Religious Art
Buddhas of the Celestial Gallery
Buddhas of the Celestial Gallery
Hardcover      ISBN: 1608871703

The third edition in the Celestial Gallery series, Buddhas of the Celestial Gallery collects Romio Shrestha's rarest and previously unpublished t'angkas, surveying the many incarnations of the Buddha.

In the tradition of Celestial Gallery and Goddesses of the Celestial Gallery, Romio Shrestha's latest art book gathers striking Tibetan-style mandala paintings featuring the Buddha. These hauntingly powerful paintings depict the life of the deity in eloquent detail and render postmodern interpretations of an age-old Tibetan artistic tradition in which images are painstakingly created using malachite, lapis, and marigolds, and painted at times with three hairs of a cat's tail. These exquisite portrayals of the celestial spheres, known as mandalas, invite viewers to meditate on the Buddha's message of love, completion, and connectedness. Also available in a lavishly illustrated oversize edition.

Buddhas of the Celestial Gallery: The Poster Collection
Buddhas of the Celestial Gallery
The Poster Collection
Paperback      ISBN: 1608876896

Transcend into the celestial sphere with these meditative and spiritually rich paintings depicting intricate mandalas and divine Buddhas created in the traditional Tibetan thangka style.

Buddhism Illuminated: Manuscript Art from South-East Asia
Buddhism Illuminated
Manuscript Art from South-East Asia
Hardcover      ISBN: 0295743786

Buddhist temples in Southeast Asia are centers for the preservation of local artistic traditions. Chief among these are manuscripts, a vital source for our understanding of Buddhist ideas and practices in the region. They are also a beautiful art form, too little understood in the West.

The British Library has one of the richest collections of Southeast Asian manuscripts, principally from Thailand and Burma, anywhere in the world. It includes finely painted copies of Buddhist scriptures, literary works, historical narratives, and works on traditional medicine, law, cosmology, and fortune-telling. Buddhism Illuminated includes over one hundred examples of Buddhist art from the Library's collection, relating each manuscript to Theravada tradition and beliefs, and introducing the historical, artistic, and religious contexts of their production. It is the first book in English to showcase the beauty and variety of Buddhist manuscript art and reproduces many works that have never before been photographed.

Celestial Gallery: The Poster Collection, Volume I
Celestial Gallery
The Poster Collection, Volume I
Paperback      ISBN: 1608876101

Painter Romio Shrestha, a modern master of traditional Tibetan Buddhist enlightenment and deity art, is known for his complex and sacred designs, highlighted here in beautiful detail through these forty removable and frameable illustrations.

Romio Shrestha's depictions of White Tara, Green Tara, the Medicine Buddha, and many other celestials invite meditation and reflection. The original artworks were made from natural ingredients like marigolds and hand-ground malachite and lapis, and were painted at times with just three hairs of a cat's tail. Each work of art took months to create and is reproduced here in hauntingly powerful detail.

Celestial Gallery: The Poster Collection, Volume I brings the most popular and breathtaking paintings from Shrestha'sCelestial Gallery series into a new poster format. The large size and full-color printing allows for a greater appreciation of the intricate details in each piece, and the removable pages make it easier than ever to display these beautiful paintings throughout the home and office.

Chalk It Up to Grace: A Chalkboard Coloring Book of Removable Wall Art Prints, Perfect with Colored Pencils and Markers
Chalk It Up to Grace
A Chalkboard Coloring Book of Removable Wall Art Prints, Perfect with Colored Pencils and Markers
Paperback      ISBN: 1944515283

An all-new inspirational coloring book from chalk artist Shannon Roberts, Chalk it Up to Grace features your favorite uplifting Bible verses and reminders, such as:

  • Sweet words are like honey to the soul (Proverbs 16:24)
  • Have faith in God's timing
  • Love never fails (1 Corinthians 13:8)
  • And many more

Shannon combines her beautiful chalk art with Scripture in this unique, chalkboard-themed coloring book. Every page is designed to help you reflect on the beauty of Scripture and bring it to life through coloring. Color with high quality art supplies including colored pencils, markers and gel pens.

    Both 8 x 10 and 5 x 7 designs, perfect for framing Printed on thick, premium-quality paper Perforated edges for easy removal and framing Provides hours of stress relief, mindful calm, and self-expression with inspirational Scripture and soothing patterns
Chartres Cathedral
Chartres Cathedral
Paperback      ISBN: 0393314383

Each volume includes all the necessary materials for the comprehensive study of a work of art:

  • An illustration section showing the complete work of art, details, preliminary studies, and iconographic sources;
  • An introductory essay by the editor;
  • Documents and literary sources;
  • Critical essays from the art-historical literature.
Christian Art: A Very Short Introduction
Christian Art
A Very Short Introduction
Paperback      ISBN: 019280328x

This Very Short Introduction decodes the key themes, signs, and symbols found in Christian art: the Eucharist, the image of the Crucifixion, the Virgin Mary, the Saints, Old and New Testament narrative imagery, and iconography. It also explores the theological and historical background of Christian imagery, from the devotional works of the Medieval and Renaissance periods, to the twenty-first century.
Williamson uses examples from, amongst others, Cimabue, Michelangelo, and Rosetti. She concludes by outlining the co-existence in contemporary 'post-Christian' culture of the deliberately controversial works of artists such as Andres Serrano and Chris Ofili, alongside the consciously devotional works of those such as Eric Gill and Peter Blake.

The Christian Year in Painting
The Christian Year in Painting
Hardcover      ISBN: 1908970340

The stories of Christianity and painting have been intertwined since at least the Middle Ages. The painters of the early, high and late Renaissance in Italy, Spain and northern Europe learned their art and craft while working in the service of both the Church and devout patrons, producing depictions of scenes from the Bible and the lives of the saints for the benefit and instruction of clergy and worshippers alike.

This book follows a course through the Christian year--from Advent and the Christmas season, through Holy Week and Easter and the periods of Ordinary Time--to present 30 works celebrating the key events and festivals of the liturgical calendar by some of the best-known names from art history. Vel zquez, Piero della Francesca, Rembrandt, Raphael, Giotto, Titian and Caravaggio are just some of the many celebrated artists included in the book with their representations of feasts such as the Immaculate Conception, the Annunciation, the Nativity, the Crucifixion, the Resurrection, Pentecost and All Saints.

Historian John S. Dixon guides the reader by offering detailed analysis of the formal qualities and symbolism of each painting, while outlining the biblical stories that inspired their creation and explaining their religious and art historical significance. Full illustrations and close-up details of the featured works are accompanied by comparative illustrations of paintings and sculptures of the subjects by other masters. This beautiful book will enable all lovers of painting, both Christian and non-Christian, to expand their appreciation of these magnificent works of art.

The Cistercian Arts: From the 12th to the 21st Century
The Cistercian Arts
From the 12th to the 21st Century
Hardcover      ISBN: 0773544127

The phenomenon of the Cistercian Order occupies a key place in the history of Western culture as it grew to dominate reformed European monasticism in the high middle ages. The transition from the Romanesque to Gothic styles occurred in the twelfth century when the order was expanding most dramatically. With sharp, clean lines, and minimal decor, its architecture was designed to reflect the simplicity and austerity required for this experiment in monastic life. An important reference work, The Cistercian Arts offers insights into a contemplative order that expanded from its modest origins in the Burgundian heartland to encompass six continents. Under the supervision of Terryl Kinder and Roberto Cassanelli, the theological and spiritual aspects and material culture of the Cistercian world are analyzed in depth by more than thirty international specialists in a forty-chapter overview. Music, libraries, water management, metallurgy, farming, liturgical arts, sacred reading, and many other facets of monastic life are traced from the founding of the order in 1098 to the present day. While the Cistercian Order grew to include approximately 1,700 abbeys for men and women, it did not end with the middle ages, and architecture was not its only manifestation. This exquisitely illustrated volume shows how the many arts created by and for Cistercian abbeys continued well beyond the medieval period.

Close Encounters between Bible and Film: An Interdisciplinary Engagement
Close Encounters between Bible and Film
An Interdisciplinary Engagement
Hardcover      ISBN: 0884141977

This volume showcases the divergent approaches from film studies and cultural studies that can be used in the visual analysis of biblical and religious themes, narratives, and characters in cinema. It is the first volume that specifically addresses issues of methodology, theory and analysis in the study between bible and film. As such, this collection is of interest to scholars in Film Studies and Theology/Religion/Biblical Studies, who are invested in doing interdisciplinary research in the expanding field of religion and film.