Medicine, General
Featured Items
The Structure of Magic: A Book About Language and Therapy
The Structure of Magic
A Book About Language and Therapy
Paperback      ISBN: 0831400447
Behind the Scenes: Or, Thirty Years a Slave, and Four Years in the White House
Behind the Scenes
Or, Thirty Years a Slave, and Four Years in the White House
Paperback      ISBN: 0195060849
A seamstress and friend of Mrs. Abraham Lincoln describes her days as a slave and her memories of the martyred President and his First Lady
The Art of Aromatherapy: The Healing and Beautifying Properties of the Essential Oils of Flowers and Herbs
The Art of Aromatherapy
The Healing and Beautifying Properties of the Essential Oils of Flowers and Herbs
Paperback      ISBN: 0892810017
Often called the father of modern aromatherapy, Tisserand introduced the use of essential oils in healing in this seminal bestseller. Includes a glossary and therapeutic index.
Kava: The Pacific Elixer : The Definitive Guide to Its Ethnobotany, History, and Chemistry
Kava
The Pacific Elixer : The Definitive Guide to Its Ethnobotany, History, and Chemistry
Paperback      ISBN: 0892817267
• The most comprehensive book ever written on nature's most effective stress-relieving plant. • First paperback edition of the classic comprehensive text originally published by Yale University Press. This complete guide to kava summarizes the literature and research on a plant that is now considered comparable or superior to anti-stress prescription drugs, and describes its use in the religious, political, and economic life of the Pacific islands for centuries. Beyond its soporific qualities kava is also used throughout the the Pacific as an analgesic, a diuretic, and an anesthetic. There is even evidence suggesting it is effective in the treatment of asthma, tuberculosis, and venereal disease. Exhaustively researched, Kava: The Pacific Elixir offers an extensive survey of this amazing plant from the perspective of the horticulturist, the ethnobotanist, and the pharmacologist.
My Own Country: A Doctor's Story
My Own Country
A Doctor's Story
Paperback      ISBN: 0679752927
A young doctor in the Smoky Mountains of eastern Tennessee describes the town's first introduction to the AIDS virus, which preceded a disturbing epidemic and introduced the doctor to many unique people. Reprint. 40,000 first printing. Tour. NYT.
The Scalpel, the Sword: The Story of Dr. Norman Bethune
The Scalpel, the Sword
The Story of Dr. Norman Bethune
Paperback      ISBN: 0853453020
Compelling narrative of Norman Bethune, revolutionary doctor in Mao
The Healer's Manual: A Beginner's Guide to Vibrational Therapies
The Healer's Manual
A Beginner's Guide to Vibrational Therapies
Paperback      ISBN: 0875420079
Noted healer Ted Andrews believes it is our unbalanced or blocked emotions, attitudes, and thoughts that deplete our natural physical energies and make us more susceptible to illness. The Healer's Manual shows specific ways-involving color, sound, fragrance, herbs, and gemstones-to restore the natural flow of energy. Use the simple techniques in this book to activate healing, alleviate aches and pains, and become the healthy person you're meant to be. • New cover • New interior design
The Coming Plague: Newly Emerging Diseases in a World Out of Balance
The Coming Plague
Newly Emerging Diseases in a World Out of Balance
Paperback      ISBN: 0140250913
A critically acclaimed study documents the outbreaks of newly discovered diseases around the globe, such as HIV, Lassa, and Ebola, and explores the social and environmental deterioration that helps to keep such viruses alive. Reprint. Tour.
Pregnancy Week-By-Week: Everything You Need to Know About Yourself and Your Developing Baby : Plus Essential Weekly Planner
Pregnancy Week-By-Week
Everything You Need to Know About Yourself and Your Developing Baby : Plus Essential Weekly Planner
Paperback      ISBN: 0062734830
In the tradition of Pregnancy Day-By-Day, and New Guide to Pregnancy and Childcare, Pregnancy Week-By-Week details expectant moms progress. This handy guide offers suggestions for nutrition, exercise and health as well as which doctors to visit and when. It also provides a weekly diary/record book which enables mothers-to-be to keep track of doctor appointments, exercise suggestions and memorable events.

Pregnancy Week-By-Week also aims to put the expectant mother's fears to rest by giving helpful information. It deals with topics such as coping with morning sickness and fatigue; what medical issues to be concerned with and when; every aspect of the baby's development including the baby's shape and size, development of the head, eyes, muscles, limbs, organs and more; what baby care equipment to consider; preparations for the day of delivery; and a medical glossary.

This essential book will be an expectant woman's best friend during the most anxious and exhilarating 42 weeks of her life.

The Clay Cure: Natural Healing from the Earth
The Clay Cure
Natural Healing from the Earth
Paperback      ISBN: 0892817755
Complete information on this natural and gentle dietary supplement that is effective in treating a wide range of illnesses. Contains complete, up-to-date information on choosing the appropriate clay and how to use it for specific ailments. Discusses the science and history of clay ingestion and its nutritional value. Resource section includes information on where to buy clay supplements and health products. An exceptional source of minerals, clay has been ingested as a nutritional supplement and detoxifier throughout the world for thousands of years. This book reveals the benefits of that ancient wisdom and the use of clay powders, capsules, or liquid gels to address numerous problems. Naturally absorbent and extremely gentle on the system, clay can treat ailments affecting digestion, circulation, menstruation, and the liver, skin, and prostate. Clay also remedies symptoms of arthritis, chronic fatigue syndrome, gum diseases, and migraines. The Clay Cure contains complete and up-to-date information on choosing the appropriate type and form of clay, how and when to take it for your specific complaint, the science and history of ingesting clay, and the value of minerals contained in the many varieties of clay.