Photography Anthologies
#Girlgaze: How Girls See the World
#Girlgaze
How Girls See the World
Hardcover      ISBN: 0847860892
For women, by women, and about women, this is an empowering and effortlessly cool collection of images taken by a new generation of female photographers and Instagrammers. Amanda de Cadenet blazes a new trail for women image makers with a hip, accessible, spirited book, offering a collection of works by young up-and-coming female photographers from all over the world who capture how young women see other women, the space around them, and themselves. In a world where young women are bombarded with overfiltered selfies and skewed perceptions of what it is to be a girl, #girlgaze is a powerful collection of deeply authentic images that show how young women photographers perceive the world. The book weaves together candid and formal photos of women living their lives: capturing their friends and loved ones; creating gorgeous portraits of the people they admire; and catching a significant moment on city streets, remote countrysides, in their war-torn countries, or intimately at home. The book includes contributions by real-world visionaries, whether in fashion or documentary photography, in front of the camera or behind it. Spirited and inspiring, #girlgaze is sure to appeal to photography fans and women of all ages. .
100 Days in Photographs: Pivotal Events That Changed the World
100 Days in Photographs
Pivotal Events That Changed the World
Hardcover      ISBN: 1426201974
More than three hundred photographs from the archives of Getty Images and National Geographic capture one hundred days that represent pivotal moments of the past 150 years, including Lincoln's assassination, the 1929 Wall Street crash, Kristallnacht, Chernobyl, September 11, and other events and personalities who shaped the world. 125,000 first printing.
100 Jahre 100 Bilder: Eine Geschichte Der Fotografie
100 Jahre 100 Bilder
Eine Geschichte Der Fotografie
German    Hardcover      ISBN: 3905514923
The 100 Photographs That Changed the World
The 100 Photographs That Changed the World
Hardcover      ISBN: 8854410802
Great moments in history captured in 100 photographs! From the opening of King Tut’s tomb to the Wright Brothers’ first flight, from the mushroom cloud made by the atomic bomb in Nagasaki to the first moon landing, these 100 pictures record some of history’s most iconic moments. They remind us that photography not only chronicles major events around the world, but also serves as a means of raising awareness and changing public opinion. This expertly collated book, which includes detailed commentary on each image, is truly unmissable.

20 Twenty
20 Twenty
Hardcover      ISBN: 1881337073
200 Women: who will change the way you see the world
200 Women
who will change the way you see the world
Hardcover      ISBN: 1452166587
Two hundred women from a variety of backgrounds are asked the same five questions. Their answers are inspiring human stories of success and courage, love and pain, redemption and generosity. From well-known activists, artists, and innovators to everyday women whose lives are no less exceptional for that, each woman shares her unique replies to questions like "What really matters to you?" and "What would you change in the world if you could?" Interviewees include Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg, actor and human rights activist Alfre Woodard, and Nobel Peace laureate Rigoberta Menchu, along with those who are making a difference behind the scenes around the world, such as Marion Wright Edelman, head of the Children's Defense Fund. Each interview is accompanied by a photographic portrait, resulting in a volume that is compelling in word and image—and global in its scope and resonance. This landmark book is published to coincide with an immersive traveling exhibition and an interactive website, building on this remarkable, ever-evolving project. With responses ranging from uplifting to heartbreaking, these women offer gifts of empowerment and strength—inviting us to bring positive change at a time when so many are fighting for basic freedom and equality.
200 Women: Who Will Change the Way You See the World
200 Women
Who Will Change the Way You See the World
Paperback      ISBN: 1452184658
In this ambitious global project, two hundred women share inspiring stories of success and courage, love and pain, redemption, and generosity. This updated, abridged edition includes powerful new interviews and stirring quotes alongside selections from the original book, all answering the same five questions. Presented in an accessible, chunky paperback brimming with stunning photographs and empowering stories, this new edition is an illuminating read for the modern woman and a lovely gift for mothers, sisters, daughters, and friends. • Equality is explored through diverse interviews with women from around the world • Brave insightful interviews with women -- famous as well as unknown, rich and poor, black and white, leaders, victims, survivors and heroes • Women featured include Angela Davis, Alice Waters, Amber Heard, and Isabel Allende Fans of In the Company of Women, The Atlas of Beauty, and Bad Girls Throughout History will love this book. This book is perfect for: • Fine art photography buffs • Portraits book fans • Community organizers
20th Century Photography
20th Century Photography
Hardcover      ISBN: 3836541025
"Defining images of photographic art in this century which kept me turning the 750+ pages with enthusiasm for many an hour." -Photo Art International, United Kingdom The history of photography began over a century and a half ago, but only relatively recently has it been fully recognised as a medium in its own right. Cologne's Museum Ludwig was the first museum of contemporary art to devote a substantial section to international photography. The L. Fritz Gruber collection, from which this book is drawn, is one of the most important in Germany and one of the most representative anywhere in the world, constituting the core of the museum's holdings. This book provides a fascinating insight into the collection's rich diversity; from conceptual art to abstraction to reportage, all of the major movements and genres are represented via a vast selection of the century's most remarkable photographs. From Ansel Adams to Piet Zwart, over 850 works are presented in alphabetical order by photographer, with descriptive texts and photographers' biographical details, providing a comprehensive and indispensable overview of 20th century photography. Edited by the Museum Ludwig Cologne The authors: Reinhold Mißelbeck, Marianne Bieger-Thielemann, Gérard A. Goodrow, Lilian Haberer, Ute Pröllochs, Anke Solbrig, Thomas von Taschitzki, and Nina Zschocke.
@Natgeo: The Most Popular Instagram Photos
@Natgeo
The Most Popular Instagram Photos
Hardcover      ISBN: 1426217102
Presents the most liked and commented on photographs from National Geographic's Instagram account.
The Allen Sisters: Pictorial Photographers 1885-1920
The Allen Sisters
Pictorial Photographers 1885-1920
Hardcover      ISBN: 1882374045
Working within the aesthetic of the Arts and Crafts Movement, Frances Stebbins Allen & Mary Electa Allen created photographs of New England country life, figure and child studies, and landscapes of New England, Great Britain, and California. Their Pictorial photographs were included in such important turn-of-the-century exhibitions as The Washington Salon and Art Photograhic Exhibition, 1896; Third International Congress of Photography, Paris, 1900; Third Philadelphia Photographic Salon 1900; Canadian Pictorialist Exhibition, Montreal, 1907; and Art Crafts 7th Annual Exhibition, The Art Institute of Chicago, 1908. Although the Allen sisters were once praised as being among "The Foremost Women Photographers in America," few people today have seen their photographs. Based largely on new or long-unseen material, this biography is accompanied by 100 tritone plates and 40 duotone images.