Cycling
Featured Items
Bicycle
Bicycle
Paperback      ISBN: 1905490534
Which bike is right for me? How can I avoid getting knocked off? How can I buy a good secondhand bike? Do I need to wear a helmet? Must I don a luminous tabard? How do I thwart a bike thief? How can I cycle and transport my child/laptop/suit? This title features tips on cycling. It teaches you how to stay safe while on the road.
The Bike-Owner's Handbook
The Bike-Owner's Handbook
Paperback      ISBN: 0956205380
Demonstrates how to repair and maintain bicycles through instructions and illustrations, along with descriptions of each part and the tools needed to complete each task.
Bicycles Locked To Poles
Bicycles Locked To Poles
Paperback      ISBN: 1932416250
This mournful but pleasing collection features many of the best photographs of bicycles locked to poles ever taken. Shot using an old-fashioned 35mm Nikon, the photos here follow in the tradition of John James Audubon, Bernd and Hilla Becher, the Peterson Field Guides, and The Observer's Book of Steam Locomotives. Bicycles Locked to Poles began in early 2001, when a magenta arrow - spray-painted on the sidewalk by a representative of the electrical utility ? pointed directly to the sadly bent, Dali-esque wheel of a bicycle on the photographer's street. Glassie passed by every day for months, until one day it was gone. He has been documenting bicycles locked to poles, bent, broken and otherwise, in and around his East Village neighborhood of New York ever since. This volume presents a careful selection from Glassie's collection of over a thousand color photographs, as well as a graphical guide to present, damaged, and missing bicycle parts, and a quote from Marvin Minsky's The Society of Mind. Bicycles Locked to Poles is a rare treasury for anyone interested in bikes, poles, locks, or the forgotten artifacts of the urban landscape.
Cyclopedia: It's All About the Bike
Cyclopedia
It's All About the Bike
Paperback      ISBN: 1613734123
Presents entries organized in alphabetical order about the culture, sport, history, notable figures, and techniques of cycling.
The Bicycle Coloring Book: Journey to the Edge of the World
The Bicycle Coloring Book
Journey to the Edge of the World
Paperback      ISBN: 1780677499
The Bicycle Coloring Book follows the fantastic journey of a bicycle exploring without its rider. Bursting with intricate illustrations that evoke both Japanese anime and Western street art, the beautiful scenes cry out to be colored in amazing detail. As you color don't forget to look out for the bicycle's cute companion (who appears in every scene) and the illustration details that form a cleverly designed flip book. A stunning gift book that will appeal to lovers of cycling and urban art, as well as to committed colouring in fans.
The Complete Book of Long-Distance Cycling: Build the Strength, Skills, and Confidence to Ride As Far As You Want
The Complete Book of Long-Distance Cycling
Build the Strength, Skills, and Confidence to Ride As Far As You Want
Paperback      ISBN: 1579541992
A complete reference source on the world of long distance bicycling includes extensive information on all levels of cycling, from thirty miles to 3000 miles, and includes facts on the latest in bikes, clothes, and much more. Original.
Cycling Climbs of South-West England: A Road Cyclist's Guide
Cycling Climbs of South-West England
A Road Cyclist's Guide
Paperback      ISBN: 0711237077
Plot a route between any two points in South-West England and its profile is likely to resemble an upturned saw blade – together, the Cotswolds, the Mendips and the exquisite Exmoor and Dartmoor National Parks form a perfect hill climber’s playground. In quiet Cornish fishing villages, on top of Bodmin Moor and cresting the Salisbury Plain are legions of punishingly beautiful roads eager to meet their cycling match, and the very best are between these pages. With a list including the dramatic Cheddar Gorge, Gold Hill, Haytor Vale and the fearsome Porlock, this region is one to relish.
It's All About the Bike: The Pursuit of Happiness on Two Wheels
It's All About the Bike
The Pursuit of Happiness on Two Wheels
Hardcover      ISBN: 1608195384
"The bicycle is one of mankind's greatest inventions and the most popular form of transport in history. Robert Penn has ridden one most days of his adult life. In his late 20s, he pedaled around the world. Yet, like cyclists everywhere, the utilitarian bikes he currently owns don't even hint at this devotion. Robert needs a new bike, a customized machine that reflects how he feels when he's riding it - like an ordinary man touching the gods. It's All About the Bike is the story of a journey to design andbuild a dream bike. En route, Robert explores the culture, science and history of the bicycle. From Stoke in his native UK, where an artisan hand builds his frame, to California, home of the mountain bike, where Robert tracks down the perfect wheels, viaPortland, Milan, and back to the UK to Coventry (birthplace of the modern bicycle, natch), this is the narrative of our love affair with cycling. It's All About the Bike is, like Penn's dream bike, a tale that's greater than the sum of its parts but those parts are nothing to sneeze at. His components set the standard in reliability, craftsmanship and beauty. A cheerful and charming tour guide, Penn tells how the bicycle has changed the course of human history, from the invention of the "people's nag" to the bike's role in the emancipation of women, and from the engineering marvel of the tangent-spoked wheel to the enduring allure of the Tour de France. It's the story of why we ride, and why this simple machine remains central to life today"--
I Love My Bike
I Love My Bike
Paperback      ISBN: 1452100489
Cycling is about joy. Sure, it takes willpower, strength, and grit, but at its core, being on a bike is all about rejoicing in the greatest transportational invention in history. I Love My Bike is a photographic celebration of the grand kinship of bicycles, a bond shared by millions of people around the world. This distinctive and affordable coffee table book for cyclists collects the best of the stories, photographs, and bicycles encountered by the authors during numerous cross-country photo-journaling trips. Readers will meet longtime messengers and hardcore roadies, casual commuters and weekend day-trippers, tattoo artists and skateboarders, bike builders and first-time owners—all of them in love with their two-wheeled contraptions. With gorgeous full-color photos on every spread, I Love My Bike delivers the trifecta of awesome for any cyclist: cool people, cool photos, and really, really cool bikes.
Bobke II
Bobke II
Paperback      ISBN: 193138228x
This new collection from cyclist Bob Roll reflects his unique perspective on the professional racing circuit and his own brand of dry humor. Straightforward yet sly, funny but perhaps a little crazy, Roll calls it like he sees it. Here are anecdotes about the Tour de France, international mountain-bike tournaments, training struggles, heart-stopping crashes, and personal vendettas, all of which provide a fascinating inside look at the world of championship cycling.