Science Reference
Featured Items
Women of Invention: Life-Changing Ideas by Remarkable Women
Women of Invention
Life-Changing Ideas by Remarkable Women
Hardcover      ISBN: 0785835008

Hypatia was a Greek mathematician, astronomer, and philosopher who invented the hydrometer in about 400 AD. Described as a charismatic teacher, she was seen as an evil symbol of the pagan science of learning and she was eventually murdered by Christian zealots.

For many women in years gone by, the invention process was fraught with danger and difficulty. Not only did they face the hardship and obstacles of inventing, they also had to contend with the sexism and gender discrimination of a male world that believed women had nothing to contribute.

Scientific women came to the fore with momentous innovations which were impossible for men to ignore. During World War Two, Austrian actress Hedy Lamarr became a pioneer in wireless communications, developing a "Secret Communications System."

More recently, 20-year-old Ann Makosinski has invented the ingenious Hollow Flashlight which converts radiant body heat into electricity. Meanwhile other women continued inventing in the domestic sphere with Miracle Mops, long-lasting lipsticks, and magic knickers.

In every walk of twenty-first century life women have been challenging themselves (and men) to shape the way we live. Some of the incredible innovators featured include Myra Juliet Farrell, Sally Fox, Rosalind Franklin, Helen Murray, Anna Pavlova, M ria Telkes, Giuliana Tesoro, Halldis Aalvik Thune, Ann Tsukamoto, Margaret A. Wilcox, Ada Lovelace, and many more.

The 150 remarkable women in this book show all too clearly that not only can invention no longer be described as a male dominated domain but that a woman's inspiration and ingenuity will probably be driving the life-changing ideas of tomorrow's world.

The Oxford People series offers deep dives into the most influential people, subjects, and cultures from history. From horror-fiction legends like H. P. Lovecraft and Edgar Allen Poe, to historical heavyweights like Houdini and JFK, to the supernatural world of vampires, werewolves, and ghosts--Oxford People encompasses it all.


Other titles in this series include: Angels, Che, Creating Sherlock Holmes, Edgar Allen Poe, Extreme Science, Gettysburg, Ghosts, Gunfighters, Houdini, HP Lovecraft, John F. Kennedy, Myths and Legends, Privates and Privateers, Roosevelt and Churchill, Royal Weddings, Skies of WWII, Tesla, Tesla vs. Edison, Vampires, Vikings, Werewolves, Zombies.
What If?: Serious Scientific Answers to Absurd Hypothetical Questions
What If?
Serious Scientific Answers to Absurd Hypothetical Questions
Hardcover      ISBN: 0544272994
From the creator of the wildly popular webcomic xkcd, hilarious and informative answers to important questions you probably never thought to ask Millions of people visit xkcd.com each week to read Randall Munroe's iconic webcomic. His stick-figure drawings about science, technology, language, and love have an enormous, dedicated following, as do his deeply researched answers to his fans' strangest questions. The queries he receives range from merely odd to downright diabolical: - What if I took a swim in a spent-nuclear-fuel pool? - Could you build a jetpack using downward-firing machine guns? - What if a Richter 15 earthquake hit New York City? - Are fire tornadoes possible? His responses are masterpieces of clarity and wit, gleefully and accurately explaining everything from the relativistic effects of a baseball pitched at near the speed of light to the many horrible ways you could die while building a periodic table out of all the actual elements. The book features new and never-before-answered questions, along with the most popular answers from the xkcd website. What If? is an informative feast for xkcd fans and anyone who loves to ponder the hypothetical.
This Is Improbable Too: Synchronized Cows, Speedy Brain Extractors and More WTF Research
This Is Improbable Too
Synchronized Cows, Speedy Brain Extractors and More WTF Research
Paperback      ISBN: 1780743610
The mind behind the infamous Ig Nobel Prizes presents an addictive collection of improbable research all about us - and you

Marc Abrahams collects the odd, the imaginative and the brilliantly improbable. Here he turns to research on the ins and outs of the very improbable evolutionary innovation that is the human body (brain included):

- What's the best way to get a monkey to floss regularly?

- How much dandruff do Pakistani soldiers have?

- If you add an extra henchman to your bank-robbing gang, how much more money will you 'earn'?

- How many dimples will be found on the cheeks of 28,282 Greek children?

- Who is the Einstein of pork carcasses?
Human
Human
Hardcover      ISBN: 0756605202

In the tradition of Animal and Earth, DK brings you a new definitive visual guide that takes a unique look at what it means to be a human being. This is the first book to cover all aspects of human life, from evolution and biology to society, culture, and the future of our aspects of human life, from evolution and biology to society, culture, and, the future of our species. The book examines the qualities that all humans share and profiles more than 250 peoples who inhabit the world.

The Canon: A Whirligig Tour of the Beautiful Basics of Science
The Canon
A Whirligig Tour of the Beautiful Basics of Science
Paperback      ISBN: 0547053460

The Pulitzer Prize-winning science journalist and author of Woman draws on interviews with hundreds of the world's top scientists to offer an entertaining guide to scientific literacy, exploring the fundamental principles of the major scientific disciplines of physics, chemistry, biology, geology, and astronomy and their link to the world around us. Reprint.

How Does a Bee Make Honey & Other Curious Facts
How Does a Bee Make Honey & Other Curious Facts
Paperback      ISBN: 0806516275
What Einstein Didn't Know: Scientific Answers to Everyday Questions
What Einstein Didn't Know
Scientific Answers to Everyday Questions
Paperback      ISBN: 0440508568

A Washington Post columnist offers a fun, fascinating guide to everyday science for those who never wore a slide rule or a pocket protector.

What We Believe But Cannot Prove: Today's Leading Thinkers on Science in the Age of Certainty
What We Believe But Cannot Prove
Today's Leading Thinkers on Science in the Age of Certainty
Paperback      ISBN: 0060841818

More than one hundred of the world's leading thinkers write about things they believe in, despite the absence of concrete proof

Scientific theory, more often than not, is born of bold assumption, disparate bits of unconnected evidence, and educated leaps of faith. Some of the most potent beliefs among brilliant minds are based on supposition alone -- yet that is enough to push those minds toward making the theory viable.

Eminent cultural impresario, editor, and publisher of Edge (www.edge.org), John Brockman asked a group of leading scientists and thinkers to answer the question: What do you believe to be true even though you cannot prove it? This book brings together the very best answers from the most distinguished contributors.

Thought-provoking and hugely compelling, this collection of bite-size thought-experiments is a fascinating insight into the instinctive beliefs of some of the most brilliant minds today.

Know It All Energy: The 50 Most Elemental Concepts in Energy, Each Explained in Under a Minute
Know It All Energy
The 50 Most Elemental Concepts in Energy, Each Explained in Under a Minute
Paperback      ISBN: 1577151615
From the first cavemen to light a fire to the elusive dark energy in outer space Know It All Energy explores energy in all its forms.

The Know-It-All series takes a revolutionary approach to learning about the subjects you really feel you should understand but have never gotten around to studying. Each title selects a popular topic and dissects it into the 50 most significant ideas at its heart. Each idea, no matter how complex, is explained in 300 words and one picture, all digestible in under a minute.

As a phenomenon that resides everywhere and in everything, energy is best understood by example. Exploring energy shows how it cannot be created or destroyed, only transformed--and how plankton and other ancient ocean-dwelling organisms can be used to power your car. Reducing the subject to its essential areas, Know-It-All Energy charts fascinating and fundamental topics, from the nuclear fusion reactor at the heart of the sun and civilization's discovery of our first hands-on energy source in fire almost 400,000 years ago, to the elusive dark energy which makes up most of the content of the universe.

The Know It All series takes a revolutionary approach to learning about the subjects you really feel you should understand but have never gotten around to studying. Each book selects a popular topic and dissects it into the 50 most significant ideas at its heart. Each idea, no matter how complex, is explained in 300 words and one picture, all digestible in under a minute.

Other titles in this series include: Know It All Anthropology, Know It All Chemistry, Know It All Classical Music, Know It All Fashion, Know It All Great Inventions, Know It All Jazz, Know It All Medicine, Know It All Shakespeare, Know It All Whiskey, Know It All Wine, Space In 30 Seconds, Sports in 30 Seconds.
Know-It-All Great Inventions: The 50 Greatest Inventions, Each Explained in Under a Minute
Know-It-All Great Inventions
The 50 Greatest Inventions, Each Explained in Under a Minute
Paperback      ISBN: 1577151607
Prepare to see a few millennia worth of light bulb moments. Know It All Great Inventions traces 50 of mankinds greatest inventions, from the wheel to in-home air conditioning, and tells their stories.

Universal change is often the ultimate result of one individual's lightbulb moment--an invention that triggers a ripple effect across countries, continents, or even out into space. Know-It-All Great Inventions looks at fifty of these great ideas that really did change the world.

This title covers a wide range, from early days (the wheel) through materials (the invention of steel and plastic) to communications (the alphabet, printing press, and Worldwide Web) and the conveniences of--relatively--modern daily life (refrigeration, indoor plumbing, and central heating).

It is a sharp reminder that almost every aspect of life in the second decade of the 21st century is the result of someone's bright idea, one that they actually made work. Along the way you'll learn the stories behind each and every invention, revealing and intriguing in equal measures.