Medicine, General
Featured Items
Birthing from Within: An Extra-Ordinary Guide to Childbirth Preparation
Birthing from Within
An Extra-Ordinary Guide to Childbirth Preparation
Paperback      ISBN: 0965987302
"Here is a holistic approach to childbirth that examines this profound rite-of-passage, not as a medical event, but as an act of self-discovery. Exercises and activities such as journal writing, meditation, and painting will help mothers analyze their thoughts and face their fears during pregnancy. For use during birth, the book offers proven techniques for coping with labor pain without drugs, a discussion of the doctor or midwife’s role, and a look at the father’s responsibilities. Childbirth education should also include what do expect after the baby is born. Here are baby basics, such as how to bathe a newborn, how to get the little one to sleep, and tips for getting nursing off to a good start. Pregnancy, birth, and postpartum is a process of continuous learning and adjustment; Birthing From Within provides the necessary support and education to make each phase of birthing a rewarding experience."
Pregnancy Week-By-Week: Everything You Need to Know About Yourself and Your Developing Baby : Plus Essential Weekly Planner
Pregnancy Week-By-Week
Everything You Need to Know About Yourself and Your Developing Baby : Plus Essential Weekly Planner
Paperback      ISBN: 0062734830
In the tradition of Pregnancy Day-By-Day, and New Guide to Pregnancy and Childcare, Pregnancy Week-By-Week details expectant moms progress. This handy guide offers suggestions for nutrition, exercise and health as well as which doctors to visit and when. It also provides a weekly diary/record book which enables mothers-to-be to keep track of doctor appointments, exercise suggestions and memorable events.

Pregnancy Week-By-Week also aims to put the expectant mother's fears to rest by giving helpful information. It deals with topics such as coping with morning sickness and fatigue; what medical issues to be concerned with and when; every aspect of the baby's development including the baby's shape and size, development of the head, eyes, muscles, limbs, organs and more; what baby care equipment to consider; preparations for the day of delivery; and a medical glossary.

This essential book will be an expectant woman's best friend during the most anxious and exhilarating 42 weeks of her life.

The Wounded Storyteller: Body, Illness, and Ethics
The Wounded Storyteller
Body, Illness, and Ethics
Paperback      ISBN: 0226259935
This work argues that people tell stories in order to make sense of their suffering; ill people are wounded storytellers. Frank recounts a collection of illness stories ranging from the well-known to the private testimonials of people with cancer, chronic fatigue syndrome and disabilities.
Classic Works in Medical Ethics: Core Philosophical Readings
Classic Works in Medical Ethics
Core Philosophical Readings
Paperback      ISBN: 0070381151
After thirty years, Medical Ethics has matured to where a collection of core writings in the field is now possible. There is even a danger that some classic articles will cease to be known because they are no longer included in "issue of the moment" anthologies. This book offers classic, well-written articles that have stood the test of time and have something to teach. These are articles with good philosophical analysis dealing with important topics and making significant contributions to understanding of issues. There are no long, boring selections from government commissions or technical pieces from scientific journals. Many selections illustrate how and why philosophers contributed to the progress of medical ethics. The articles cluster around several broad philosophical questions: terminating the lives of dying patients; assisting human life to begin outside the womb; terminating the beginnings of human life; personhood and higher animals, fetuses, impaired newborns, comatose patients; individual rights against the greater social good; and allocating scarce medical resources.
The Healing Energies of Music
The Healing Energies of Music
2nd Edition    Paperback      ISBN: 0835607224
Certain types of music can enhance intellectual and spiritual powers and help overcome insomnia, boredom, anger, and stress. Music therapist and teacher Hal Lingerman presents a wealth of resources for choosing just the right music for physical, emotional and spiritual growth and healing. This updated edition offers comprehensive listings of current recordings, including new and remastered CDs, with selections from the classics, contemporary and ethnic compositions, and music composed by and for women. It includes expanded chapters on Women's Music, World Music, the Music of Nature, and Angelic Music.
Quantum Healing: Exploring the Frontiers of Mind Body Medicine
Quantum Healing
Exploring the Frontiers of Mind Body Medicine
Paperback      ISBN: 0553348698
Discusses the connections between mind, body, and health, outlining the methods readers can employ to tap into their hidden healing powers
How We Die: Reflections on Life's Final Chapter
How We Die
Reflections on Life's Final Chapter
Paperback      ISBN: 0679742441
Presents a meditation and portrait of the experience of dying that elucidates the decisions that can be made to allow each person an understanding of death, as well as his or her own choice of death
Healing Back Pain: The Mind-Body Connection
Healing Back Pain
The Mind-Body Connection
Paperback      ISBN: 0446392308
A physician demonstrates how to relieve back pain caused by stress, anger, and other psychological factors without surgery, drugs, or exercise within two to six weeks. By the author of The Mindbody Prescription. Reissue.
Sleep Thief: Restless Legs Syndrome
Sleep Thief
Restless Legs Syndrome
Paperback      ISBN: 0965268209
Acid and Alkaline
Acid and Alkaline
Paperback      ISBN: 091886044x