Medicine, General
Featured Items
Harriet Beecher Stowe: A Life
Harriet Beecher Stowe
A Life
Paperback      ISBN: 0195096398

"Up to this year I have always felt that I had no particular call to meddle with this subject....But I feel now that the time is come when even a woman or a child who can speak a word for freedom and humanity is bound to speak." Thus did Harriet Beecher Stowe announce her decision to begin work on what would become one of the most influential novels ever written. The subject she had hesitated to "meddle with" was slavery, and the novel, of course, was Uncle Tom's Cabin. Still debated today for its portrayal of African Americans and its unresolved place in the literary canon, Stowe's best-known work was first published in weekly installments from June 5, 1851 to April 1, 1852. It caused such a stir in both the North and South, and even in Great Britain, that when Stowe met President Lincoln in 1862 he is said to have greeted her with the words, "So you are the little woman who wrote the book that created this great war "
In this landmark book, the first full-scale biography of Harriet Beecher Stowe in over fifty years, Joan D. Hedrick tells the absorbing story of this gifted, complex, and contradictory woman. Hedrick takes readers into the multilayered world of nineteenth century morals and mores, exploring the influence of then-popular ideas of "true womanhood" on Stowe's upbringing as a member of the outspoken Beecher clan, and her eventful life as a writer and shaper of public opinion who was also a mother of seven. It offers a lively record of the flourishing parlor societies that launched and sustained Stowe throughout the 44 years of her career, and the harsh physical realities that governed so many women's lives. The epidemics, high infant mortality, and often disastrous medical practices of the day are portrayed in moving detail, against the backdrop of western expansion, and the great social upheaval accompanying the abolitionist movement and the entry of women into public life.
Here are Stowe's public triumphs, both before and after the Civil War, and the private tragedies that included the death of her adored eighteen month old son, the drowning of another son, and the alcohol and morphine addictions of two of her other children. The daughter, sister, and wife of prominent ministers, Stowe channeled her anguish and her ambition into a socially acceptable anger on behalf of others, transforming her private experience into powerful narratives that moved a nation.
Magisterial in its breadth and rich in detail, this definitive portrait explores the full measure of Harriet Beecher Stowe's life, and her contribution to American literature. Perceptive and engaging, it illuminates the career of a major writer during the transition of literature from an amateur pastime to a profession, and offers a fascinating look at the pains, pleasures, and accomplishments of women's lives in the last century.

Pregnancy Week-By-Week: Everything You Need to Know About Yourself and Your Developing Baby : Plus Essential Weekly Planner
Pregnancy Week-By-Week
Everything You Need to Know About Yourself and Your Developing Baby : Plus Essential Weekly Planner
Paperback      ISBN: 0062734830

In the tradition of Pregnancy Day-By-Day, and New Guide to Pregnancy and Childcare, Pregnancy Week-By-Week details expectant moms progress. This handy guide offers suggestions for nutrition, exercise and health as well as which doctors to visit and when. It also provides a weekly diary/record book which enables mothers-to-be to keep track of doctor appointments, exercise suggestions and memorable events.

Pregnancy Week-By-Week also aims to put the expectant mother's fears to rest by giving helpful information. It deals with topics such as coping with morning sickness and fatigue; what medical issues to be concerned with and when; every aspect of the baby's development including the baby's shape and size, development of the head, eyes, muscles, limbs, organs and more; what baby care equipment to consider; preparations for the day of delivery; and a medical glossary.

This essential book will be an expectant woman's best friend during the most anxious and exhilarating 42 weeks of her life.

How We Die: Reflections of Life's Final Chapter, New Edition
How We Die
Reflections of Life's Final Chapter, New Edition
Paperback      ISBN: 0679742441

New Edition With a new chapter addressing contemporary issues in end-of-life care

A runaway bestseller and National Book Award winner, Sherwin Nuland's How We Die has become the definitive text on perhaps the single most universal human concern: death. This new edition includes an all-embracing and incisive afterword that examines the current state of health care and our relationship with life as it approaches its terminus. It also discusses how we can take control of our own final days and those of our loved ones.

Shewin Nuland's masterful How We Die is even more relevant than when it was first published.

The Out-Of-Sync Child: Recognizing and Coping With Sensory Integration Dysfunction
The Out-Of-Sync Child
Recognizing and Coping With Sensory Integration Dysfunction
Paperback      ISBN: 0399523863

Describes the symptoms of and treatments for SI dysfunction, a frequently misdiagnosed problem in which messages from the senses are not correctly processed by the central nervous system.

Why People Don't Heal and How They Can
Why People Don't Heal and How They Can
Paperback      ISBN: 0609802240
A bold account of the development of human consciousness and spirituality over the ages and an examination of the dynamic global transformation of attitudes about healing.

For more than fifteen years, Caroline Myss has studied why some people heal, while others do not. In her previous book, Anatomy of the Spirit, Dr. Myss illuminated the hidden interactions of belief and body, soul and cell to show how, as she inimitably puts it, "your biography becomes your biology." In Why People Don't Heal and How They Can, she builds on her earlier teachings of the seven different energy centers of the body to provide a vital self-healing program for physical and spiritual disorders. With her characteristic no-nonsense style and high-voltage storytelling, she exposes and explodes the five myths about healing, explains the cultural and individual contexts in which people become physically and spiritually ill and invested in "woundology," and teaches new methods of working with the challenges that the seven energy centers embody.

To help you get and stay on the path to wellness, Dr. Myss provides rituals and prayers for gaining a symbolic perspective on your life issues; for bolstering your personal power; and for connecting with a universal divine energy. Dr. Myss's breakthrough views on energy medicine and her active approach to healing life issues and physical illness will help you overcome the mental blocks that keep you from becoming well.
Mortal Lessons
Mortal Lessons
Paperback      ISBN: 0156004003

In this collection of nineteen unforgettable essays, Dr. Selzer describes unsparingly the surgeon's art. Both moving and perversely funny, Mortal Lessons is an established classic that considers not only the workings and misworkings of the human body but also the meaning of life and death. With a Preface written by the Author especially for this edition.

Head First: The Biology of Hope and the Healing Power of the Human Spirit
Head First
The Biology of Hope and the Healing Power of the Human Spirit
Paperback      ISBN: 0140139656

"An eloquent plea for two needed emphases: more humane doctor-patient relations, and greater patient involvement in the struggle with disease."--Melvin Konner.

The Power Behind Your Eyes: Improving Your Eyesight with Integrated Vision Therapy
The Power Behind Your Eyes
Improving Your Eyesight with Integrated Vision Therapy
Paperback      ISBN: 0892815361

Good vision is more than the ability to see 20/20 on an eye chart. Any vision problem is a message alerting us to an unbalanced inner state. Eyeglasses, medications, and surgery may correct poor vision but they cannot correct this inner imbalance. In The Power Behind Your Eyes, Robert-Michael Kaplan presents Integrated Vision Therapy a comprehensive daily program that can actually improve as well as treat the inner causes of poor vision. More comprehensive than other vision care techniques, Integrated Vision Therapy takes a holistic approach to identifying the causes of vision problems and developing noninvasive, natural strategies for treatment, including clear, easy-to-follow exercises, diets, and changes in daily habits.

A Not Entirely Benign Procedure: Four Years As a Medical Student
A Not Entirely Benign Procedure
Four Years As a Medical Student
Paperback      ISBN: 0452272580

"Fascinating... Klass writes with wit, intelligence, and a great deal of insight."--The New York Times Book Review

Acclaimed pediatrician, journalist, and novelist Perri Klass offers a provocative look at the ups and downs of medical school from those first exams to the day she became a doctor. In a direct, candid style, Klass shares what it is like to be a first-time mother while attending med school; the unique lingo of the med student; how to deal with every bodily fluid imaginable; and the humor and heartbreak of working with patients. With this collection of essays, Klass established herself as a go-to voice for a generation of med students and doctors, with her frank and witty perspective. Klass also brings a proven ability to make the medical world accessible to the lay reader, through her extensive literary and journalistic experience.
Why Weight?: A Workbook for Ending Compulsive Eating
Why Weight?
A Workbook for Ending Compulsive Eating
Paperback      ISBN: 0452262542
A workbook that will help you stop compulsive eating from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Women Food and God.

With the publication of her ground-breaking books, Feeding the Hungry Heart and Breaking Free From Compulsive Eating, Geneen Roth has helped hundred of thousands of people win their battle against the destructive binge-diet cycle. Now this remarkable companion workbook shows compulsive eaters--in a constructive, non-judgmental way--how to stop using food as a substitute for handling difficult emotions or situations...and how to enjoy eating and still lose weight naturally. By using the liberating exercises and techniques developed by Geneen Roth in her highly succesful Breaking Free(R) workshops, dieters, who've tried every conceivable diet--losing weight again and again, only to gain it back--and bingers, who are harming their health, can learn wholesome, beneficial ways to achieve their goals. This proven program offers reassuring guidlines on:

- Letting food become a source of pleasure rather than anxiety
- Kicking the scale-watching the habit--forever
- Recognizing the difference between physical and emotional hungers
- Learning to say no
- Listening to, and trusting, your body's hunger and fullness signals
- Distinguishing "forbidden foods" from those you truly want
- Uncovering the conflicts that stand between your desire to lose weight and your urge to eat compulsively
- Discovering other pleasures besides food