science to fight disease, develop new products, solve crimes . . . and even clone cats.

  • Covers topics in a straightforward and effective manner
  • Includes coverage of stem cell research, molecular genetics, behavioral genetics, genetic engineering, and more
  • Explores ethical issues as they pertain to the study of genetics

Whether you?re currently enrolled in a genetics course or are just looking for a refresher, Genetics For Dummies, 2nd Edition provides science lovers of all skill levels with easy-to-follow information on this fascinating subject.

Hacking Darwin: Genetic Engineering and the Future of Humanity
Hacking Darwin
Genetic Engineering and the Future of Humanity
Hardcover      ISBN: 149267009x

"A gifted and thoughtful writer, Metzl brings us to the frontiers of biology and technology, and reveals a world full of promise and peril." -- Siddhartha Mukherjee MD, New York Times bestselling author of The Emperor of All Maladies and The Gene

Passionate, provocative, and highly illuminating, Hacking Darwin is the must read book about the future of our species for fans of Homo Deus and The Gene.

After 3.8 billion years humankind is about to start evolving by new rules...

From leading geopolitical expert and technology futurist Jamie Metzl comes a groundbreaking exploration of the many ways genetic-engineering is shaking the core foundations of our lives -- sex, war, love, and death.

At the dawn of the genetics revolution, our DNA is becoming as readable, writable, and hackable as our information technology. But as humanity starts retooling our own genetic code, the choices we make today will be the difference between realizing breathtaking advances in human well-being and descending into a dangerous and potentially deadly genetic arms race.

Enter the laboratories where scientists are turning science fiction into reality. Look towards a future where our deepest beliefs, morals, religions, and politics are challenged like never before and the very essence of what it means to be human is at play. When we can engineer our future children, massively extend our lifespans, build life from scratch, and recreate the plant and animal world, should we?

Protein Folding: A Discussion
Protein Folding
A Discussion
Paperback      ISBN: 0521576369

The ability of proteins to fold rapidly and efficiently into intricate and highly specific structures following their synthesis on ribosomes is an essential part of the conversion of genetic information into cellular activity. However, little is understood in detail of how this occurs. The Royal Society meeting on which this volume is based focused on the molecular basis of the folding processes and brought together a wide range of leading experimental and theoretical scientists in this field. This volume offers an authoritative collection of the foundations of current work. The first section discusses the experimental elucidation of the pathways of protein folding. The second section looks at theoretical approaches to folding, and the final group addresses the issue of how proteins fold in vivo. This volume will be of value to all those with an interest in protein folding, especially those in molecular biology, biochemistry and cell biology.