Agriculture and Farming
Featured Items
Too High To Fail: Cannabis and the New Green Economic Revolution
Too High To Fail
Cannabis and the New Green Economic Revolution
Hardcover      ISBN: 1592407099

The first in-depth look at the burgeoning legal cannabis industry and how the new green economy is shaping our country
The nation s economy is in trouble, but there s one cash crop that has the potential to turn it around: cannabis (also known as marijuana and hemp). According to "Time," the legal medicinal cannabis economy already generates $200 million annually in taxable proceeds from a mere two hundred thousand registered medical users in just fourteen states.
But, thanks to Nixon and the War on Drugs, cannabis is still synonymous with heroin on the federal level even though it has won mainstream acceptance nationwide.
ABC News reports that underground cannabis s $35.8 billion annual revenues already exceed the combined value of corn ($23.3 billion) and wheat ($7.5 billion). Considering the economic impact of Prohibition and its repeal "Too High to Fail" isn t a commune-dweller s utopian rant, it s an objectively (if humorously) reported account of how one plant can drastically change the shape of our country, culturally, politically, and economically.
"Too High to Fail" covers everything from a brief history of hemp to an insider s perspective on a growing season in Mendocino County, where cannabis drives 80 percent of the economy (to the tune of $6 billion annually). Investigative journalist Doug Fine follows one plant from seed to patient in the first American county to fully legalize and regulate cannabis farming. He profiles an issue of critical importance to lawmakers, media pundits, and ordinary Americans whether or not they inhale. It s a wild ride that includes swooping helicopters, college tuitions paid with cash, cannabis-friendly sheriffs, and never-before-gained access to the world of the emerging legitimate, taxpaying ganjaprenneur. "

Mapping the Farm: The Chronicle of a Family
Mapping the Farm
The Chronicle of a Family
1st Edition    Hardcover      ISBN: 0679430091

A study of America's vanishing country lifestyle focuses on a family farm, owned by a single family since 1880, near Rochester, Minnesota, capturing the good times, hardships, rituals of rural life, and dramatic changes that have made the farm's existence uncertain

The Good Food Revolution: Growing Healthy Food, People, and Communities
The Good Food Revolution
Growing Healthy Food, People, and Communities
Hardcover      ISBN: 1592407102

A pioneering urban farmer and MacArthur Genius Award winner points the way to building a new food system that can feed and heal broken communities.
The son of a sharecropper, Will Allen had no intention of ever becoming a farmer himself. But after years in professional basketball and as an executive for Kentucky Fried Chicken and Procter & Gamble, Allen cashed in his retirement fund for a two-acre plot a half mile away from Milwaukee s largest public housing project. The area was a food desert with only convenience stores and fast-food restaurants to serve the needs of local residents.
In the face of financial challenges and daunting odds, Allen built the country s preeminent urban farm a food and educational center that now produces enough vegetables and fish year-round to feed thousands of people. Employing young people from the neighboring housing project and community, Growing Power has sought to prove that local food systems can help troubled youths, dismantle racism, create jobs, bring urban and rural communities closer together, and improve public health. Today, Allen s organization helps develop community food systems across the country.
An eco-classic in the making, "The Good Food Revolution" is the story of Will s personal journey, the lives he has touched, and a grassroots movement that is changing the way our nation eats.
"

One-Woman Farm: My Life Shared with Sheep, Pigs, Chickens, Goats, and a Fine Fiddle
One-Woman Farm
My Life Shared with Sheep, Pigs, Chickens, Goats, and a Fine Fiddle
Hardcover      ISBN: 160342718x

In this inspiring memoir, Jenna Woginrich reflects on the joys, sorrows, trials, and blessings discovered through a year of homesteading. With eloquent prose, delightful illustrations, and inspiring snippets of poetry, Woginrich revels in the unique charms of each season on the land. Full of poignant observations and fascinating tidbits of farming lore, this book is a heartfelt testament to the deep fulfillment one can find in the practical tasks and timeless rituals of an agricultural life.

5-Gallon Bucket Book: DIY Projects, Hacks, and Upcycles
5-Gallon Bucket Book
DIY Projects, Hacks, and Upcycles
Paperback      ISBN: 0760347891

Five-gallon buckets are ubiquitous and cheap (indeed, they are often free). But did you know they can also be hacked, hot-rodded, reengineered, and upcycled to create dozens of useful DIY projects for homeowners, gardeners, small-scale farmers, and preppers?

5-Gallon Bucket Book contains 60+ ideas that put these humble and hard-working mainstays to work past their prime and keep them out of landfills. Simple step-by-step instructions, as well as parts lists and images of the completed projects, make sure you will have fun and love the results of your work.

Projects include perfect additions to your yard and garden, tools to care for your animals, useful innovations, handy home helpers, and even family-oriented designs

They range from simple things like chicken feeders to much more complex projects (small room air conditioner, anyone?). For anyone who doesn't already have fifteen of them cluttering up the garage, 5-Gallon Bucket Book also offers advice on where to get cheap and free buckets, and how to tell if a bucket is safe to use for food.
Chickens
Chickens
Paperback      ISBN: 0785833420

The chicken is one of the most familiar and ubiquitous of all the domestic animals, having been kept by humankind for thousands of years for its meat, eggs and feathers. It has also played and continues to play a part in religious ceremonies and other ancient rituals, aspects which are examined here. Today, chickens are found in almost every part of the world, and it is estimated that over 24 billion of them exist worldwide. Yet their exact origins are still open to conjecture, despite our long and mutual association, although they most likely stemmed from one of the breeds of Asian jungle fowl, to which many chickens bear a striking resemblance.

Chickens serves as a general introduction to the many aspects of keeping domestic chickens, examining their likely origins and relationship with their closest relatives among the gamebirds, while sections on bird biology and behavior highlight the similarities and differences between chickens and other birds, providing insights into the reasons why they behave as they do. Advice is also given on choosing a chicken and where to obtain one and housing, feeding, health, and general care is considered. To finish, a comprehensive description of many of the world's most popular breeds is also provided, which will simplify the task of choosing chickens of your own.

The Beekeeper's Lament: How One Man and Half a Billion Honey Bees Help Feed America
The Beekeeper's Lament
How One Man and Half a Billion Honey Bees Help Feed America
Paperback      ISBN: 006187325x

"You'llnever think of bees, their keepers, or the fruits (and nuts) of their laborsthe same way again." --Trevor Corson, author of The Secret Life of Lobsters

Award-winning journalist Hannah Nordhaus tells the remarkable story of John Miller, one of America's foremost migratory beekeepers, and the myriad and mysterious epidemics threatening American honeybee populations. In luminous, razor-sharp prose, Nordhaus explores the vital role that honeybees play in American agribusiness, the maintenance of our food chain, and the very future of the nation. With an intimate focus and incisive reporting, in a book perfect for fans of Eric Schlosser's Fast Food Nation, Michael Pollan's The Botany of Desire, and John McPhee's Oranges, Nordhaus's stunning expos illuminates one the most critical issues facing the world today, offering insight, information, and, ultimately, hope.

Keep Chickens!: Tending Small Flocks in Cities, Suburbs, and Other Small Spaces
Keep Chickens!
Tending Small Flocks in Cities, Suburbs, and Other Small Spaces
Paperback      ISBN: 1580174914

No matter how small your lot is, you can keep chickens and enjoy fresh eggs every morning. Barbara Kilarski shares her passion for poultry as she fills this guide with tips and techniques for successfully raising chickens in small spaces. Spotlighting the self-sufficient pleasures of tending your own flock, Kilarski offers detailed information on everything from choosing breeds that thrive in tight quarters and building coops to providing medical care for sick animals. You'll have fun as you keep happy and productive chickens.

Handy Farm Devices and How to Make Them.
Handy Farm Devices and How to Make Them.
Trade Paperback      ISBN: 1906621179

This is the quintessential text on how to build essential labour saving devices. It is an indispensible companion for farmers, smallholders, eco-communities and DIY enthusiasts.

The Organic Farming Manual: A Comprehensive Guide to Starting and Running a Certified Organic Farm
The Organic Farming Manual
A Comprehensive Guide to Starting and Running a Certified Organic Farm
Paperback      ISBN: 1603424792

Providing expert tips on tending the land, caring for animals, and necessary equipment, Ann Larkin Hansen also covers the intricate process of acquiring organic certification and other business considerations important to a profitable operation. Discover the rewarding satisfaction of running a successful and sustainable organic farm.