Medicine, General
Featured Items
Classic Works in Medical Ethics: Core Philosophical Readings
Classic Works in Medical Ethics
Core Philosophical Readings
Paperback      ISBN: 0070381151
After thirty years, Medical Ethics has matured to where a collection of core writings in the field is now possible. There is even a danger that some classic articles will cease to be known because they are no longer included in "issue of the moment" anthologies. This book offers classic, well-written articles that have stood the test of time and have something to teach. These are articles with good philosophical analysis dealing with important topics and making significant contributions to understanding of issues. There are no long, boring selections from government commissions or technical pieces from scientific journals. Many selections illustrate how and why philosophers contributed to the progress of medical ethics. The articles cluster around several broad philosophical questions: terminating the lives of dying patients; assisting human life to begin outside the womb; terminating the beginnings of human life; personhood and higher animals, fetuses, impaired newborns, comatose patients; individual rights against the greater social good; and allocating scarce medical resources.
Pregnancy Week-By-Week: Everything You Need to Know About Yourself and Your Developing Baby : Plus Essential Weekly Planner
Pregnancy Week-By-Week
Everything You Need to Know About Yourself and Your Developing Baby : Plus Essential Weekly Planner
Paperback      ISBN: 0062734830
In the tradition of Pregnancy Day-By-Day, and New Guide to Pregnancy and Childcare, Pregnancy Week-By-Week details expectant moms progress. This handy guide offers suggestions for nutrition, exercise and health as well as which doctors to visit and when. It also provides a weekly diary/record book which enables mothers-to-be to keep track of doctor appointments, exercise suggestions and memorable events.

Pregnancy Week-By-Week also aims to put the expectant mother's fears to rest by giving helpful information. It deals with topics such as coping with morning sickness and fatigue; what medical issues to be concerned with and when; every aspect of the baby's development including the baby's shape and size, development of the head, eyes, muscles, limbs, organs and more; what baby care equipment to consider; preparations for the day of delivery; and a medical glossary.

This essential book will be an expectant woman's best friend during the most anxious and exhilarating 42 weeks of her life.

The Handbook of Chinese Massage: Tui Na Techniques to Awaken Body and Mind
The Handbook of Chinese Massage
Tui Na Techniques to Awaken Body and Mind
Paperback      ISBN: 0892817453
Britain's leading authority on Oriental massage integrates classic tui na techniques into a new, whole-body treatment never before seen in East or West.
The Casebook of Forensic Detection: How Science Solved 100 of the World's Most Baffling Crimes
The Casebook of Forensic Detection
How Science Solved 100 of the World's Most Baffling Crimes
Paperback      ISBN: 047128369x
Examines more than two centuries of forensic technology and development and recounts real-life groundbreaking cases in fifteen different fields of forensics
The Social Transformation of American Medicine: The Rise of a Sovereign Profession and the Making of a Vast Industry
The Social Transformation of American Medicine
The Rise of a Sovereign Profession and the Making of a Vast Industry
Paperback      ISBN: 0465079350
Examines the rise of the doctor's control over the health-care system and discusses the threat of new health-care conglomerates to the practitioners' dominance of the system
Healing Back Pain: The Mind-Body Connection
Healing Back Pain
The Mind-Body Connection
Paperback      ISBN: 0446392308
A physician demonstrates how to relieve back pain caused by stress, anger, and other psychological factors without surgery, drugs, or exercise within two to six weeks. By the author of The Mindbody Prescription. Reissue.
A Not Entirely Benign Procedure: Four Years As a Medical Student
A Not Entirely Benign Procedure
Four Years As a Medical Student
Paperback      ISBN: 0452272580
"Fascinating... Klass writes with wit, intelligence, and a great deal of insight."—The New York Times Book Review Acclaimed pediatrician, journalist, and novelist Perri Klass offers a provocative look at the ups and downs of medical school from those first exams to the day she became a doctor. In a direct, candid style, Klass shares what it is like to be a first-time mother while attending med school; the unique lingo of the med student; how to deal with every bodily fluid imaginable; and the humor and heartbreak of working with patients. With this collection of essays, Klass established herself as a go-to voice for a generation of med students and doctors, with her frank and witty perspective. Klass also brings a proven ability to make the medical world accessible to the lay reader, through her extensive literary and journalistic experience.
Mortal Lessons: Notes on the Art of Surgery
Mortal Lessons
Notes on the Art of Surgery
Paperback      ISBN: 0156004003
A surgeon at the Yale Medical Center writes of the craft and practice of the operating room, blending narrative clinical material with dramatic and metaphoric tableaux of the human body
How We Die: Reflections on Life's Final Chapter
How We Die
Reflections on Life's Final Chapter
Paperback      ISBN: 0679742441
Presents a meditation and portrait of the experience of dying that elucidates the decisions that can be made to allow each person an understanding of death, as well as his or her own choice of death
The Out-Of-Sync Child: Recognizing and Coping With Sensory Integration Dysfunction
The Out-Of-Sync Child
Recognizing and Coping With Sensory Integration Dysfunction
Paperback      ISBN: 0399523863
A guide to Sensory Integration Disorder describes the common condition, which can manifest itself in children in excessively high or low activity levels, problems with motor skills, oversensitivity or undersensitivity to sensations and movements, and other symptoms. Original.