Addiction and Recovery
Featured Items
Escape from Intimacy: Untangling the ``love'' Addictions: Sex, Romance, Relationships
Escape from Intimacy: Untangling the ``love'' Addictions
Sex, Romance, Relationships
Paperback      ISBN: 0062548735

Schaef applies the addictions of sex, love, romance, and relationships to her broader addiction theory and clearly defines and contrasts the relationship addictions.

Living with the Passive-Aggressive Man
Living with the Passive-Aggressive Man
Paperback      ISBN: 0671870742

With more than 100,000 copies in print, Living with the Passive-Aggressive Man draws on case histories from clinical psychologist Scott Wetzler's practice to help you identify the destructive behavior, the root causes and motivations, and solutions.

Do you know one of these men?

The catch-me-if-you-can lover...

Phil's romantic and passionate one minute, distant and cold the next.

The deviously manipulative coworker or boss...

Jack denies resenting Nora's rapid rise in the company, but when they're assigned to work together on a project, he undermines her.

The obstructionist, procrastinating husband...

Bob keeps telling his wife he'll finish the painting job he began years ago, but he never seems to get around to it.

These are all classic examples of the passive-aggressive man. This personality syndrome--in which hostility wears a mask of passivity--is currently the number one source of men's problems in relationships and on the job. In Living with the Passive-Aggressive Man, Scott Wetzler draws upon numerous case histories from his own practice to explain how and why the passive-aggressive man thinks, feels, and acts the way he does. Dr. Wetzler also offers advice on:

- How to avoid playing victim, manager, or rescuer to the "P-A"
- How to get his anger and fear into the open
- How to help the "P-A" become a better lover, husband, and father
- How to survive passive-aggressive game playing on the job

Living with a man's passive aggression can be an emotional seesaw ride. But armed with this book, you can avoid the bumpy landings.
Dr. Bob and the Good Oldtimers: A Biography, With Recollections of Early A.A. in the Midwest/B-8
Dr. Bob and the Good Oldtimers
A Biography, With Recollections of Early A.A. in the Midwest/B-8
Hardcover      ISBN: 0916856070
Breaking Free from Emotional Eating
Breaking Free from Emotional Eating
Paperback      ISBN: 0452284910
#1 New York Times bestselling author of Women Food and God

There is an end to the anguish of emotional eating--and this book explains how to achieve it. Geneen Roth, whose Feeding the Hungry Heart and When Food Is Love have brought understanding and acceptance to tens of thousands of readers over the last two decades, here outlines her proven program for resolving the conflicts at the root of overeating. Using simple techniques developed in her highly successful seminars, she offers reassuring, practical advice on:

- Learning to recognize the signals of physical hunger
- Eating without distraction
- Knowing when to stop
- Kicking the scale-watching habit
- Withstanding social and family pressures

And many more strategies to help you break the binge-diet cycle--forever.
Breaking Night: A Memoir of Forgiveness, Survival, and My Journey from Homeless to Harvard
Breaking Night
A Memoir of Forgiveness, Survival, and My Journey from Homeless to Harvard
Hardcover      ISBN: 0786868910

In the vein of The Glass Castle, Breaking Night is the stunning memoir of a young woman who at age fifteen was living on the streets, and who eventually made it into Harvard.

Liz Murray was born to loving but drug-addicted parents in the Bronx. In school she was taunted for her dirty clothing and lice-infested hair, eventually skipping so many classes that she was put into a girls' home. At age fifteen, Liz found herself on the streets when her family finally unraveled. She learned to scrape by, foraging for food and riding subways all night to have a warm place to sleep.

When Liz's mother died of AIDS, she decided to take control of her own destiny and go back to high school, often completing her assignments in the hallways and subway stations where she slept. Liz squeezed four years of high school into two, while homeless; won a New York Times scholarship; and made it into the Ivy League. Breaking Night is an unforgettable and beautifully written story of one young woman's indomitable spirit to survive and prevail, against all odds.
It Will Never Happen to Me: Growing Up With Addiction As Youngsters, Adolescents, Adults
It Will Never Happen to Me
Growing Up With Addiction As Youngsters, Adolescents, Adults
2nd Edition    Paperback      ISBN: 1568387989

With her reassuring and informative approach, Claudia Black expertly identifies common issues faced by children who grew up in alcoholic families--shame, neglect, unreasonable role expectations, and physical abuse.

First published 20 years ago, It Will Never Happen to Me is the definitive book/workbook for adult children of alcoholics.With her reassuring and informative approach, Claudia Black expertly identifies common issues faced by children who grew up in alcoholic families--shame, neglect, unreasonable role expectations, and physical abuse. Using narratives and profiles, she describes survival techniques characteristic of children raised in alcoholic families, including the unspoken laws of don't talk, don't trust, and don't feel. First explaining how such learned responses cause difficulties in adulthood, Black carefully guides readers in identifying self-defeating, destructive behaviors and finding a healthier, happier way to live.Key features and benefits: a proven seller by a respected recovery authorcontains easy-to-follow, useful exercisescan be used by individuals or in a therapeutic setting.
The Promise of a New Day: A Book of Daily Meditations
The Promise of a New Day
A Book of Daily Meditations
Paperback      ISBN: 0894862030

With more than 300,000 copies sold, this acclaimed book of meditations is the perfect companion for anyone looking to add a moment of peace and self-reflection to their days.

Some of us are recovering from addiction, trauma, codependency, or a mental health disorder. Others of us are simply looking to slow down our hectic lives and focus on personal growth and self-care. No matter what our reason for seeking wisdom and inspiration, a daily meditation practice can be an invaluable tool for our journey.

This collection of engaging, healing, and practical meditations by trusted recovery authors Karen Casey and Martha Vanceburg reminds us that each day is an opportunity to be fully present and live our best lives. Complete with inspiring quotations from diverse voices and daily lessons on replacing shame and fear with hope and self-love, The Promise of a New Day is the perfect meaningful gift for a loved one or ourselves.
Animals and Psychedelics: The Natural World and the Instinct to Alter Consciousness
Animals and Psychedelics
The Natural World and the Instinct to Alter Consciousness
Paperback      ISBN: 0892819863

An Italian ethnobotanist explores the remarkable propensity of wild animals to seek out and use psychoactive substances.

- Throws out behaviorist theories that claim animals have no consciousness.

- Offers a completely new understanding of the role psychedelics play in the development of consciousness in all species.

- Reveals drug use to be a natural instinct.

From caffeine-dependent goats to nectar addicted ants, the animal kingdom offers amazing examples of wild animals and insects seeking out and consuming the psychoactive substances in their environments. Author Giorgio Samorini explores this little-known phenomenon and suggests that, far from being confined to humans, the desire to experience altered states of consciousness is a natural drive shared by all living beings and that animals engage in these behaviors deliberately. Rejecting the Western cultural assumption that using drugs is a negative action or the result of an illness, Samorini opens our eyes to the possibility that beings who consume psychedelics--whether humans or animals--contribute to the evolution of their species by creating entirely new patterns of behavior that eventually will be adopted by other members of that species. The author's fascinating accounts of mushroom-loving reindeer, intoxicated birds, and drunken elephants ensure that readers will never view the animal world in quite the same way again.
It Will Never Happen to Me
It Will Never Happen to Me
Paperback      ISBN: 0910223009

Offers personal advice for the children of alcoholics and discusses the family relationships of alcoholics

Overcoming Binge Eating
Overcoming Binge Eating
Paperback      ISBN: 0898621798

Written by Dr. Christopher Fairburn, an international expert on eating disorders, this unique book provides clinicians, sufferers, and interested others with an authoritative and accessible account on binge eating problems.
Overcoming Binge Eating provides all the information needed to understand the problem and bring it under control. Dispelling many of the myths associated with binge eating, Part One provides a comprehensive and up-to-date account of current knowledge about binge eating problems. Chapters address such issues as:

* Who binges and why
* How binge eating differs from everyday overeating
* Whether binge eating is an addiction
* How binge eating affects people emotionally and physically
* Ways those who binge can gain control

Part Two of the book is a new self-help program based on the most effective strategies for binge eating problems. Designed to be used on its own or in conjunction with therapy, the program provides step-by-step guidance for:

* Overcoming the urge to binge
* Gaining control of eating behavior
* Reducing the risk of relapse
* Establishing stable, healthy eating habits

Presenting the most up-to-date information, as well as an effective program for treating those who binge eat, this book will be used by clinicians both as a comprehensive reference and as recommended reading for clients. Offering inspiration and insight, this book will help your clients empower themselves to deal with their binge eating problems, as well as the shame and isolation that characterize them.