Cycling
Featured Items
The Bike Owner's Handbook
The Bike Owner's Handbook
Paperback      ISBN: 0956205380

The Bike-Owner's Handbook is a manual of basic bicycle upkeep, taking you step-by-step through the essentials of puncture repair, brake and gear adjustment and cleaning and maintenance. Engaging illustrations, luxurious photography and QR codes linking to clearly presented video tutorials set it apart from the run-of-the mill bicycle manuals. A beautiful book for the beautiful machine.

Lance Armstrong's War: One Man's Battle Against Fate, Fame, Love, Death, Scandal, and a Few Other Rivals on the Road to the Tour de France
Lance Armstrong's War
One Man's Battle Against Fate, Fame, Love, Death, Scandal, and a Few Other Rivals on the Road to the Tour de France
Paperback      ISBN: 0060734981

"A velvety mix of vivid, sophisticated prose, Raymond Carver's unerring eye for nuance, and John Irving's irreverent, unflinching humor....An intimate look inside the maelstrom of professional cycling."
--Boston Globe

Daniel Coyne's New York Times bestseller Lance Armstrong's War takes a fascinating, in-depth look at a staggeringly talented yet flawed sports hero as he faced his greatest test: a record sixth straight Tour de France victory. Now with a new epilogue covering Armstrong's quest to win an 8th Tour de France, this "intimate, insightful, unflinching look at the greatest athlete of our time" (Jon Krakauer) explores the remarkable drive and accomplishments of a controversial champion--a must read for fans of John Feinstein and David Halberstam, as well as readers of Lance Armstrong's own It's Not About the Bike and Every Second Counts.
The Official Tour de France Bike Maintenance Book: How to Prep Your Bike Like the Pros
The Official Tour de France Bike Maintenance Book
How to Prep Your Bike Like the Pros
Hardcover      ISBN: 1629376922

At first glance, a Tour de France bike may look a lot like your own bicycle. It might even have the same model name and principal components. But on closer inspection, there are many subtle and pleasing differences which set these high-performance machines apart, thanks to the Tour mechanics working day in and day out at the cutting edge of bicycle technology. The Official Tour de France Bike Maintenance Book goes behind the scenes with the finest professional cycling technicians during the most grueling and high-pressure bike race in the world, sharing exclusive images, in-race stories, and professional tricks of the trade. Practical sections in each chapter explain how to perform essential maintenance tasks and personalize bikes like the pros. Combining intrigue and instruction, and featuring vivid images of classic bikes from the past 75 years of the Tour, this is a fascinating and indispensable guide for both cycling fans and competitors.

The Essential Touring Cyclist: The Complete Guide for the Bicycle Traveler
The Essential Touring Cyclist
The Complete Guide for the Bicycle Traveler
Paperback      ISBN: 0071360190

The classic guide for beginning and intermediate cyclists is back--and it's better than ever. With the latest on bikes, gear, and training techniques and new sections on short tours, and touring abroad, this new edition of The Essential Touring Cyclist promises to appeal to a whole new population of aspiring cyclists. Whether you're heading out for five hours or five months, this vividly designed, heavily illustrated, and resource-rich guide delivers everything you need.

The Bicycle Book
The Bicycle Book
Hardcover      ISBN: 0007305885

What could be simpler than a bicycle? And yet the bike -- old, and cheap, and slightly comic -- continues to inspire a passionate following. Since the millennium its use in Britain has doubled, and then doubled again. Thousands now cycle to work, and more take it up every day. In trial after trial, it is the bike which reaches its urban destination faster than the car, the bus, the underground or the pedestrian. Self-reliant and straightforward, cycling has recycled itself. It is an antiquated idea, and its time has finally come. But what is it about the bicycle that so enchants us? And why do its devotees become so obsessed with it? Acclaimed and prize-winning author Bella Bathurst takes us on a journey through cycling's best stories and strangest incarnations, from the bicycle as weapon of twentieth-century warfare to the secret life of couriers and the alchemy of framebuilding.Longlisted for the William Hill Sports Book of the Year Award 2011.

The Complete Book of Long-Distance Cycling: Build the Strength, Skills, and Confidence to Ride As Far As You Want
The Complete Book of Long-Distance Cycling
Build the Strength, Skills, and Confidence to Ride As Far As You Want
Paperback      ISBN: 1579541992

Ride Strong, Ride Long ... Whether Your Goal Is 30 Miles or 3,000

From Edmund R. Burke, Ph.D., and Ed Pavelka - two of the country's top cycling experts - comes the most comprehensive guide ever to achieving the strength, skills, and strategies you need for long-distance riding. Whether you're training for day rides, centuries, or cross-country trips, The Complete Book of Long-Distance Cycling helps you choose the right equipment, train step-by-step, and map out your riding strategy so that you can go the distance.

Discover how to:
* Make the most of every hour on your bike
* Build your mileage base efficiently
* Customize your training to suit your personality and physical capabilities
* Build extra training time into your hectic schedule
* Avoid injuries and the dangers of overtraining
* Achieve the mental edge you need to ride farther and faster
* Train for both road and off-road touring
* Choose cycling gear that goes and goes
* Eat for the long haul-- nutrition before, during, and after your rides

To help you achieve your riding goals, The Complete Book of Long-Distance Cycling gives you complete, step-by-step training programs for riding a half-century, century, double century, and beyond. You'll also find strategies and techniques for special situations, such as riding in bed weather and riding at night. Published by the world's leading authority on bicycling, this informative guide is a must-have for all cycling enthusiasts.

Break Away: The Heroes and Hellraisers That Made Road Cycling
Break Away
The Heroes and Hellraisers That Made Road Cycling
Hardcover      ISBN: 0711238081

No sport demands and celebrates the suffering of its participants like road racing, yet the pursuit of cycling was formed out of a spirit of emancipation, freedom, invention and revolution. It started with Victorian adventurers who took their new machine across continents, up unscaled peaks and into the first races, followed by those who saw the potential of the bicycle as a radical mode of transport, before the twentieth-century sun shone on a golden age of cycling, bringing fame and fortune to its glamorous new sporting superstars.

Through fifty key riders, from early pioneers like Mark Twain to modern superstars like Eddy Merckx, Break Away is a fascinating and arresting new history of road cycling.

Heft on Wheels: A Field Guide to Doing a 180
Heft on Wheels
A Field Guide to Doing a 180
1st Edition    Paperback      ISBN: 1400052416

Take one very large guy. Add booze, cigarettes, and an extreme amount of junk food. Mix in a wry, self-effacing wit. Throw in a bike. The result? Heft on Wheels, a potently funny look at turning your life around, one insanely unrealistic goal at a time.

Not that long ago, Mike Magnuson was a self-described lummox with a bicycle. In the space of three months, he lost seventy-five pounds, quit smoking, stopped drinking, and morphed from the big guy at the back of the pack into a lean, mean cycling machine. Today, Mike is a 175-pound athlete competing in some of the most difficult one-day racing events in America. This irreverent and inspiring memoir charts every hilarious detail of his transformation, from the horrors of skin-tight XXL biking shorts to the miseries of nicotine withdrawal.

Heft on Wheels is an unforgettable book about getting from one place to another, in more ways than one.
Zinn & the Art of Road Bike Maintenance
Zinn & the Art of Road Bike Maintenance
2nd Edition    Paperback      ISBN: 1931382697

Road bikes are surprisingly complex machines, but there's no need to spend excessive amounts on repairs and maintenance. The cost of a copy of ""Zinn and the Art of Road Bike Maintenance should be sufficient in most cases. This well-organized and -illustrated guide, which incorporates the latest in component technology and innovations, shows how to maintain every part of a road bike. This includes chains, derailleurs, shifters, wheels, brakes, cranks, bottom brackets, pedals, saddles, seatposts, handlebars, stems, headsets, forks, and frames -- all covered in Lennard Zinn's trademark clear and concise prose. Novices and seasoned mechanics alike can benefit from the clear illustrations, exploded views of how components go together, and practical tips on how to completely and properly maintain all aspects of their road bikes to ensure hours of trouble-free riding. Zinn shows exactly when to tackle a maintenance project and when a trip to the bike shop for repair is unavoidable.

The Urban Cyclist's Survival Guide
The Urban Cyclist's Survival Guide
Paperback      ISBN: 1600785662

Written for cycling enthusiasts who expect to run into vehicular traffic or urban traffic patterns anywhere in the world, this book is not limited to only cyclists in major cities. Observations from years of cycling the city streets of Chicago and Los Angeles inspired these solutions, and every tip, hint, trick, and tactic can be applied to cycling anywhere--rural or urban.