Sculpture
Featured Items
Arlene Shechet: All at Once
Arlene Shechet
All at Once
Hardcover      ISBN: 3791354507

A survey of the work of Arlene Shechet, this book presents more than two decades of sculpture in the artist's characteristically diverse assortment of materials. Arlene Shechet has emerged as one of contemporary art's most inspiring and innovative sculptors. This book presents over twenty years of work in a diversity of materials, from plaster to cast paper, and from glass to ceramic. These materials, unlike most, are liquid before they are solid. Over the last ten years Shechet has generated a body of work remarkable for its embrace of clay--a medium often overlooked because of its associations with craft. Shechet's remarkable body of work has been described by the New Yorker as grotesque, hilarious, lovely. The recipient of broad recognition and numerous awards, Shechet's entire oeuvre is examined here in one stunning volume.

David Smith
David Smith
Hardcover      ISBN: 0714861561

* One of the best-known American sculptors of the modern period, David Smith was a pioneer of abstract sculpture. He revolutionized the possibilities of metal sculpture by introducing the industrial process of welding, enabling him to create the most extraordinarily balanced compositions - using metal 'draw in space'. Predominantly known as a sculptor, the book also sheds light on his prolific practice of drawing, sketching, writing and photographing his sculptures.

Destruction of the Father Reconstruction of the Father: Writings and Interviews 1923-1997
Destruction of the Father Reconstruction of the Father
Writings and Interviews 1923-1997
Paperback      ISBN: 0262522462

edited by Marie-Laure Bernadac and Hans-Ulrich Obrist"Everyday you have to abandon your past or accept it and then if youcannot accept it, you become a sculptor."Since the age of twelve, the internationally renowned sculptor LouiseBourgeois has been writing and drawing;first a diary preciselyrecounting the everyday events of her family life, then notes andreflections. Destruction of the Father;the title comes fromthe name of a sculpture she did following the death of her husband in1973;contains both formal texts and what the artist calls"pen-thoughts": drawing-texts often connected to her drawings andsculptures, with stories or poems inscribed alongside the images.Writing is a means of expression that has gained increasing importancefor Bourgeois, particularly during periods of insomnia. The writing iscompulsive, but it can also be perfectly controlled, informed by herintellectual background, knowledge of art history, and sense ofliterary form (she has frequently published articles on artists, exhibitions, and art events). Bourgeois, a private woman "withoutsecrets," has given numerous interviews to journalists, artists, andwriters, expressing her views on her oeuvre, revealing its hiddenmeanings, and relating the connection of certain works to the traumasof her childhood. This book collects both her writings and her spokenremarks on art, confirming the deep links between her work and herbiography and offering new insights into her creative process.

Eva Hesse: Sculpture
Eva Hesse
Sculpture
Hardcover      ISBN: 0943221021
Baroque Sculpture in Rome: Art Gallery Series
Baroque Sculpture in Rome
Art Gallery Series
Hardcover      ISBN: 8874391188

A fascinating chronological survey of seventeenth-century Roman sculpture featuring masters such as Bernini alongside lesser-known important figures, with sixty-four colour plates, chronology and annotated bibliography.

Still Facing Infinity: Sculpture by Erwin Hauer
Still Facing Infinity
Sculpture by Erwin Hauer
Hardcover      ISBN: 1864707410

-Monograph covering the long and successful career of sculptor Erwin Hauer, known for his infinitely expandable two- and three-dimensional works -Contains detailed presentations on a number of significant works, including Jerusalem Tower and Infinite Surface I-WP -Abundant array of full-color and black-and-white photography Over the course of 60-plus years, Erwin Hauer has created modular sculptures that feature penetrations and prominent interior voids yet, remarkably, are bonded by continuous surfaces. The modules of these sculptures contain the seeds of infinity: what Hauer calls 'continua'. Still Facing Infinity covers the full scope of Hauer's artistic oeuvre, from early two-dimensional works that double as room dividers to three-dimensional, space-filling sculptures that are conceptually similar to innovative architecture and engineering (works by Antoni Gaudi, F lix Candela, and Frei Otto) as well as advanced mathematical concepts (triply periodic infinite surfaces without self-intersections). Hauer offers detailed presentations in writings as well as in abundant photographs of a number of significant works, including Jerusalem Tower and Infinite Surface I-WP, the basis for numerous tabletop and large-scale sculptures as well as for two independent series that explore multiple iterations of the infinite surface concept. Introduction; Jerusalem Tower, Explorations in the Planar Dimension, The Earlier Family Tree, Matrix 54, The New Family Tree, Opportunities and Discoveries, Architectural Installations, Infinite Surfaces, Focus on Infinite Surface I-WP, The Nexus and Labyrinth Project, Linear Progressions, A Busman's Holiday; Appendix

David Smith Invents
David Smith Invents
Hardcover      ISBN: 0300169655

A fascinating look at renowned sculptor David Smith's late works and the methods and materials behind them

Abstract Expressionist artist David Smith (1906-1965) was one of the most important American sculptors of the 20th century, yet few publications dedicated to his creative output currently exist. A painter-sculptor in the tradition of Matisse and Picasso, he focused on welded steel sculptures while simultaneously working inventively in two dimensions, in paint, ink, or tempera. David Smith Invents is the first book to focus on the output in all media of the artist's last fifteen years, a period in which he explored concave and convex forms in works welded from steel tanks and pipes that he bought by the rail-car load as industrial waste. Starting in 1953, Smith's efforts resulted in the monumental, personage-like forms of the Tanktotems series, and the later series of Bouquet of Concaves, leading in 1961 to the massive Zigs.

Susan Behrends Frank opens a window onto the unusual working process employed by Smith, who was once a welder on an automobile production line. In spite of their industrial manufacture and materials, his works blurred the boundaries between sculpture, painting, and drawing, and his sculptures during this period were created in a pictorial fashion, in a single plane. One of his practices was to draw a white rectangle on the floor and position the metal parts of his sculpture within its boundaries. Featured throughout the book are extraordinary photographs taken by Smith of his sculptures, along with an enlightening essay on the photos by Sarah Hamill. Peter Stevens discusses Smith's materials and surfaces.

Stickwork
Stickwork
Paperback      ISBN: 1568989768

Using minimal tools and a simple technique of bending, interweaving, and fastening together sticks, artist PatrickDougherty creates works of art inseparable with nature and the landscape. With a dazzling variety of forms seamlesslyintertwined with their context, his sculptures evoke fantastical images of nests, cocoons, cones, castles, and beehives. Over the last twenty-five years, Dougherty has built more than two hundred works throughout the United States, Europe, and Asia that range from stand-alone structures to a kind of modern primitive architectureevery piece mesmerizing in its ability to fly through trees, overtake buildings, and virtually defy gravity. Stickwork, Dougherty's first monograph, features thirty-eight of his organic, dynamic works that twist the line between architecture, landscape, and art. Constructed on-site using locally sourced materials and local volunteer labor, Dougherty's sculptures are tangles of twigs and branches that have been transformed into something unexpected and wild, elegant and artful, and often humorous. Sometimes freestanding, and other times wrapping around trees, buildings, railings, and rooms, they are constructed indoors and in nature. As organic matter, the stick sculptures eventually disintegrate and fade back into the landscape. Featuring a wealth of photographs and drawings documenting the construction process of each remarkable structure, Stickwork preserves the legend of the man who weaves the simplest of materials into a singular artistic triumph.

Dime-Store Alchemy: The Art of Joseph Cornell
Dime-Store Alchemy
The Art of Joseph Cornell
Paperback      ISBN: 1590174860

Now in Paperback

In Dime-Store Alchemy, poet Charles Simic reflects on the life and work of Joseph Cornell, the maverick surrealist who is one of America's great artists. Simic's spare prose is as enchanting and luminous as the mysterious boxes of found objects for which Cornell is justly renowned.
Unearthing the Past: Archaeology and Aesthetics in the Making of Renaissance Culture
Unearthing the Past
Archaeology and Aesthetics in the Making of Renaissance Culture
Hardcover      ISBN: 0300076770

A fascinating story of the impact of the rediscovery of antique objects, long-forgotten and often physically buried, on the consciousness and art of 15th- and 16th-century Rome. Barkan brings to life the inspired attempts to bridge the huge gap between ancient and Renaissance Rome, a rebirth which not only transformed art but also poetry and history. Stories of the rediscovery of statues such as the Lacoon and the Torso Belvedere is accompanied by extracts of Roman descriptions of statues and art as well as Renaissance accounts of uncovering them and their attempts to understand them. Finally, Barkan examines the influence of sculptures on specific Renaissance artists and works, notably Bandinelli.