Agriculture and Farming
Featured Items
Harvest of Grief: Grasshopper Plagues and Public Assistance in Minnesota, 1873-78
Harvest of Grief
Grasshopper Plagues and Public Assistance in Minnesota, 1873-78
Hardcover      ISBN: 0873511719

Atkins eloquently portrays the extreme hardships of Minnesota farmers during the grasshopper plagues of the 1870s. She examines local, state, and national relief efforts, which she reviews in the context of 19th-century social welfare philosophy.

Build It!: DIY Projects for Farmers, Smallholders and Gardeners
Build It!
DIY Projects for Farmers, Smallholders and Gardeners
Paperback      ISBN: 1904871321

Using recycled materials where ever possible Build It provides step-by-step instructions for over 50 DIY projects for both inside and outside the home farm. Former engineer Joe Jacobs guides you through the equipment, the tools, the materials and the plans to provide you with inspiration and plenty of ideas. The projects include a polytunnel, beehives, chicken arks and runs, gates, hurdles and fencing, cloches, dog kennel, feed bins, a heat pump installation, a heated orphan lamb feeder, incubator, nesting boxes and renewable energy projects including solar panels and plenty more, making this an essential book for any keen DIY enthusiast with a basic knowledge of construction.

Successful Small-Scale Farming: An Organic Approach
Successful Small-Scale Farming
An Organic Approach
2nd Edition    Paperback      ISBN: 0882666428

Offering proven techniques and practical advice, this inspiring handbook covers all aspects of successfully running a small organic farm. With expert tips on everything from buying land to creating a niche market for your products, Karl Schwenke shows you how to naturally enrich your soil, acquire necessary equipment, consistently grow abundant crops, and manage farm finances. You'll enjoy learning essential skills like haying and fencing as you turn your organic farming dream into a profitable reality.

Shell Games: A True Story of Cops, Con Men, and the Smuggling of America's Strangest Wildlife
Shell Games
A True Story of Cops, Con Men, and the Smuggling of America's Strangest Wildlife
Paperback      ISBN: 0061537144

A unique blend of natural history and crime drama, Shell Games by Craig Welch is a riveting tale of rogues, scoundrels, and the hunt for nature's bounty in the tradition of The Orchid Thief. A stranger-than-fiction true story centered around a larger-than-life character who pursued a larger-than-life clam--the Geoduck--and then led wildlife police on a two-year-long chase, Shell Games is enthralling and remarkable from page one on.

The One-Straw Revolution: An Introduction to Natural Farming
The One-Straw Revolution
An Introduction to Natural Farming
Paperback      ISBN: 1590173139

Call it "Zen and the Art of Farming" or a "Little Green Book," Masanobu Fukuoka's manifesto about farming, eating, and the limits of human knowledge presents a radical challenge to the global systems we rely on for our food. At the same time, it is a spiritual memoir of a man whose innovative system of cultivating the earth reflects a deep faith in the wholeness and balance of the natural world. As Wendell Berry writes in his preface, the book "is valuable to us because it is at once practical and philosophical. It is an inspiring, necessary book about agriculture because it is not just about agriculture."

Trained as a scientist, Fukuoka rejected both modern agribusiness and centuries of agricultural practice, deciding instead that the best forms of cultivation mirror nature's own laws. Over the next three decades he perfected his so-called "do-nothing" technique: commonsense, sustainable practices that all but eliminate the use of pesticides, fertilizer, tillage, and perhaps most significantly, wasteful effort.

Whether you're a guerrilla gardener or a kitchen gardener, dedicated to slow food or simply looking to live a healthier life, you will find something here--you may even be moved to start a revolution of your own.
Indian Herbalogy of North America: The Definitive Guide to Native Medicinal Plants and Their Uses
Indian Herbalogy of North America
The Definitive Guide to Native Medicinal Plants and Their Uses
Paperback      ISBN: 0877736391

For more than twenty years this pioneering work had served as a bible for herbalists throughout the world. It is an illustrated encyclopedic guide to more than two hundred medicinal plants found in North America, with descriptions of each plant's appearance and uses, and directions for methods of use and dosage. Native American traditions are compared with traditional uses of the same plants among other cultures where the science of herbs has flourished, particularly in Russia and China. Included is an annotated bibliography of pertinent books and periodicals.

Enduring Seeds: Native American Agriculture and Wild Plant Conservation
Enduring Seeds
Native American Agriculture and Wild Plant Conservation
1st Edition    Paperback      ISBN: 0816522596
As biological diversity continues to shrink at an alarming rate, the loss of plant species poses a threat seemingly less visible than the loss of animals but in many ways more critical. In this book, one of America's leading ethnobotanists warns about our loss of natural vegetation and plant diversity while providing insights into traditional Native agricultural practices in the Americas.

Gary Paul Nabhan here reveals the rich diversity of plants found in tropical forests and their contribution to modern crops, then tells how this diversity is being lost to agriculture and lumbering. He then relates "local parables" of Native American agriculture--from wild rice in the Great Lakes region to wild gourds in Florida--that convey the urgency of this situation and demonstrate the need for saving the seeds of endangered plants. Nabhan stresses the need for maintaining a wide gene pool, not only for the survival of these species but also for the preservation of genetic strains that can help scientists breed more resilient varieties of other plants.

Enduring Seeds is a book that no one concerned with our environment can afford to ignore. It clearly shows us that, as agribusiness increasingly limits the food on our table, a richer harvest can be had by preserving ancient ways.

This edition features a new foreword by Miguel Altieri, one of today's leading spokesmen for sustainable agriculture and the preservation of indigenous farming methods.
Cotton: The Biography of a Revolutionary Fiber
Cotton
The Biography of a Revolutionary Fiber
Paperback      ISBN: 0143037226

In the tradition of Mark Kurlansky's Cod and Salt, this endlessly revealing book reminds us that the fiber we think of as ordinary is the world's most powerful cash crop, and that it has shaped the destiny of nations. Ranging from its domestication 5,500 years ago to its influence in creating Calvin Klein's empire and the Gap, Stephen Yafa's Cotton gives us an intimate look at the plant that fooled Columbus into thinking he'd reached India, that helped start the Industrial Revolution as well as the American Civil War, and that made at least one bug--the boll weevil--world famous. A sweeping chronicle of ingenuity, greed, conflict, and opportunism, Cotton offers "a barrage of fascinating information" (Los Angeles Times).

The Beekeeper's Lament: How One Man and Half a Billion Honey Bees Help Feed America
The Beekeeper's Lament
How One Man and Half a Billion Honey Bees Help Feed America
Paperback      ISBN: 006187325x

"You'llnever think of bees, their keepers, or the fruits (and nuts) of their laborsthe same way again." --Trevor Corson, author of The Secret Life of Lobsters

Award-winning journalist Hannah Nordhaus tells the remarkable story of John Miller, one of America's foremost migratory beekeepers, and the myriad and mysterious epidemics threatening American honeybee populations. In luminous, razor-sharp prose, Nordhaus explores the vital role that honeybees play in American agribusiness, the maintenance of our food chain, and the very future of the nation. With an intimate focus and incisive reporting, in a book perfect for fans of Eric Schlosser's Fast Food Nation, Michael Pollan's The Botany of Desire, and John McPhee's Oranges, Nordhaus's stunning expos illuminates one the most critical issues facing the world today, offering insight, information, and, ultimately, hope.

Secret Ingredients: The Brave New World of Industrial Farming
Secret Ingredients
The Brave New World of Industrial Farming
Paperback      ISBN: 0771045964
You are what you eat, but do you know what is in the food you're eating - or how it's grown?

Chicken, corn, potatoes, a slice of bread, and a glass of milk. Where does a meal like this come from? Who and what is involved in getting it to your table? Most Canadians don't know - and will be shocked to find out that, while we were snacking, farming has been transformed. Today, once-independent farmers work on contract for huge food corporations, growing genetically modified food in soil saturated with chemicals. Farming is big business and has become a matter of world trade regulations that favour global corporations. Laidlaw, in investigating the state of modern farming, uncovers many shocking practices, from pesticide use so severe it causes massive fish kills in PEI rivers to the transformation of small prairie abattoirs into vast, industrial slaughterhouses dependent on minimum-wage immigrant workers. Secret Ingredients brings a whole new dimension to the age-old question of what to have for dinner tonight.