Sculpture
Featured Items
Ceramics
Ceramics
Paperback      ISBN: 0812211561

"It is rare to find a book on art that presents complex aesthetic principles in clear readable form. Ceramics, by Philip Rawson, is such a book. I discovered it ten years ago, and today my well-worn copy has scarcely a page on which some statement is not underlined and starred."--Wayne Higby, from the Foreword

Beautiful Lego
Beautiful Lego
Paperback      ISBN: 1593275080

Mix hundreds of thousands of LEGO bricks with dozens of artists, and what do you get? Beautiful LEGO, a compendium of LEGO artwork that showcases a stunning array of pieces ranging from incredibly lifelike replicas of everyday objects and famous monuments to imaginative renderings of spaceships, mansions, and mythical creatures.

You'll also meet the minds behind the art. Interviews with the artists take you inside the creative process that turns simple, plastic bricks into remarkable LEGO masterpieces.
Sculpture of the Rockies: 97 Contemporary and Traditional Artists
Sculpture of the Rockies
97 Contemporary and Traditional Artists
1st Edition    Hardcover      ISBN: 1440303142

The Rocky Mountain region of the American West is renowned for its natural beauty—rugged, snowcapped peaks, sweeping valley vistas, towering pine trees, delicate wildflowers—as well as its artistic splendor, with many noted sculptors living and working in this area. The region's art festivals and galleries celebrate the best in American sculpture today, proving to be a visual paradise for serious collectors, art enthusiasts and tourists alike.

Take an inside look at this vibrant art scene as 97 contemporary sculptors share their favorite pieces along with firsthand insights on the inspiration and techniques behind them. The subjects and styles of their works range from traditional to contemporary and from representational to abstract. This guide is a must-have for collectors in search of artists, artists in search of ideas and visitors who want a beautiful memento of their time spent in this breathtaking landscape.

The Autobiography of Benvenuto Cellini
The Autobiography of Benvenuto Cellini
Paperback      ISBN: 0140447180

Benvenuto Cellini was a celebrated Renaissance sculptor and goldsmith - a passionate craftsman who was admired and resented by the most powerful political and artistic personalities in sixteenth-century Florence, Rome and Paris. He was also a murderer and a braggart, a shameless adventurer who at different times experienced both papal persecution and imprisonment, and the adulation of the royal court. Inn-keepers and prostitutes, kings and cardinals, artists and soldiers rub shoulders in the pages of his notorious autobiography: a vivid portrait of the manners and morals of both the rulers of the day and of their subjects. Written with supreme powers of invective and an irrepressible sense of humour, this is an unrivalled glimpse into the palaces and prisons of the Italy of Michelangelo and the Medici.

For more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,700 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators.
Liu Bolin
Liu Bolin
Hardcover      ISBN: 1419713949

Liu Bolin first became invisible in 2006. When the artist village in Beijing where he worked as a sculp-tor's assistant was demolished, he decided to protest. He camouflaged himself in the ruins with acrylic paints and photographed the finished product, marking the first of his Hiding in the City series. Since then, he has "disap-peared" in many different places around the world--from politically fraught areas in China to grocery stores, toy stores, and more. His work protests specific political acts of the Chinese government and offers commentary on consumer culture.
This comprehensive book showcases Bolin's most striking photographs and sculptures and explores the techniques he uses to create his unforgettable art. Bolin has also helped other people disappear, including the members of Bon Jovi for the band's recent album cover, as well as the fashion designers Jean Paul Gaultier, Missoni, Valentino, and more, and a selection of these photographs is featured throughout the book.

Jindrich Heisler: Surrealism Under Pressure, 1938-1953
Jindrich Heisler
Surrealism Under Pressure, 1938-1953
Hardcover      ISBN: 0300179693

Czech poet and photographer Jindřich Heisler (1914-1953) joined the Czech Surrealist Group in 1938, just as Nazi occupation of the country was driving the movement and Czech artists underground. Heisler published his first book of poetry a year later. In his brief and courageous career--Heisler died suddenly at the age of thirty-eight--he produced some of the most remarkable assemblage work of the Surrealist movement, including what is arguably the single-most important photobook produced in the 20th century, From the Strongholds of Sleep (1940-41).

This gorgeously illustrated volume--with eighty color images of Heisler's assemblage pieces--introduces English-speaking audiences to his work, translating many of his writings for the first time and offering in-depth analysis of his postwar years in Paris in the company of Andr Breton, Benjamin P ret, the illustrator Toyen, and other major figures of the Surrealist movement.

Sculpture Today
Sculpture Today
Hardcover      ISBN: 0714843148

Contemporary sculpture is a wide-ranging and fascinating subject, surprisingly unrepresented in the current marketplace. This beautifully illustrated book is a comprehensive overview of developments in the world of sculpture during the past fifty years, and follows the successful, highly illustrated formula of Phaidon's best-selling volumes Art Today and Architecture Today. Sculpture was felt to be more socially engaging because it occupied actual space rather than creating an illusionistic realm using perspective and other techniques. It encompasses installations, environments, staged video displays and even choreographed humans.

David Smith Invents
David Smith Invents
Hardcover      ISBN: 0300169655

A fascinating look at renowned sculptor David Smith's late works and the methods and materials behind them

Abstract Expressionist artist David Smith (1906-1965) was one of the most important American sculptors of the 20th century, yet few publications dedicated to his creative output currently exist. A painter-sculptor in the tradition of Matisse and Picasso, he focused on welded steel sculptures while simultaneously working inventively in two dimensions, in paint, ink, or tempera. David Smith Invents is the first book to focus on the output in all media of the artist's last fifteen years, a period in which he explored concave and convex forms in works welded from steel tanks and pipes that he bought by the rail-car load as industrial waste. Starting in 1953, Smith's efforts resulted in the monumental, personage-like forms of the Tanktotems series, and the later series of Bouquet of Concaves, leading in 1961 to the massive Zigs.

Susan Behrends Frank opens a window onto the unusual working process employed by Smith, who was once a welder on an automobile production line. In spite of their industrial manufacture and materials, his works blurred the boundaries between sculpture, painting, and drawing, and his sculptures during this period were created in a pictorial fashion, in a single plane. One of his practices was to draw a white rectangle on the floor and position the metal parts of his sculpture within its boundaries. Featured throughout the book are extraordinary photographs taken by Smith of his sculptures, along with an enlightening essay on the photos by Sarah Hamill. Peter Stevens discusses Smith's materials and surfaces.

David: 500 Years
David
500 Years
by Scala
Hardcover      ISBN: 1402728360

Michaelangelo's David has just turned 500.
In celebration, Italy has restored this sculpture to its original splendor--
and "David: Five Hunded Years "is the first to capture each step of the way.
What started as a solid block of granite, emerged as one of the most significant statues in the world. After half a millennium of exposure, David has undergone a complete restoration to revive his original splendor. This magnificent depiction reveals the classical man as he looked when Michelangelo originally laid down his chisel in 1504. Radically new photographic techniques, including new photographic zooms, and color accuracy capture in detail every aspect of the restored masterpiece, all accompanied by illuminating background information from prominent art historian Antonio Paolucci.Art lovers, historians, or just those who appreciate a true beauty will not be able to resist such a brilliant addition to their collection.

Unearthing the Past: Archaeology and Aesthetics in the Making of Renaissance Culture
Unearthing the Past
Archaeology and Aesthetics in the Making of Renaissance Culture
Hardcover      ISBN: 0300076770

A fascinating story of the impact of the rediscovery of antique objects, long-forgotten and often physically buried, on the consciousness and art of 15th- and 16th-century Rome. Barkan brings to life the inspired attempts to bridge the huge gap between ancient and Renaissance Rome, a rebirth which not only transformed art but also poetry and history. Stories of the rediscovery of statues such as the Lacoon and the Torso Belvedere is accompanied by extracts of Roman descriptions of statues and art as well as Renaissance accounts of uncovering them and their attempts to understand them. Finally, Barkan examines the influence of sculptures on specific Renaissance artists and works, notably Bandinelli.