Early Readers
Featured Items
The Titanic: Lost and Found
The Titanic
Lost and Found
Paperback      ISBN: 0394886690

Titanic. Just the name evokes tales of the doomed ship that have captivated people of all ages for more than 100 years.
Early readers will enjoy this exciting account of the world's most famous disaster-at-sea and the discovery of it's remains many years later.
Step 4 books are perfect for independent readers who are confident with simple sentences and are just starting to tackle paragraphs.

Come Back, Amelia Bedelia
Come Back, Amelia Bedelia
Paperback      ISBN: 0064442047

Amelia Bedelia must look for a new job -- Mrs. Rogers has finally had enough. But for poor Amelia Bedelia, each new job is a bigger mess than the last. Can she ever find a place to belong?

The Drinking Gourd: A Story of the Underground Railroad
The Drinking Gourd
A Story of the Underground Railroad
Paperback      ISBN: 0064440427

The stars of the Big Dipper have led a runaway slave family to Deacon Fuller's house, a stop on the Underground Railroad. Will Tommy Fuller be able to hide the runaways from a search party--or will the secret passengers be discovered and their hope for freedom destroyed?

This Level 3 I Can Read book is a captivating first-person historical fiction account of the Underground Railroad, narrated by Tommy, a ten year-old Quaker boy, . With beautiful, simple prose that folds in historical facts about slavery and the Civil War, this book makes this important period of American history accessible to beginning readers. Includes an afterword from the author F.N. Monjo that explains the historical context of the Fugitive Slave Law.

Supports the Common Core Learning Standards

Biscuit Finds a Friend
Biscuit Finds a Friend
Paperback      ISBN: 0064442438

For fans of Clifford and Spot, welcome everybody's favorite little yellow puppy, Biscuit, in an I Can Read adventure

Biscuit is back--and he's got a new friend In this charming My First I Can Read book, everyone's favorite puppy Biscuit meets an adorable lost duckling. Perfect for shared reading with a child, this story teaches a lesson about finding friends while also helping to boost reading fluency.

Fox on Wheels
Fox on Wheels
Paperback      ISBN: 0140365419

Mom is cramping Fox's style. First he has to babysit for his little sister Louise. Then he has to do the shopping. Can Fox do it all and still remain the fastest fox on wheels? Gangway

Three by the Sea
Three by the Sea
Paperback      ISBN: 0140370048

After a picnic on the beach, Lolly, Sam, and Spider decide to tell spooky stories. Lolly's is an eerie story from her school book. Sam's is suspenseful, with an unexpected ending. But Spider's might be the scariest of them all

Happy Birthday, Danny and the Dinosaur!
Happy Birthday, Danny and the Dinosaur!
Library      ISBN: 0060264381

'Danny returns to the museum to invite his dinosaur friend to his sixth birthday party. As in the original book, the dinosaur does things with his own unique twist, providing the humor beginning readers will enjoy. Though the illustrations are now fully colored, the characters and their expressions leave no doubt that these are the same friends from the past--with a bright future and deserving a spot on beginning-reader shelves.'--SLJ.

Children's Choices for 1996 (IRA/CBC)

Wagon Train
Wagon Train
Paperback      ISBN: 0448413345

What was it like to head out west in a covered wagon? How did the pioneers get their wagons over rugged mountains and across wide rivers? Hop aboard the wagon train and find out what life was like for American pioneers

Happy Birthday, Danny and the Dinosaur!
Happy Birthday, Danny and the Dinosaur!
Paperback      ISBN: 0064442373

Readers first fell in love with Danny and his prehistoric pal in the I Can Read classic Danny and the Dinosaur, created by Syd Hoff in 1958. Now the popular pair are together again in an adventure sure to please beginning readers

What would happen if a dinosaur came to a birthday party? Come to Danny's house and find out. His friend the dinosaur helps make this one party you'll never forget

Happy Birthday, Danny and the Dinosaur is a Level One I Can Read book that is perfect for children learning to sound out words and sentences.

Arthur's Back to School Day
Arthur's Back to School Day
Paperback      ISBN: 0064442454
Brrr ... ing
There's the school bell
It's the first day back at school for Arthur and Violet and all of their friends. Time for riding the school bus, going to class, and best of all, eating snacks and playing games at recess.

But this year the first day is full of surprises. The bus ride to school is an unexpected adventure, and Arthur's friend, Norman, almost loses his lunch box. Just when things settle down, Arthur finds his snack has disappeared from his lunch box. What will happen next on this exciting first day of school?

Beginning readers heading back to school will enjoy the humor in Lillian Hoban's tenth I Can Read Book about these much loved characters.