Cycling
Featured Items
Zinn's Cycling Primer: Maintenance Tips & Skill Building for Cyclists
Zinn's Cycling Primer
Maintenance Tips & Skill Building for Cyclists
Paperback      ISBN: 1931382433
A builder of bicycle frames and a technical writer offers tips, techniques, and special projects designed to improve cycling performance, including advice on how to improve pedal performance and instructions for building a disc brake rear wheel. Original.
Bicycle
Bicycle
Paperback      ISBN: 1905490534
Which bike is right for me? How can I avoid getting knocked off? How can I buy a good secondhand bike? Do I need to wear a helmet? Must I don a luminous tabard? How do I thwart a bike thief? How can I cycle and transport my child/laptop/suit? This title features tips on cycling. It teaches you how to stay safe while on the road.
Pedal Power: The Quiet Rise of the Bicycle in American Public Life
Pedal Power
The Quiet Rise of the Bicycle in American Public Life
Paperback      ISBN: 1594514631
This book examines the surging national interest in bike-friendly public policies and argues that this growth is likely to escalate. Currents in U.S. culture that have supported the dominance of the car are edging toward exhaustion. At the same time, other factors including congestion, contentious and unreliable energy resources, rising pollution, and global warming support the expansion of the bike's use. A surprising array of political organizations, visionary politicians, and colorful individuals powers this movement.
Bicycles Locked To Poles
Bicycles Locked To Poles
Paperback      ISBN: 1932416250
This mournful but pleasing collection features many of the best photographs of bicycles locked to poles ever taken. Shot using an old-fashioned 35mm Nikon, the photos here follow in the tradition of John James Audubon, Bernd and Hilla Becher, the Peterson Field Guides, and The Observer's Book of Steam Locomotives. Bicycles Locked to Poles began in early 2001, when a magenta arrow - spray-painted on the sidewalk by a representative of the electrical utility ? pointed directly to the sadly bent, Dali-esque wheel of a bicycle on the photographer's street. Glassie passed by every day for months, until one day it was gone. He has been documenting bicycles locked to poles, bent, broken and otherwise, in and around his East Village neighborhood of New York ever since. This volume presents a careful selection from Glassie's collection of over a thousand color photographs, as well as a graphical guide to present, damaged, and missing bicycle parts, and a quote from Marvin Minsky's The Society of Mind. Bicycles Locked to Poles is a rare treasury for anyone interested in bikes, poles, locks, or the forgotten artifacts of the urban landscape.
Urban Bikers' Tricks & Tips: Low-Tech & No-Tech ways to Find, Ride, & Keep a Bicycle
Urban Bikers' Tricks & Tips
Low-Tech & No-Tech ways to Find, Ride, & Keep a Bicycle
Paperback      ISBN: 0965172813
Offers advice on choosing and maintaining a bicycle, avoiding bicycle theft, negotiating traffic, handling trouble, dealing with bad weather, and packing work clothes
I Love My Bike
I Love My Bike
Paperback      ISBN: 1452100489
Cycling is about joy. Sure, it takes willpower, strength, and grit, but at its core, being on a bike is all about rejoicing in the greatest transportational invention in history. I Love My Bike is a photographic celebration of the grand kinship of bicycles, a bond shared by millions of people around the world. This distinctive and affordable coffee table book for cyclists collects the best of the stories, photographs, and bicycles encountered by the authors during numerous cross-country photo-journaling trips. Readers will meet longtime messengers and hardcore roadies, casual commuters and weekend day-trippers, tattoo artists and skateboarders, bike builders and first-time owners—all of them in love with their two-wheeled contraptions. With gorgeous full-color photos on every spread, I Love My Bike delivers the trifecta of awesome for any cyclist: cool people, cool photos, and really, really cool bikes.
The Runner's World Cutting-edge Runner: How To Use The Latest Science And Technology To Run Longer, Stronger, And Faster
The Runner's World Cutting-edge Runner
How To Use The Latest Science And Technology To Run Longer, Stronger, And Faster
Paperback      ISBN: 1594860912
A comprehensive, state-of-the-art resource for runners furnishes up-to-date information on training, nutrition, injury prevention, technique, equipment, gadgets, workouts, and other ways to help enhance performance among runners of all skill levels. Original. 15,000 first printing.
Bicycle Diaries
Bicycle Diaries
1st Edition    Hardcover      ISBN: 0670021148
A musician and visual artist describes his preference for traveling by folding bicycle throughout New York City, a choice that has enabled his discovery of the mode's ensuing sense of freedom as well as his observations on the city's inner workings and rhythms.

The Curse of the Rainbow Jersey: Cycling's Most Infamous Superstition
The Curse of the Rainbow Jersey
Cycling's Most Infamous Superstition
Paperback      ISBN: 1621240010
The Curse of the Rainbow Jersey is a peculiar lens on the history of professional cycling. It examines the infamous curse associated with wearers of the tunic awarded to the winner of the World Cycling Championships. The opening chapters look at how the curse originated with the death of Stan Ockers in 1955, other famous sports curses (including Curse of the Bambino, the US Masters Par 3 curse, and the curse placed on the Australian soccer team by a witch doctor), and also the history of the world cycling championships. The main body of the book is comprised of chapters dedicated to particular wearers of the rainbow jersey who were struck by misfortune, personal tragedy, or death. Examples include Paolo Bettini, whose brother died in a car crash on the way to a party to celebrate Paolo's win; Jean-Pierre Monser who died in a race while wearing the jersey; and Tommy Simpson, who died while racing two years after being crowned champion. The ill fortune visited upon wearers of the rainbow jersey is bizarre and tragic; but is it anything more than random chance? The final chapter of the book evaluates whether this level of bad luck is higher than for any other sample of humanity. A chilling look at the history of cycling, sure to fascinate any fan of the sport. Graham Healy is a cyclist and journalist living in Dublin, Ireland.
The Feed Zone Cookbook: Fast and Flavorful Food for Athletes
The Feed Zone Cookbook
Fast and Flavorful Food for Athletes
Hardcover      ISBN: 1934030767
Dr. Allen Lim is the hottest sports physiologist in cycling because his unconventional methods of training and nutrition are reinventing the sport. In The Feed Zone Cookbook, Lim reveals his better way to eat and the chef who makes it all taste great, Biju Thomas. Biju brings a fresh, no-fuss approach to 100 recipes designed to boost athletic performance and taste great at the same time. With just a handful of ingredients and requiring no more than 5 or 6 steps, Biju and Lim make real food accessible to athletes. Equipped with a rice cooker, hot plate, and a pot or two, Biju and Lim show how easy it is for athletes to prepare their own food, whether at home or on the go. With thorough nutritional breakdowns for each recipe and fun tips explaining the how and why, this book is the perfect blend of science and practice. The Feed Zone Cookbook will change the way athletes think about fueling for performance, replacing the highly-processed, prepackaged bars, gels, and meals with the real, nourishing foods that everyone craves.