Scotland
Call the Nurse: True Stories of a Country Nurse on a Scottish Isle (the Country Nurse Series, Book One)
Call the Nurse
True Stories of a Country Nurse on a Scottish Isle (the Country Nurse Series, Book One)
Paperback      ISBN: 1628725125
For fans of James Herriot and Call the Midwife. A Wall Street Journal Bestseller. Over 100,000 sold. Gaelic fortitude meets a nurse's compassion in these wonderful true stories from rural Scotland.

"Julia MacLeod shares unique and enchanting experiences as a nurse in rural Scotland. Her stories will ring true with every nurse--or anyone--who has ever cared for a family or a community, whether in Scotland or America. Call the Nurse is a delightful read." --LeAnn Thieman, author Chicken Soup for the Nurse's Soul

Tired of the pace and noise of life near London and longing for a better place to raise their young children, Mary J. MacLeod (known to all as Julia) and her husband encountered their dream while vacationing on a remote island in the Scottish Hebrides. Enthralled by its windswept beauty, they soon were the proud owners of a near-derelict croft house--a farmer's stone cottage--on "a small acre" of land.

Mary assumed duties as the island's district nurse. Call the Nurse is her account of the first enchanted years she and her family spent there, coming to know its folk as both patients and friends.

Call the Nurse is a treasure of sweet nostalgia.
A Charmed Life: Growing Up in Macbeth's Castle
A Charmed Life
Growing Up in Macbeth's Castle
Paperback      ISBN: 0312384963

A Charmed Life tells the story of Liza Campbell, the last child to be born at the impressive and renowned Cawdor Castle, the same locale featured in Shakespeare's Macbeth. It was at the historical ancestral home that Liza's seemingly idyllic fairytale childhood began to resemble a nightmare.
Increasingly overwhelmed by his enormous responsibilities, Liza's father Hugh, the twenty-fifth Thane of Cawdor, tipped into madness fueled by drink, drugs, and extramarital affairs. Over the years, the castle was transformed into an arena of reckless extravagance and terrifying domestic violence, as Liza and her siblings watched their father destroy himself, his family, and their centuries-old legacy.
Painstakingly honest, thoroughly entertaining, and sharply written, Campbell's contemporary fairytale tells of growing up as a maiden in a castle where ancient curses and grisly events from centuries ago live on between its stone walls.
" A] courageous memoir . . . a page turner set among moats, drawbridges, and portcullises both real and metaphorical." --Vogue
"Superbly written." --Harper's Bazaar
"Poignant . . . lovely." --Entertainment Weekly
"Edged with relentless wit . . . A Charmed Life is a] nightmarish memoir that gives fiction a run for its money." --Kirkus Reviews
"Intriguing... a] highly readable story...extraordinary." --Tucson Citizen

The Crofter and the Laird
The Crofter and the Laird
Paperback      ISBN: 0374514658

When John McPhee returned to the island of his ancestors--Colonsay, twenty-five miles west of the Scottish mainland--a hundred and thirty-eight people were living there. About eighty of these, crofters and farmers, had familial histories of unbroken residence on the island for two or three hundred years; the rest, including the English laird who owned Colonsay, were "incomers." Donald McNeill, the crofter of the title, was working out his existence in this last domain of the feudal system; the laird, the fourth Baron Strathcona, lived in Bath, appeared on Colonsay mainly in the summer, and accepted with nonchalance the fact that he was the least popular man on the island he owned. While comparing crofter and laird, McPhee gives readers a deep and rich portrait of the terrain, the history, the legends, and the people of this fragment of the Hebrides.

The Highland Clans
The Highland Clans
Paperback      ISBN: 0500290849

Alistair Moffat traces the history of the clans from their Celtic origins to the coming of the Romans; from Somerled the Viking to Robert the Bruce; from the great battles of Bannockburn and Flodden to Bonnie Prince Charlie and the Jacobite Risings; and from the Clearances to the present day.
Moffat is an adept guide to the world of the clans, a world dominated by lineage, land, and community. These are stories of great leaders and famous battles, and of an extraordinary people, shaped by the unique traditions and landscape of the Scottish Highlands. It's a story too about the pain of leaving, with the great emigrations to the United States, Canada, Australia, and New Zealand that began after Culloden.

Complete with a clan map and an alphabetical list of the clans of the Scottish Highlands, this is a must for anyone interested in the history of Scotland.


Highland Furies: The Black Watch 1739-1899
Highland Furies
The Black Watch 1739-1899
Hardcover      ISBN: 1849165505

As the oldest of the Highland Regiments, The Black Watch has an enviable roster of Battle Honours and a mystique born of repeated service on behalf of King, Queen and country.

On the strength of her acclaimed biography of Field Marshal Earl Wavell, the regimental trustees commissioned Victoria Schofield to write this, the first volume of her magisterial history of the The Black Watch, and have fully cooperated with her as she traces the story of the Regiment from its early 18th-century beginnings through to the eve of the South African War at the end of the 19th-century.

Originating as companies of highland men raised to keep a 'watch' over the Highlands of Scotland, they were formed into a regiment in 1739. Its soldiers would go on to fight with extraordinary bravery and (c)lan in almost every major engagement fought by the British Army during this period, from the American War of Independence, the Peninsular Wars, Waterloo, the Crimea, Indian Mutiny to Egypt and the Sudan.

Drawing on diaries, letters and memoirs, Victoria Schofield skilfully weaves the multiple strands of this story into an epic narrative of a valiant body of officers and men over one-and-a-half centuries. In her sure hands, the story of The Black Watch is no arid recitation of campaigns, dates and battle honours, but is instead a rich and compelling record of the soldier's experience under fire and on campaign. It is also a celebration of the deeds of a regiment that has played a unique role in British history and a vivid insight into the lives of the many remarkable figures who have marched and fought so proudly under its Colours.
A History of Everyday Life in Scotland: 1800 to 1900
A History of Everyday Life in Scotland
1800 to 1900
Paperback      ISBN: 0748621709

This volume covers the nineteenth century, a period of profound change in Scottish history.

How the Scots Invented the Modern World: The True Story of How Western Europe's Poorest Nation Created Our World and Everything in It
How the Scots Invented the Modern World
The True Story of How Western Europe's Poorest Nation Created Our World and Everything in It
Paperback      ISBN: 0609809997
An exciting account of the origins of the modern world

Who formed the first literate society? Who invented our modern ideas of democracy and free market capitalism? The Scots. As historian and author Arthur Herman reveals, in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries Scotland made crucial contributions to science, philosophy, literature, education, medicine, commerce, and politics--contributions that have formed and nurtured the modern West ever since.

Herman has charted a fascinating journey across the centuries of Scottish history. Here is the untold story of how John Knox and the Church of Scotland laid the foundation for our modern idea of democracy; how the Scottish Enlightenment helped to inspire both the American Revolution and the U.S. Constitution; and how thousands of Scottish immigrants left their homes to create the American frontier, the Australian outback, and the British Empire in India and Hong Kong.

How the Scots Invented the Modern World reveals how Scottish genius for creating the basic ideas and institutions of modern life stamped the lives of a series of remarkable historical figures, from James Watt and Adam Smith to Andrew Carnegie and Arthur Conan Doyle, and how Scottish heroes continue to inspire our contemporary culture, from William "Braveheart" Wallace to James Bond.

And no one who takes this incredible historical trek will ever view the Scots--or the modern West--in the same way again.
In Freedom's Cause: A Story of Wallace and Bruce
In Freedom's Cause
A Story of Wallace and Bruce
Paperback      ISBN: 048642362x

At the end of the thirteenth century, the oppressed people of Scotland rebelled against their despised English ruler, Edward Longshanks. In Freedom's Cause recounts the Scots' desperate but ultimately triumphant struggle in the face of overwhelming odds -- a hard-fought series of battles conducted under the leadership of William Wallace and Robert Bruce.
Time has burnished the feats of these great heroes to mythic proportions, but Wallace and Bruce were real people. This gripping tale of courage, loyalty, and ingenuity recounts their deeds within an accurate historical context. Readers join their company alongside a fictional protagonist, young Archie Forbes, whose estates have been wrongfully confiscated. Archie forms a group of scouts to fight alongside the legendary Scottish chieftains (who were memorably portrayed in the film Braveheart) for their country's independence.
In Freedom's Cause is one among the many historical novels for young readers by George Alfred Henty. A storyteller who specialized in blending authentic historical facts with exciting fictional characters, Henty produced more than 140 books and achieved a reputation as The Prince of Storytellers. Immensely popular and widely used in schools for many years, Henty's novels continue to fire young imaginations with their spirited tales of adventure amid exciting historical eras.

Land of the Gods: How a Scottish Landscape Was Sanctified to Become Arthur's
Land of the Gods
How a Scottish Landscape Was Sanctified to Become Arthur's "Camelot"
Paperback      ISBN: 193188269x
The Lighthouse: The Mystery of the Eilean Mor Lighthouse Keepers
The Lighthouse
The Mystery of the Eilean Mor Lighthouse Keepers
Paperback      ISBN: 0750953659

What really happened to the mysteriously vanished lighthouse keepers of the Flannan Isles--a true story, evocative of The Shining

On December 26, 1900, the vessel Hesperus arrived at Eilean Mor in the remote Outer Hebrides with relief lighthouse men and fresh provisions. Staffed by three keepers, the lighthouse had been in operation for a year, but no light had been seen from Eilean Mor for 10 days. Upon arrival, the superintendent, Robert Muirhead, found the lighthouse to be completely deserted, and a subsequent search of the surrounding island failed to show any sign of what happened to the keepers. The last entry in the lighthouse logbook had been made on December 15, and contained a number of strange and distressing entries that offered clues as to the mental state of the men. One was reported to have been crying, while another had become "very quiet." When it was revealed that the men's oilskin coats were missing and the clock in the lighthouse had stopped, inevitable theories surrounding the keepers' fates were soon put forward. These included a giant wave washing them away, murder and suicide by the men themselves, and more esoteric explanations, as Eilean Mor was believed to have mystical properties. This book explores this mysterious and chilling story in depth for the first time and reveals a shocking conclusion.