Cycling
Featured Items
Bike For Life: How to Ride to 100
Bike For Life
How to Ride to 100
Paperback      ISBN: 1569244510
The author of The Traveling Cyclist shows readers how to maximize their bike riding, presenting the various dangers and pitfall of riding as well as success stories of people who have used cycling to overcome a variety of physical and emotional ailments. Original.
Fancy Cycling: Trick Riding for Amateurs
Fancy Cycling
Trick Riding for Amateurs
Hardcover      ISBN: 1908402717
This is a special cloth hardcover gift edition reproduction of the original 1901 book which was one of the first to promote daring tricks for weird and wonderful acrobatics on two wheels, such as handle bar riding, riding backward and standing on the seat riding, hands off! Illustrated with period photographs showing outlandish daredevil "fancy cycling" stunts that have to be seen to be believed, it wonderfully captures a bygone age when popular fads and crazes were met with wild enthusiasm and is a delightful keepsake for cycling or sports enthusiasts.
The Cyclist's Training Bible
The Cyclist's Training Bible
Paperback      ISBN: 1931382212
The Cyclist’s Training Bible is designed to help amateurs create a training plan and refine the skills needed to succeed in the sport. Divided into five parts, the book covers commitment and common sense, general concepts, training with a purpose, designing a yearlong plan, and practical strategies for reinforcing training. Dozens of photos, charts, tables and worksheets are featured in this edition that includes 25 percent new and updated material.
Cyclopedia: It's All About the Bike
Cyclopedia
It's All About the Bike
Paperback      ISBN: 1613734123
Presents entries organized in alphabetical order about the culture, sport, history, notable figures, and techniques of cycling.
The Lost Cyclist: The Epic Tale of an American Adventurer and His Mysterious Disappearance
The Lost Cyclist
The Epic Tale of an American Adventurer and His Mysterious Disappearance
Hardcover      ISBN: 0547195575
A cycling historian traces the epic journey of 1880s high-wheel racer Frank Lenz to cycle around the world as a correspondent for Outing magazine, an effort during which his murder sparked an international outcry and an ensuing investigation by fellow cyclist William Sachtleben.
Essential Bicycle Maintenance & Repair
Essential Bicycle Maintenance & Repair
Paperback      ISBN: 1450407072
Essential Bicycle Maintenance & Repair teaches readers how to keep their bikes in top running condition with minimal investment in specialized tools. Written for the do-it-yourselfer, not the professional mechanic, each repair includes step-by-step instructions and photo sequences, making the book an accessible and essential resource for any cyclist. Original.
Bicycles Locked To Poles
Bicycles Locked To Poles
Paperback      ISBN: 1932416250
This mournful but pleasing collection features many of the best photographs of bicycles locked to poles ever taken. Shot using an old-fashioned 35mm Nikon, the photos here follow in the tradition of John James Audubon, Bernd and Hilla Becher, the Peterson Field Guides, and The Observer's Book of Steam Locomotives. Bicycles Locked to Poles began in early 2001, when a magenta arrow - spray-painted on the sidewalk by a representative of the electrical utility ? pointed directly to the sadly bent, Dali-esque wheel of a bicycle on the photographer's street. Glassie passed by every day for months, until one day it was gone. He has been documenting bicycles locked to poles, bent, broken and otherwise, in and around his East Village neighborhood of New York ever since. This volume presents a careful selection from Glassie's collection of over a thousand color photographs, as well as a graphical guide to present, damaged, and missing bicycle parts, and a quote from Marvin Minsky's The Society of Mind. Bicycles Locked to Poles is a rare treasury for anyone interested in bikes, poles, locks, or the forgotten artifacts of the urban landscape.
Serious Cycling
Serious Cycling
2nd Edition    Paperback      ISBN: 073604129x
This updated edition has been expanded to reflect the latest developments in training science and technology. It gives competitive cyclists and coaches the know-how and the means to develop their programmes so that they can reach their full potential.
The Secret Race: Inside the Hidden World of the Tour de France: Doping, Cover-Ups, and Winning at All Costs
The Secret Race
Inside the Hidden World of the Tour de France: Doping, Cover-Ups, and Winning at All Costs
Hardcover      ISBN: 0345530411
A once top-ranked cyclist chronicles his downfall after testing positive for doping after winning gold at the 2004 Olympics while also addressing the practice's pervasiveness in the sport and his relationship with Lance Armstrong.
The Bike-Owner's Handbook
The Bike-Owner's Handbook
Paperback      ISBN: 0956205380
Demonstrates how to repair and maintain bicycles through instructions and illustrations, along with descriptions of each part and the tools needed to complete each task.