Child Psychology
Featured Items
Sleeping Through the Night, Revised Edition: How Infants, Toddlers, and Their Parents Can Get a Good Night's Sleep
Sleeping Through the Night, Revised Edition
How Infants, Toddlers, and Their Parents Can Get a Good Night's Sleep
Paperback      ISBN: 0060742569

Right after Is it a boy or a girl? and What's his/her name?, the next question people invariably ask new parents is Are you getting any sleep? Unfortunately, the answer is usually Not much. In fact, studies show that approximately 25% of young children experience some type of sleep problem and, as any bleary-eyed parent will attest, it is one of the most difficult challenges of parenting.

Drawing on her ten years of experience in the assessment and treatment of common sleep problems in children, Dr. Jodi A. Mindell now provides tips and techniques, the answers to commonly asked questions, and case studies and quotes from parents who have successfully solved their children's sleep problems.

Unlike other books on the subject, Dr. Mindell also offers practical tips on bedtime, rather than middle-of-the-night-sleep training, and shows how all members of the family can cope with the stresses associated with teaching a child to sleep.

Are You My Mother?: A Comic Drama
Are You My Mother?
A Comic Drama
Paperback      ISBN: 0544002237

From the best-selling author of Fun Home, Time magazine's No. 1 Book of the Year, a brilliantly told graphic memoir of Alison Bechdel becoming the artist her mother wanted to be.

Alison Bechdel's Fun Home was a pop culture and literary phenomenon. Now, a second thrilling tale of filial sleuthery, this time about her mother: voracious reader, music lover, passionate amateur actor. Also a woman, unhappily married to a closeted gay man, whose artistic aspirations simmered under the surface of Bechdel's childhood . . . and who stopped touching or kissing her daughter good night, forever, when she was seven. Poignantly, hilariously, Bechdel embarks on a quest for answers concerning the mother-daughter gulf. It's a richly layered search that leads readers from the fascinating life and work of the iconic twentieth-century psychoanalyst Donald Winnicott, to one explosively illuminating Dr. Seuss illustration, to Bechdel's own (serially monogamous) adult love life. And, finally, back to Mother--to a truce, fragile and real-time, that will move and astonish all adult children of gifted mothers.
Hypnosis and Hypnotherapy With Children
Hypnosis and Hypnotherapy With Children
Hardcover      ISBN: 157230054x

The definitive work in the field, this volume provides comprehensive coverage of the theory and practice of hypnosis and hypnotherapy with young patients. Within a developmental framework, chapters describe the wide variety of induction techniques and strategies currently available to the practitioner. Procedures are outlined for using hypnotherapy in the treatment of psychological disorders, habit disorders, learning and performance difficulties, grief, and other problems. Also addressed are pediatric medical and surgical applications, with discussions of over 40 different clinical situations in this area alone. Promising uses of child biofeedback and self-hypnosis techniques are reviewed, and guidelines for teaching child hypnotherapy presented. Throughout, the volume is richly illustrated with case examples and session vignettes.

The Natural Laws of Children: Why Children Thrive When We Understand How Their Brains Are Wired
The Natural Laws of Children
Why Children Thrive When We Understand How Their Brains Are Wired
Paperback      ISBN: 1611806739
A powerful, neuroscience-based approach to revolutionize early childhood learning through natural creativity, strong human connections, spontaneous free play, and more.

All children are born wired to learn and to love. As young children explore the world and interact with others, their brains can naturally develop in incredible ways. And yet, despite our best intentions, early education often fails to fully encourage this natural learning and empathy. The Natural Laws of Children draws on current research in childhood development to share powerful insights on how to enhance learning for all kids, regardless of income or access to resources.

This book tells the story of C line Alvarez's pioneering work in early childhood education. Over three years in a low-income school, Alvarez's students achieved exceptional results in math and reading, as well as outstanding social and emotional skills. The Natural Laws of Children shares, in a clear and accessible way, the main scientific principles that underpin human learning to revolutionize early childhood education by supporting strong human connections, spontaneous free play, and more.
The Scientist in the Crib: What Early Learning Tells Us about the Mind
The Scientist in the Crib
What Early Learning Tells Us about the Mind
Paperback      ISBN: 0688177883

This exciting book by three pioneers in the new field of cognitive science discusses important discoveries about how much babies and young children know and learn, and how much parents naturally teach them. It argues that evolution designed us both to teach and learn, and that the drive to learn is our most important instinct. It also reveals as fascinating insights about our adult capacities and how even young children -- as well as adults -- use some of the same methods that allow scientists to learn so much about the world. Filled with surprise at every turn, this vivid, lucid, and often funny book gives us a new view of the inner life of children and the mysteries of the mind.

--The Chicago Tribune
Masterminds & Wingmen: Helping Our Boys Cope with Schoolyard Power, Locker-Room Tests, Girlfriends, and the New Rules of Boy World
Masterminds & Wingmen
Helping Our Boys Cope with Schoolyard Power, Locker-Room Tests, Girlfriends, and the New Rules of Boy World
Paperback      ISBN: 0307986683
A landmark book that reveals the way boys think and that shows parents, educators and coaches how to reach out and help boys overcome their most common and difficult challenges -- by the bestselling author who changed our conception of adolescent girls.

Do you constantly struggle to pull information from your son, student, or athlete, only to encounter mumbling or evasive assurances such as "It's nothing" or "I'm good?" Do you sense that the boy you care about is being bullied, but that he'll do anything to avoid your "help?" Have you repeatedly reminded him that schoolwork and chores come before video games only to spy him reaching for the controller as soon as you leave the room? Have you watched with frustration as your boy flounders with girls?

Welcome to Boy World. It's a place where asking for help or showing emotional pain often feels impossible. Where sports and video games can mean everything, but working hard in school frequently earns ridicule from "the guys" even as they ask to copy assignments. Where "masterminds" dominate and friends ruthlessly insult each other but can never object when someone steps over the line. Where hiding problems from adults is the ironclad rule because their involvement only makes situations worse. Boy world is governed by social hierarchies and a powerful set of unwritten rules that have huge implications for your boy's relationships, his interactions with you, and the man he'll become. If you want what's best for him, you need to know what these rules are and how to work with them effectively.

What you'll find in Masterminds and Wingmen is critically important for every parent - or anyone who cares about boys - to know. Collaborating with a large team of middle- and high-school-age editors, Rosalind Wiseman has created an unprecedented guide to the life your boy is actually experiencing - his on-the-ground reality. Not only does Wiseman challenge you to examine your assumptions, she offers innovative coping strategies aimed at helping your boy develop a positive, authentic, and strong sense of self.
A Straight Talking Introduction to the Causes of Mental Health Problems
A Straight Talking Introduction to the Causes of Mental Health Problems
Paperback      ISBN: 1906254192

As the causes of mental health problems are often more complicated than we understand, this book presents the reader with summaries of various causes. It is perfect reading for students of all mental health disciplines and everyone with an interest in mental health.


Guyland: The Perilous World Where Boys Become Men
Guyland
The Perilous World Where Boys Become Men
Paperback      ISBN: 0060831359

One of the most eminent scholars and writers on men and masculinity and the author of the critically acclaimed Manhood in America turns his attention to the culture of guys, aged 16 to 26: their attitudes, their relationships, their rules, and their rituals.

"Kimmel is our seasoned guide into a world that, unless we are guys, we barely know exists. As he walks with us through dark territories, he points out the significant and reflects on its meaning."--Mary Pipher, Ph.D., author of Reviving Ophelia

The passage from adolescence to adulthood was once clear. Today, growing up has become more complex and confusing, as young men drift casually through college and beyond--hanging out, partying, playing with tech toys, watching sports. But beneath the appearance of a simple extended boyhood, a more dangerous social world has developed, far away from the traditional signposts and cultural signals that once helped boys navigate their way to manhood--a territory Michael Kimmel has identified as "Guyland."

In mapping the troubling social world where men are now made, Kimmel offers a view into the minds and times of America's sons, brothers, and boyfriends, and he works toward redefining what it means to be a man today--and tomorrow. Only by understanding this world and this life stage can we enable young men to chart their own paths, stay true to themselves, and emerge safely from Guyland as responsible and fully formed male adults.

Children in Society: Politics, Policies and Interventions
Children in Society
Politics, Policies and Interventions
Paperback      ISBN: 190625480x

Deeply searching and challenging collection of socio-cultural and critical explorations of the issues facing children, their families and children's services in today's society. This book is at the cutting edge of the latest thinking on the subject.

The Burn Journals
The Burn Journals
Paperback      ISBN: 1400096421

Fans of Thirteen Reasons Why, Running with Scissors and Girl, Interrupted will be entranced by this remarkable true story of teenage despair and recovery

In 1991, fourteen-year-old Brent Runyon came home from school, doused his bathrobe in gasoline, put it on, and lit a match.

He suffered third-degree burns over 85% of his body and spent the next year recovering in hospitals and rehab facilities. During that year of physical recovery, Runyon began to question what he'd done, undertaking the complicated journey from near-death back to high school, and from suicide back to the emotional mainstream of life.