Canoeing and Kayaking
The Adirondack Guideboat: Its Origin, Its Builders, and Their Boats
The Adirondack Guideboat
Its Origin, Its Builders, and Their Boats
Paperback      ISBN: 0872332608

This is a book about "a beautiful and gallant craft"--the personification, in a wooden boat, of the finest qualities of the Adirondack culture of the 19th century. Beautifully illustrated, The Traditional Adirondack Guideboat is the definitive guide to these beautiful boats and their makers, both early and contemporary.

Adventure Kayaking: Cape Cod and Marthas
Adventure Kayaking
Cape Cod and Marthas
2nd Edition    Paperback      ISBN: 0899972934

Explore the beautiful beaches, bays, harbors, marshes, and ponds of Cape Cod and Martha's Vineyard from your kayak.

Twenty-five exciting trips cover the entire Cape from Falmouth to Provincetown, including renowned Cape Cod National Seashore. Five more trips are devoted to the island of Martha's Vineyard. The scenic routes range from short paddles suitable for families with children to all-day excursions for adventurous kayakers. Along the way you will be thrilled by the wonderful landscape, native plants, and bird life that attract millions of visitors yearly to Cape Cod and Martha's Vineyard from around the world. You can even camp under the stars on Washburn Island, accessible only by boat.

The Allagash Guide: What You Need to Know to Canoe This Famous Maine Waterway
The Allagash Guide
What You Need to Know to Canoe This Famous Maine Waterway
Paperback      ISBN: 156523488x

Anyone thinking about taking an Allagash canoe trip needs this guide. With information about what to take, how much time is needed, where to start, what to do with a vehicle, campsites and much, much more, the reader will start their first trip with information that would take years to accumulate on their own. The equipment and food lists in the book are extensive. They evolved over many years and will cover a variety of tripping situations. This book, along with author Gil Gilpatrick's book Allagash, will make you an Allagash expert the first time out.

Amazon Woman: Facing Fears, Chasing Dreams, and a Quest to Kayak the World's Largest River from Source to Sea
Amazon Woman
Facing Fears, Chasing Dreams, and a Quest to Kayak the World's Largest River from Source to Sea
Hardcover      ISBN: 1643133144
An extraordinary and inspiring chronicle of one woman's harrowing journey to become the first female to kayak the entire Amazon River.

Part memoir, part feminist manifesto, Amazon Woman shows what incredible feats we are capable of and will encourage people, especially women, across all backgrounds and ages to find the courage and strength to live the life they've imagined.

This 148-day journey began on Darcy Gaechter's 35th birthday. She sold her successful outdoor adventure business, upsetting her partner and boyfriend of twelve years and getting them both fired in the process. The emotional waters that would fester and erupt on the ensuing journey was often more challenging to navigate than the mighty river itself. With blistering lips and irradiated fingernails, Darcy would tackle raging Class Five whitewater for twenty-five days straight, barely surviving a dynamite-filled canyon being prepared for a new hydroelectric plan. She and her two companions would encounter illegal loggers, narco-traffickers, murderous Shining Path rebels, and ruthless poachers in the black market trade in endangered species. They would plead for mercy at the hands of the murderous Ashaninka people who were convinced that they had come to steal their children's organs.

In a desperate attempt meant to give her some pretense of control, Darcy even cut off all her hair before entering Peru's notoriously dangerous "Red Zone" in hopes of passing for a boy and being seen as less of a target. At once a heart-pounding adventure and a celebration of pushing personal limits, Amazon Woman speaks to all of us feeling trapped by our desk-bound, online society. This a story of finding the courage and strength to challenge nature, cultures, social norms, and oneself.
America's Great River Journeys: 50 Canoe, Kayak, and Raft Adventures
America's Great River Journeys
50 Canoe, Kayak, and Raft Adventures
Hardcover      ISBN: 0789336936
An inspirational bucket list for anyone interested in rafting, kayaking, or canoeing--from armchair traveler to recreational paddler to hard-core white-water enthusiast.

From the Penobscot to the Potomac, the New to the Suwannee, the Colorado to the Snake, America's Great River Journeys entices people to experience America from its free-flowing waterways. Vivid descriptions of our nation's fifty finest river trips are complete with stunning photos of each leg of each journey, an engaging narrative, and practical tips about the length of trips, seasonal preferences, difficulty of white water, joys of camping along the shores, availability of professional outfitters, and other details.

Through beautiful photography and compelling writing, America's Great River Journeys is a celebration of the best rivers for canoeing, kayaking, and rafting--from Alaska to Florida--along 7,000 miles of our nation's spectacular waterways in twenty-eight states.
The Art of Kayaking: Everything You Need to Know about Paddling
The Art of Kayaking
Everything You Need to Know about Paddling
Paperback      ISBN: 1493025708
The Art of Kayaking is the distilled essence of a lifetime of kayak instruction at all skill levels around the world, with the added insights gained from years of designing kayaks, paddles, and kayaking equipment. This comprehensive kayaking manual by one of the biggest names in kayaking offers more essential detail about commonly used techniques than ever before published in a single volume. Color photo action sequences show how to perfect skills, and how to apply them. Maps, tables, and diagrams walk the reader through essential planning steps. No matter which type of kayak, paddle, or style of paddling the reader prefers, the appropriate techniques are described clearly and concisely. The progression through the book makes it easy to start as a beginner and to access as much information as can be tackled at any stage of development up to and including the expert. It is a definitive manual designed to stand the test of time.
Basic Essentials(r) Canoe Paddling
Basic Essentials(r) Canoe Paddling
3rd Edition    Paperback      ISBN: 0762742844

This completely revised, updated & expanded edition details all the essentials needed for a successful & safe canoe trip, from choosing the right routes to what to do if things go wrong.

Boundary Waters Canoe Area: Eastern Region
Boundary Waters Canoe Area
Eastern Region
Paperback      ISBN: 0899974619

With thousands of lakes and streams, over 1200 miles of canoe routes, 160 miles of portage trails, and 2000 campsites, the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness is a true paddler's paradise. Extending nearly 150 miles in northern Minnesota along the Canadian border, the wilderness area encompasses more than 1 million acres. This Eastern Region edition of the classic two-volume guide has been fully updated by area journalist Louis Dzierzak, with full coverage of 50-plus entry points and routes. Trip descriptions include day-by-day paddling distances, portage tips, and difficulty ratings, and identify the appropriate water-resistant, topographic maps W.A. Fisher maps for each trip. Together, these books deliver everything a visitor needs for the experience of a lifetime.

Boundary Waters Canoe Area: Western Region
Boundary Waters Canoe Area
Western Region
Paperback      ISBN: 0899974600

With thousands of lakes and streams, over 1200 miles of canoe routes, 160 miles of portage trails, and 2000 campsites, the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness is a true paddler's paradise. Extending nearly 150 miles in northern Minnesota along the Canadian border, the wilderness area encompasses more than 1 million acres. This Western Region edition of the classic two-volume guide has been fully updated by area journalist Louis Dzierzak, with full coverage of 50-plus entry points and routes. Trip descriptions include day-by-day paddling distances, portage tips, and difficulty ratings, and identify the appropriate water-resistant, topographic maps W.A. Fisher maps for each trip. Together, these books deliver everything a visitor needs for the experience of a lifetime.

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
The Boys in the Boat
Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
Paperback      ISBN: 0143125478
The #1 New York Times-bestselling story about the American Olympic rowing triumph in Nazi Germany--from the author of Facing the Mountain.

For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times--the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant.

It was an unlikely quest from the start. With a team composed of the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington's eight-oar crew team was never expected to defeat the elite teams of the East Coast and Great Britain, yet they did, going on to shock the world by defeating the German team rowing for Adolf Hitler. The emotional heart of the tale lies with Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not only to regain his shattered self-regard but also to find a real place for himself in the world. Drawing on the boys' own journals and vivid memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, Brown has created an unforgettable portrait of an era, a celebration of a remarkable achievement, and a chronicle of one extraordinary young man's personal quest.