Water Sports
Barbarian Days: A Surfing Life
Barbarian Days
A Surfing Life
Paperback      ISBN: 0143109391
“Reading this guy on the subject of waves and water is like reading Hemingway on bullfighting; William Burroughs on controlled substances; Updike on adultery. . . . a coming-of-age story, seen through the gloss resin coat of a surfboard.
Beneath the Surface: My Story
Beneath the Surface
My Story
Paperback      ISBN: 1683580877
Traces the story of the record-setting swimmer and Olympic medalist, discussing his battles with ADD, the events surrounding his 2001 world swimming record, and his struggles with international fame.
The Big Drop: Classic Big Wave Surfing Stories
The Big Drop
Classic Big Wave Surfing Stories
Paperback      ISBN: 1560449179
32 classic big wave surfing stories.
The Bodyboard Manual: The Essential Guide to Bodyboarding
The Bodyboard Manual
The Essential Guide to Bodyboarding
Paperback      ISBN: 0956789358
The Bodyboard Manual is the definitive guide to bodyboarding, the most exciting and accessible watersport on the planet – fact! This fifth edition has been expanded and updated to include more info, more tips and more dream destinations for bodyboarders of all abilities. For beginners there are sections covering the basics – equipment, technique, safety, swell forecasting...all the things you need to know to get started. For intermediate and advanced riders there’s info about how to bust sick manoeuvres, where to find the best bodyboard waves, how to get super fit, how to win contests, and heaps more. With tips and advice from the world's top bodyboarders there’s useful stuff for every situation. Author Rob Barber is the editor of ThreeSixty, Europe’s leading bodyboard magazine, and a bodyboard instructor with nearly two decades of experience. The Bodyboard Manual includes a stack of quality imagery taken by the best photographers in the biz, including Sacha Specker, Ray Collins, Tim Jones, Rod Owen, Mike Searle, Tim McKenna, Andy Lawrence, Tom Young, Russell Ord and Mickey Smith. The book also includes a comprehensive resources section where boogers can find up-to-date info about travel agencies, surf camps, bodyboard schools, shops and websites. Whether you’re a complete beginner or an air-busting shredder, The Bodyboard Manual will help you take your bodyboarding to the next level.
Boundary Waters Canoe Camping
Boundary Waters Canoe Camping
3rd Edition    Paperback      ISBN: 0762773448
"The Boundary Waters Canoe Area (BWCA), located in northeastern Minnesota, is a legendary wilderness destination for canoeists from around the world. Longtime guide and canoe authority Cliff Jacobson explains the best and safest ways of planning and enjoying a BWCA journey. Includes maps, illustrations, and information on obtaining permits, packing the right supplies, practicing low-impact camping techniques, honing paddling skills, traveling with children, and dealing with hazards on land and water"--
The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
The Boys in the Boat
Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
Paperback      ISBN: 0143125478
The New York Times?bestselling story about American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany Out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times?the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant. It was an unlikely quest from the start. With a team composed of the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington’s eight-oar crew team was never expected to defeat the elite teams of the East Coast and Great Britain, yet they did, going on to shock the world by defeating the German team rowing for Adolf Hitler. The emotional heart of the tale lies with Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not only to regain his shattered self-regard but also to find a real place for himself in the world. Drawing on the boys’ own journals and vivid memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, Brown has created an unforgettable portrait of an era, a celebration of a remarkable achievement, and a chronicle of one extraordinary young man’s personal quest.
The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
The Boys in the Boat
Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
Hardcover      ISBN: 067002581x
For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics Daniel James Brown’s robust book tells the story of the University of Washington’s 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936. The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not for glory, but to regain his shattered self-regard and to find a place he can call home. The crew is assembled by an enigmatic coach and mentored by a visionary, eccentric British boat builder, but it is their trust in each other that makes them a victorious team. They remind the country of what can be done when everyone quite literally pulls together—a perfect melding of commitment, determination, and optimism. Drawing on the boys’ own diaries and journals, their photos and memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, The Boys in the Boat is an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate story of nine working-class boys from the American west who, in the depths of the Great Depression, showed the world what true grit really meant. It will appeal to readers of Erik Larson, Timothy Egan, James Bradley, and David Halberstam's The Amateurs.
Breaking into the Current: Boatwomen of the Grand Canyon
Breaking into the Current
Boatwomen of the Grand Canyon
Paperback      ISBN: 0816514291
In 1973, Marilyn Sayre gave up her job as a computer programmer and became the first woman in twenty years to run a commercial boat through the Grand Canyon. Georgie White had been the first, back in the 1950s, but it took time before other women broke into guiding passengers down the Colorado River. This book profiles eleven of the first full-season Grand Canyon boatwomen, weaving together their various experiences in their own words. Breaking Into the Current is a story of romance between women and a place. Each woman tells a part of every Canyon boatwoman's story: when Marilyn Sayre talks about leaving the Canyon, when Ellen Tibbets speaks of crew camaraderie, or when Martha Clark recalls the thrill of white water, each tells how all were involved in the same romance. All the boatwomen have stories to tell of how they first came to the Canyon and why they stayed. Some speak of how they balanced their passion for being in the Canyon against the frustration of working in a traditionally male-oriented occupation, where today women account for about fifteen percent of the Canyon's commercial river guides. As river guides in love with the Canyon and their work, these women have followed their hearts. "I've done a lot," says Becca Lawton, "but there's been nothing like holding those oars in my hands and putting my boat exactly where I wanted it. Nothing."

Breaking the Surface
Breaking the Surface
Paperback      ISBN: 1402206666
"This taut, unapologetic book may help people accept others as they are--including Olympic champions. That would be a gold-medal legacy."--New York Times Book Review

Breatheology: The Art of Conscious Breathing
Breatheology
The Art of Conscious Breathing
Paperback      ISBN: 1928649343
Teaches how to become aware of your breathing and how to train it, you will be able to learn to breathe properly. Your body will immedi¬ately absorb more oxygen and after a short time you will have more energy and gain greater mental calmness.It covers how to: Advantages of efficient breathing.Gain more energy in your daily life Become better at managing stress Optimize your work and sport performances Avoid illnesses and get well faster Minimize chronic or transient pain Become happier and more positive Live a healthier and longer life.