Basketball
Featured Items
Basketball Now!: The Stars and Stories of the NBA
Basketball Now!
The Stars and Stories of the NBA
2nd Edition    Paperback      ISBN: 177085925x

Ideal for every fan of the game.

Riding the best-selling success of the first edition, Basketball Now Second Edition presents the best players in the NBA today -- complete with a fresh crop of young stars whose swagger and game has seen them launch to league-wide stardom.

From hyped rookies to bona fide superstars, this second edition is packed with 50 profiles and more than 130 action images. From Stephen Curry and LeBron James to Klay Thompson and DeMar DeRozan, here are just some of the stars lining the pages of this book:

  • LeBron James
  • Blake Griffin
  • Chris Paul
  • James Harden
  • Kyrie Irving
  • Anthony Davis
  • LaMarcus Aldridge
  • Russell Westbrook
  • Kristaps Porzingis
  • Paul George
  • Kyle Lowry
  • Kevin Love
  • Stephen Curry
  • And many more.
  • Adam Elliott Segal also gives readers a tour of the NBA universe, including chapters on the NBA Draft, the Dunk Contest, and the best clutch performances and playoff performances in NBA history.

    This second edition of Basketball Now is the only book in the market that focuses on the best NBA stars playing the game today.

    Swee'pea: The Story of Lloyd Daniels and Other Playground Basketball Legends
    Swee'pea
    The Story of Lloyd Daniels and Other Playground Basketball Legends
    Compact Disc      ISBN: 1681683202

    Lloyd Daniels learned to hoop on the playgrounds of Brooklyn and Queens during the 1980s. "Swee'pea" they called him. His rep on the court traveled all the way to the Bronx, and across the country, earning him enthusiastic comparisons to the likes of Magic Johnson. Swee'pea was sure to make it to the big time and out of a New York City where drugs and violence had gripped many of its neighborhoods. Eventually he did, leaving the city's asphalt courts for the shiny hardwoods of NCAA programs, minor pro-leagues, and eventually the NBA. He took with him, however, a drug habit, a learning disability, and a reputation for self-destruction. With Swee'pea, Newsday reporter John Valenti and celebrated New York City high school basketball coach Ron Naclerio brilliantly capture how an athletic phenomenon becomes both a product of his environment, and his own worst enemy. Supplementing Daniels' enigmatic story are profiles of basketball successes like former NBA stars Kenny Anderson, John Salley, and Mark Jackson-and tragedies like Earl "The Goat" Manigault, Richie Adams, and Tony "Red" Bruin-who never made the league.

    The Breaks of the Game
    The Breaks of the Game
    Paperback      ISBN: 1401309720

    More than 6 years after his death David Halberstam remains one of this country's most respected journalists and revered authorities on American life and history in the years since WWII. A Pulitzer Prize-winner for his ground-breaking reporting on the Vietnam War, Halberstam wrote more than 20 books, almost all of them bestsellers. His work has stood the test of time and has become the standard by which all journalists measure themselves.

    The New York Times bestseller, now with a new introduction The Breaks of the Game focuses on one grim season (1979-80) in the life of the Bill Walton-led Portland Trail Blazers, a team that only three years before had been NBA champions.

    The tactile authenticity of Halberstam's knowledge of the basketball world is unrivaled. Yet he is writing here about far more than just basketball. This is a story about a place in our society where power, money, and talent collide and sometimes corrupt, a place where both national obsessions and naked greed are exposed. It's about the influence of big media, the fans and the hype they subsist on, the clash of ethics, the terrible physical demands of modern sports (from drugs to body size), the unreal salaries, the conflicts of race and class, and the consequences of sport converted into mass entertainment and athletes transformed into superstars--all presented in a way that puts the reader in the room and on the court, and The Breaks of the Game in a league of its own.
    Basketball's Greatest Stars
    Basketball's Greatest Stars
    Paperback      ISBN: 1770855777

    The spectacular success of the NBA is based on its stars, their performances and personalities, which excite fans game after game, championship after championship. Michael Grange has profiled the 50 greatest and most exciting of these players in Basketball's Greatest Stars.

    They're all here: the score-at-will centers, the quick-dishing guards, the take-it-to-the-hoop power forwards, and the three-point shooters. The book also features a chapter on the future greats who are starting on NBA hardwood now. Terrific action photographs celebrate each of these superstars, past and present. As an added bonus there are profiles of all 30 franchises which have orchestrated the league's rise to greatness.

    Some of the current NBA stars in this third edition are:

    • Andrew Wiggins
    • John Wall
    • DeMarcus Cousins
    • Stephen Curry
    • Anthony Davis
    • Kevin Durant
    • Blake Griffn
    • James Harden
    • Kyrie Irving
    • Kevin Love
    • Klay Thompson
    • Paul George
    • Derrick Rose
    • Russell Westbrook
    • LeBron James.

    Michael Grange's insightful essays cover the leading men and defining moments that have shaped the sport, the international game and the changing nature and importance of statistical analysis.

    Basketball's Greatest Stars is a superb book for every fan.

    The Last Shot: City Streets, Basketball Dreams
    The Last Shot
    City Streets, Basketball Dreams
    Hardcover      ISBN: 0395597706

    This is the story of a group of high school boys who have given their lives to basketball. They dream of a college scholarship and escape from the neighborhood. What they have is athletic talent, grace, and years of dedication. The Last Shot introduces us to unforgettable characters and the brutal world of college athletic recruitment.

    A Sense of Where You Are: Bill Bradley at Princeton
    A Sense of Where You Are
    Bill Bradley at Princeton
    Paperback      ISBN: 0374526893

    When John McPhee met Bill Bradley, both were at the beginning of their careers. A Sense of Where You Are, McPhee's first book, is about Bradley when he was the best basketball player Princeton had ever seen. McPhee delineates for the reader the training and techniques that made Bradley the extraordinary athlete he was, and this part of the book is a blueprint of superlative basketball. But athletic prowess alone would not explain Bradley's magnetism, which is in the quality of the man himself--his self-discipline, his rationality, and his sense of responsibility. Here is a portrait of Bradley as he was in college, before his time with the New York Knicks and his election to the U.S. Senate--a story that suggests the abundant beginnings of his professional careers in sport and politics.

    Sprawlball: A Visual Tour of the New Era of the NBA
    Sprawlball
    A Visual Tour of the New Era of the NBA
    Hardcover      ISBN: 1328767515

    "Beautifully illustrated and sharply written, SprawlBall is both a celebration and a critique of the 3-point shot. If you want to understand how the modern NBA came to be, you'll need to read this book."
    --Nate Silver, editor of fivethirtyeight.com

    From the leading expert in the exploding field of basketball analytics, a stunning infographic decoding of the modern NBA: who shoots where, and how.

    The field of basketball analytics has leaped to overdrive thanks to Kirk Goldsberry, whose visual maps of players, teams, and positions have helped teams understand who really is the most valuable player at any position. SprawlBall combines stunning visuals, in-depth analysis, fun, behind-the-scenes stories and gee-whiz facts to chart a modern revolution. From the introduction of the 3-point line to today, the game has changed drastically . . .

    Now, players like Steph Curry and Draymond Green are leading the charge. In chapters like "The Geography of the NBA," "The Interior Minister (Lebron James)," "The Evolution of Steph Curry," and "The Investor (James Harden)," Goldsberry explains why today's on-court product--with its emphasis on shooting, passing, and spacing--has never been prettier or more democratic. And it's never been more popular. For fans of Bill Simmons and FreeDarko, SprawlBall is a bold new vision of the game, presenting an innovative, cutting-edge look at the sport based on the latest research, as well as a visual and infographic feast for fans.

    The Book of Basketball: The NBA According to the Sports Guy
    The Book of Basketball
    The NBA According to the Sports Guy
    Paperback      ISBN: 0345520106
    The NBA according to The Sports Guy

    Foreword by Malcolm Gladwell

    Newly updated with fresh takes on LeBron, Kobe, the Celtics & more*

    Bill Simmons, the wildly opinionated and thoroughly entertaining basketball addict known to millions as ESPN.com's The Sports Guy, has written the definitive book on the past, present, and future of the NBA. From the age-old question of who actually won the rivalry between Bill Russell and Wilt Chamberlain to the one about which team was truly the best of all time, Simmons opens--and then closes, once and for all--every major pro basketball debate. Then he takes it further by completely reevaluating not only how NBA Hall of Fame inductees should be chosen but how the institution must be reshaped from the ground up, the result being the Pyramid: Simmons's one-of-a-kind five-level shrine to the ninety-six greatest players in the history of pro basketball. And ultimately he takes fans to the heart of it all, as he uses a conversation with one NBA great to uncover that coveted thing: The Secret of Basketball.

    Comprehensive, authoritative, controversial, hilarious, and impossible to put down (even for Celtic-haters), The Book of Basketball offers every hardwood fan a courtside seat beside the game's finest, funniest, and fiercest chronicler.

    *Including even more footnotes
    Hardwood Heroes: Celebrating a Century of Minnesota Basketball
    Hardwood Heroes
    Celebrating a Century of Minnesota Basketball
    Hardcover      ISBN: 0931714931

    Hardwood Heroes tells the tale of Minnesota basketball, including high school, college and professional male and female teams. It is a great book full of wonderful stories, along with personal memories and photos.



    Wooden: A Lifetime of Observations and Reflections on and Off the Court
    Wooden
    A Lifetime of Observations and Reflections on and Off the Court
    Hardcover      ISBN: 0809230410

    NATIONAL BESTSELLER

    "I am just a common man who is true to his beliefs."--John Wooden

    Evoking days gone by when coaches were respected as much for their off-court performances as for their success on the court, Wooden presents the timeless wisdom of legendary basketball coach John Wooden.

    In honest and telling passages about virtually every aspect of life, Coach shares his personal philosophy on family, achievement, success, and excellence. Raised on a small farm in south-central Indiana, he offers lessons and wisdom learned throughout his career at UCLA, and life as a dedicated husband, father, and teacher.

    These lessons, along with personal letters from Bill Walton, Denny Crum, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, and Bob Costas, among others, have made Wooden: A Lifetime of Observations and Reflections on and off the Court an inspirational classic.