Medicine, General
Featured Items
The Wounded Storyteller: Body, Illness, and Ethics
The Wounded Storyteller
Body, Illness, and Ethics
Paperback      ISBN: 0226259935
This work argues that people tell stories in order to make sense of their suffering; ill people are wounded storytellers. Frank recounts a collection of illness stories ranging from the well-known to the private testimonials of people with cancer, chronic fatigue syndrome and disabilities.
Bad Blood: The Tuskegee Syphilis Experiment
Bad Blood
The Tuskegee Syphilis Experiment
Paperback      ISBN: 0029166764
An account of the experiment conducted by the U.S. Public Health Service describes how medical treatment was withheld from Black sharecroppers infected with syphilis
The Book of Buddhas: Ritual Symbolism Used on Buddhist Statuary and Ritual Objects
The Book of Buddhas
Ritual Symbolism Used on Buddhist Statuary and Ritual Objects
Paperback      ISBN: 9074597025
Shiitake: The Healing Mushroom
Shiitake
The Healing Mushroom
Paperback      ISBN: 0892814993
Discover the healing properties of this gourmet delicacy, from folk remedies to the latest research on its benefits in lowering blood cholesterol, prevention of heart disease, and in immunotherapy.
Complaints and Disorders: The Sexual Politics of Sickness
Complaints and Disorders
The Sexual Politics of Sickness
Paperback      ISBN: 0912670207
In this exciting sequel to their underground bestseller, Witches, Midwives, and Nurses, Barbara Ehrenreich and Deirdre English document the tradition of American sexism in medicine before and after the turn of the century. Citing vivid examples, including numerous "treatments" and "rest cures" perpetrated on women through the decades, the authors analyze the biomedical rationale used to justify the wholesale sex discrimination throughout our culture-in education, in jobs, and in public life. Ever since Hippocrates, male medics have treated women as the "weaker" sex. By the late 19th century, when the authority of religious documents had waned, the ultimate rationale for sex discrimination became solely biomedical. In this intriguing pamphlet, the authors raise the diffuclt question: "How sick-or well-are women today?" They assert that feminists today want more than "more": "We want a new style, and we want a new substance of medical practice as it relates to women."
Plagues and Peoples
Plagues and Peoples
Paperback      ISBN: 0385121229
A distinguished historian probes the critical impact of infectious diseases on the development of world civilizations
Acid and Alkaline
Acid and Alkaline
Paperback      ISBN: 091886044x
Pregnancy Week-By-Week: Everything You Need to Know About Yourself and Your Developing Baby : Plus Essential Weekly Planner
Pregnancy Week-By-Week
Everything You Need to Know About Yourself and Your Developing Baby : Plus Essential Weekly Planner
Paperback      ISBN: 0062734830
In the tradition of Pregnancy Day-By-Day, and New Guide to Pregnancy and Childcare, Pregnancy Week-By-Week details expectant moms progress. This handy guide offers suggestions for nutrition, exercise and health as well as which doctors to visit and when. It also provides a weekly diary/record book which enables mothers-to-be to keep track of doctor appointments, exercise suggestions and memorable events.

Pregnancy Week-By-Week also aims to put the expectant mother's fears to rest by giving helpful information. It deals with topics such as coping with morning sickness and fatigue; what medical issues to be concerned with and when; every aspect of the baby's development including the baby's shape and size, development of the head, eyes, muscles, limbs, organs and more; what baby care equipment to consider; preparations for the day of delivery; and a medical glossary.

This essential book will be an expectant woman's best friend during the most anxious and exhilarating 42 weeks of her life.

The Art of Aromatherapy: The Healing and Beautifying Properties of the Essential Oils of Flowers and Herbs
The Art of Aromatherapy
The Healing and Beautifying Properties of the Essential Oils of Flowers and Herbs
Paperback      ISBN: 0892810017
Often called the father of modern aromatherapy, Tisserand introduced the use of essential oils in healing in this seminal bestseller. Includes a glossary and therapeutic index.
Spontaneous Healing: How to Discover and Enhance Your Body's Natural Ability to Maintain and Heal Itself
Spontaneous Healing
How to Discover and Enhance Your Body's Natural Ability to Maintain and Heal Itself
Paperback      ISBN: 0449910644
Stating that the human body contains a system of healing any malady, from everyday illnesses to life-threatening ones, a detailed guide explains how to strengthen this system through diet, nutrition, vitamins, and exercises