Animals, Miscellaneous
Featured Items
A Primate's Memoir: A Neuroscientist's Unconventional Life Among the Baboons
A Primate's Memoir
A Neuroscientist's Unconventional Life Among the Baboons
Paperback      ISBN: 0743202414

In the tradition of Jane Goodall and Dian Fossey, Robert Sapolsky, a foremost science writer and recipient of a MacArthur Genius Grant, tells the mesmerizing story of his twenty-one years in remote Kenya with a troop of Savannah baboons.

"I had never planned to become a savanna baboon when I grew up; instead, I had always assumed I would become a mountain gorilla," writes Robert Sapolsky in this witty and riveting chronicle of a scientist's coming-of-age in remote Africa.

An exhilarating account of Sapolsky's twenty-one-year study of a troop of rambunctious baboons in Kenya, A Primate's Memoir interweaves serious scientific observations with wry commentary about the challenges and pleasures of living in the wilds of the Serengeti--for man and beast alike. Over two decades, Sapolsky survives culinary atrocities, gunpoint encounters, and a surreal kidnapping, while witnessing the encroachment of the tourist mentality on the farthest vestiges of unspoiled Africa. As he conducts unprecedented physiological research on wild primates, he becomes evermore enamored of his subjects--unique and compelling characters in their own right--and he returns to them summer after summer, until tragedy finally prevents him.

By turns hilarious and poignant, A Primate's Memoir is a magnum opus from one of our foremost science writers.
The Animal World of Albert Schweitzer: Jungle Insights into Reverence for Life
The Animal World of Albert Schweitzer
Jungle Insights into Reverence for Life
Paperback      ISBN: 0880014709

Albert Schweitzer was a man whose reverence for life extended even to the lowliest of insects. Long before the environment became a major political issue, Schweitzer criticized a Western philosophical tradition that restricted the realm of ethics to relationships between human beings. He passionately strove to define a morality that would encompass all of God's creation.
In The Animal World of Albert Schweitzer, the man remembered as the "jungle doctor" for his medical missionary service in central Africa reveals his personal and particular affection for a world where animals still ruled the landscape and humans moved among them at their peril. Here, among charming stories about the large and changing menagerie of injured and orphaned animals he cared for, are accounts of attacks on humans by leopards, crocodiles, hippos, pythons and other creatures - relayed by a doctor acutely aware of the suffering of both man and beast.
These anecdotes culminate in a group of brief, moving essays and meditations in which Schweitzer seeks to place humanity's legitimate self-interest within the larger context of a natural world in which all life is sacred. In this time of heated animal rights activism and heightened environmental awareness, Albert Schweitzer's observations reveal him to be a man of concrete moral intelligence - and thoroughly contemporary in his concerns.

The Beast in the Garden: The True Story of a Predator's Deadly Return to Suburban America
The Beast in the Garden
The True Story of a Predator's Deadly Return to Suburban America
Paperback      ISBN: 0393326349

When residents of Boulder, Colorado, suddenly began to see mountain lions in their backyards, it became clear that the cats had returned after decades of bounty hunting had driven them far from human settlement. In a riveting environmental tale that has received huge national attention, journalist David Baron traces the history of the mountain lion and chronicles one town's tragic effort to coexist with its new neighbors. As thought-provoking as it is harrowing, The Beast in the Garden is a tale of nature corrupted, the clash between civilization and wildness, and the artificiality of the modern American landscape. It is, ultimately, a book about the future of our nation, where suburban sprawl and wildlife-protection laws are pushing people and wild animals into uncomfortable, sometimes deadly proximity.

Death in the Grizzly Maze: The Timothy Treadwell Story
Death in the Grizzly Maze
The Timothy Treadwell Story
Paperback      ISBN: 0762736771

On the afternoon of October 5, 2003, in Alaska's Katmai National Park, one or more brown bears killed and ate Timothy Treadwell and his girlfriend Amie Huguenard. The next day, park rangers killed the two bears that they assumed were responsible. This frightening and chilling story immediately captured worldwide media attention. Some bear experts felt that Treadwell's death was a matter of time, considering the unorthodox and highly questionable tactics he used in his life among the bears. Yet Timothy's surge in popularity, and his inglorious death, give rise to a plethora of questions. More than just a story about Treadwell, Death in the Grizzly Maze delves into the issues raised by the new breed of reckless wildlife celebrities and answers these questions: Was it a foregone conclusion that Timothy Treadwell had to die? Since Treadwell's actions were so obviously improper why didn't the National Park Service intervene? Did the bears have to die? How the actions of a few are affecting national park policy and promoting improper behavior when encountering wildlife are important issues for the future of wildlife conservation.

Spirit of the Wildcat
Spirit of the Wildcat
Hardcover      ISBN: 1405472081
The Story of Brutus: My Life with Brutus the Bear and the Grizzlies of North America
The Story of Brutus
My Life with Brutus the Bear and the Grizzlies of North America
Hardcover      ISBN: 1605981079

When together, Anderson and Brutus will wrestle, swim, play, and continue to act as advocates for grizzly protection and education, be it through documentaries like Expedition Grizzly, appearances on Oprah or Good Morning America, or in this inspiring book, which promises to be an intimate look into Anderson's relationship with Brutus and a call to action to protect these glorious animals and the natural world they live in.

The Story of Brutus proves that love and friendship knows no bounds and that every care must be taken to protect one of nature's noblest creatures.
Adam's Task: Calling Animals by Name
Adam's Task
Calling Animals by Name
Hardcover      ISBN: 0394542142

Explores the idea of communication between people and animals--from the sophisticated experiments of Washoe to common household pets--and suggests a relationship between understanding animal consciousness and expanding human consciousness

Hamsters
Hamsters
Hardcover      ISBN: 0793837685

These popular pocket pets require specific care to ensure their health and happiness. This book details proper handling techniques and all necessary care information required for any owner who wants to make these tiny creatures part of their family. T.F.H. has teamed up with Animal Planet(TM), the only television network devoted to the unique bonds between humans and animals, to present an exciting new series of family-friendly, comprehensive guides to superior pet care. Each book features newly written text from animal experts on a variety of topics, including feeding, housing, grooming, training, health care, and fun activities. Useful tip boxes in each chapter show every member of the household how to make the most out of owning a pet.

Animals Make Us Human: Creating the Best Life for Animals
Animals Make Us Human
Creating the Best Life for Animals
1st Edition    Hardcover      ISBN: 0151014892

The best-selling animal advocate Temple Grandin offers the most exciting exploration of how animals feel since The Hidden Life of Dogs.
In her groundbreaking and best-selling book Animals in Translation, Temple Grandin drew on her own experience with autism as well as her distinguished career as an animal scientist to deliver extraordinary insights into how animals think, act, and feel. Now she builds on those insights to show us how to give our animals the best and happiest life--on their terms, not ours.
It's usually easy to pinpoint the cause of physical pain in animals, but to know what is causing them emotional distress is much harder. rawing on the latest research and her own work, Grandin identifies the core emotional needs of animals. Then she explains how to fulfill them for dogs and cats, horses, farm animals, and zoo animals.Whether it's how to make the healthiest environment for the dog you must leave alone most of the day, how to keep pigs from being bored, or how to know if the lion pacing in the zoo is miserable or just exercising, Grandin teaches us to challenge our assumptions about animal contentment and honor our bond with our fellow creatures.
Animals Make Us Human is the culmination of almost thirty years of research, experimentation, and experience.
This is essential reading for anyone who's ever owned, cared for, or simply cared about an animal.

Mammals of North America: Temperate and Arctic Regions
Mammals of North America
Temperate and Arctic Regions
Paperback      ISBN: 1554072336

An invaluable reference -- comprehensive, readable and filled with stunning color photographs.

This landmark reference by award-winning nature writer Adrian Forsyth includes scientific names, descriptions and behavioral information for the wild mammals of North America, but is much more than a field guide. In engaging language, the author delves into the reasons the animals live and act the way they do, explaining for example:

  • Why some predators are highly social while others live alone
  • Why shrews no bigger than a thimble eat more than their body weight each day
  • How a bat can pick a small insect off the surface of a leaf in total darkness
  • How a squat prehistoric pig-like animal evolved into the pronghorn antelope, one of the world's fastest creatures.

The text is illustrated with exquisite color photographs by some of North America's foremost wildlife photographers, making Mammals of North America an important nature reference for the entire family.