Basketball
Featured Items
The Legends Club: Dean Smith, Mike Krzyzewski, Jim Valvano, and an Epic College Basketball Rivalry
The Legends Club
Dean Smith, Mike Krzyzewski, Jim Valvano, and an Epic College Basketball Rivalry
Paperback      ISBN: 0804173176
Documents the fierce 1980s rivalry among the coaches behind the University of North Carolina, Duke University, and North Carolina State, detailing the covert recruiting wars and the pressure that complicated their leadership methods.
Eleven Rings: The Soul of Success
Eleven Rings
The Soul of Success
Paperback      ISBN: 0143125346
A New York Times bestseller During his storied career as head coach of the Chicago Bulls and Los Angeles Lakers, Phil Jackson won more championships than any coach in the history of professional sports. Even more important, he succeeded in never wavering from coaching his way, from a place of deep values. Jackson was tagged as the ?Zen master
Sacred Hoops: Spiritual Lessons of a Hardwood Warrior
Sacred Hoops
Spiritual Lessons of a Hardwood Warrior
Paperback      ISBN: 1401308813
L.A. Lakers coach Phil Jackson shares his experience of combining sports and spirituality to lead his team to success, explaining how to nurture a positive group dynamic and detailing the methods he uses to teach his players how to think collectively, overcome anger, and look beyond jealousy. Reissue.
The Last Temptation of Rick Pitino: A Story of Corruption, Scandal, and the Big Business of College Basketball
The Last Temptation of Rick Pitino
A Story of Corruption, Scandal, and the Big Business of College Basketball
Hardcover      ISBN: 039956327x
From acclaimed New York Times Magazine author Michael Sokolove, the astonishing inside story of the epic corruption scandal that has rocked the NCAA and exposed the rot and hypocrisy at the heart of big-time college sports. At a lavish annual event in late August 2017, the University of Louisville athletic director, who made more than $5 million in compensation in 2016, announced an extension of his school's sponsorship deal with Adidas: $160 million for another 10 years. The invitees were city's gentry - horse breeders, bourbon distillers, partners at big law firms, the state's governor, Matt Bevin, and its most powerful politician, Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell. One month later, the FBI revealed that it had reached the endgame of a sprawling investigation of large-scale corruption involving Adidas, Louisville and a host of other colleges, in which large payments were laundered from Adidas through a network of coaches and fixers to athletes and their families to induce them to go to Adidas-branded college programs. In short order, Hall of Fame basketball coach Rick Pitino (salary: $8 million) and athletic director Tom Jurich were fired, and fear and trembling swept through the world of bigtime college athletics. Because there is another shoe, as it were, and it will fall. In THE LAST TEMPTATION OF RICK PITINO, Michael Sokolove lifts the rug on the Louisville scandal and places it in the context of the much wider problem, the farce of amateurism in bigtime college sports. In a world in which even assistant coaches can make high-six and seven-figure salaries, as long as they keep the "elite" athletes coming in, shoe deals can reach into the nine figures, and everyone is getting rich but the players, can it be surprising that unscrupulous parties would pay athletes, creating in effect a black market in young men, a veritable underground railroad of talent? But a few bad apples are one thing. In THE LAST TEMPTATION OF RICK PITINO, Michael Sokolove shows an elaborate, systematic machine, involving hundreds of thousands of dollars in illicit payments and connecting at least one of the largest apparel companies in the world with schools across the country. The Louisville-Adidas scandal has revealed a web of conspiracy whose scope has shaken big-time college sports to its core, delivering a devastating blow to the fantasy of amateurism, of "scholar athletes." A Shakespearean drama of greed and desperation involving some of the biggest characters in the arena of sports, THE LAST TEMPTATION OF RICK PITINO will be the definitive chronicle of this scandal and its broader echoes.
Pitino: My Story
Pitino
My Story
Hardcover      ISBN: 1635765625
On September 26, 2017, the biggest recruiting scandal in college basketball history sent shock waves through the world of sports. Caught up in a massive FBI and NCAA investigation
Boys Among Men: How the Prep-to-Pro Generation Redefined the NBA and Sparked a Basketball Revolution
Boys Among Men
How the Prep-to-Pro Generation Redefined the NBA and Sparked a Basketball Revolution
Hardcover      ISBN: 0804139253
Explores the trend of teenage basketball stars skipping college and going right into playing professionally, resulting in the 2005 age limit requirement instituted by the NBA, mandating that all players must attend college or another developmental program for at least a year.
Got to Give the People What They Want: True Stories and Flagrant Opinions from Center Court
Got to Give the People What They Want
True Stories and Flagrant Opinions from Center Court
Hardcover      ISBN: 0804138907
“I want to start conversations, and even better, arguments.
Counting Coup: A True Story of Basketball and Honor on the Little Big Horn
Counting Coup
A True Story of Basketball and Honor on the Little Big Horn
Paperback      ISBN: 0446677558
A noted journalist and author of Goat Brothers profiles a Montana high-school girls' basketball team--made up of Crow Indian and non-Native American girls from a rural town beset by racism, alcoholism, and other problems--that carries on its shoulders the dreams and hopes of a Native American tribe during their winning season. Reprint.
Betaball: How Silicon Valley and Science Built One of the Greatest Basketball Teams in History
Betaball
How Silicon Valley and Science Built One of the Greatest Basketball Teams in History
Paperback      ISBN: 1501158201
“As lively, thorough, and engaging as the team it chronicles” (Nathaniel Friedman), Betaball is a compelling look at how the Golden State Warriors embraced savvy business practices, next generation science, and Silicon Valley’s technocentric culture not only to produce one of the greatest basketball teams in history but also to revolutionize the NBA—perfect for fans of Moneyball and The Book of Basketball. Betaball is the definitive, inside account of how the Golden State Warriors, under the ownership of venture capitalist Joe Lacob and Hollywood producer Peter Guber, quickly became one of the greatest success stories in both sports and business. In just five years, they turned a declining franchise with no immediate hope into the NBA’s dominant force—and facilitated the rise of All-Star point guard Stephen Curry. By operating in “beta,” the Warriors morphed into a model organization for American professional sports, instituting the best workplace principles found inside the world’s most successful corporations, and instilling a top-down organizational ethos that allows employees—from the front office to the free-throw line—to thrive. With in-depth access and meticulous reporting on and off the court, acclaimed journalist Eric Malinowski recounts a gripping tale of a team’s reinvention, of worlds colliding, of ordinary people being pushed to extraordinary heights, and the Golden State Warriors’ chase for a second straight NBA championship during the 2015-’16 season. Betaball is “a book for fans of all sports and science, business and analytics, Silicon Valley and Wall Street, front offices and locker rooms, money and winning” (Don Van Natta Jr., ESPN reporter and New York Times bestselling author).
Coach Wooden: The 7 Principles That Shaped His Life and Will Change Yours
Coach Wooden
The 7 Principles That Shaped His Life and Will Change Yours
Paperback      ISBN: 0800721276
Based on seven principles given to Coach Wooden by his father, this book helps the reader discover how to be successful and a person of character and integrity. Now in paper.