Urban Studies
Featured Items
Urban Development in Renaissance Italy
Urban Development in Renaissance Italy
Paperback      ISBN: 0470031557

Providing a comprehensive account of one of the most formative historical periods, this book uniquely describes Renaissance architecture as the physical manifestation of economic, social and political change. Shifts in architectural style and design are described in parallel with Italy's economic and demographic growth, external and internal conflict and the evolution of urban and regional government. Urban Development in Renaissance Italy covers the full extent of the Renaissance period, charting the era's medieval roots and its transformation into Mannerist and Baroque tendencies. Encompassing Palermo and Naples, the book fully covers northern, central and southern Italy, surpassing the conventional literature that tends to focus solely on northern Italy.


Transforming medieval towns into city states, Renaissance governments invested heavily in developing the built environment to create a sense of awe and civic pride; while aristocratic dynasties, bankers and merchants commissioned sumptuous properties as a means of expressing their wealth and position in society; and holy orders built imposing churches to extend their influence. Architecture and planning, it is argued by Dr Paul Balchin provided a clear and significant path to political and economic power. It is within this context that the centre of political and economic gravity shifted over time within Italy from the republic of Venice in the 14th century to Medici Florence in the 15th century, and on to Papal Rome in the 16th and early 17th centuries.

The Battle With the Slum
The Battle With the Slum
Paperback      ISBN: 0486401960

Splendid sequel to author's 1902 classic, "How the Other Half Lives." Compelling real-life tales, accompanied by rare photographs and engravings, report on the status of living conditions among New York City's poor and exploited, including successful efforts to demolish breeding grounds of crime and the removal from power of Boss Tweed and the Tammany organization.

The City in Mind: Meditations on the Urban Condition
The City in Mind
Meditations on the Urban Condition
Paperback      ISBN: 0743227239

In the highly acclaimed The Geography of Nowhere, James Howard Kunstler declared suburbia "a tragic landscape" and fueled a fierce debate over how we will live in twenty-first-century America. Here, Kunstler turns his discerning eye to urban life in America and beyond in dazzling excursions to classical Rome, the Aztec capital of Tenochtitlan, Louis-Napoleon's Paris, the "gigantic hairball" that is contemporary Atlanta, the ludicrous spectacle of Las Vegas, and more. Seeking to discover what is constant and enduring in cities at their greatest, Kunstler explores how America got lost in suburban wilderness and locates pathways that might lead to civic revival. His authoritative tour is both a concise history of cities and a stunning critique of how they can aid or hinder social and civil progress. By turns dramatic and comic, The City in Mind is an exceptional glimpse into the urban condition.

Changing Places: Rebuilding Community in the Age of Sprawl
Changing Places
Rebuilding Community in the Age of Sprawl
Hardcover      ISBN: 0805043683

A detailed look into the historic communities that are fighting against urban development also examines the New England towns and areas in the Midwest that are battling against large conglomerates such as Wal-Mart. 12,500 first printing.

Picture Windows: How the Suburbs Happened
Picture Windows
How the Suburbs Happened
Hardcover      ISBN: 0465070450

In Picture Windows, Baxandall and Ewen shatter naive stereotypes of suburban life, replacing them with a clear and compelling historical analysis that situates the development of the suburbs in relation to the pivotal issues of postwar American life. They examine the years from World War II to the present, chronicling the transformation of rural lands into tidy, uniform subdevelopments that promised all of the comforts of postwar technology.The building of the suburbs, the authors argue, was conducted in the context of heated debates over the American standard of living, visionary planners and architects' attempts to solve the "housing crisis," women's liberation, and racial segregation. Baxandall and Ewen use interviews with hundreds of residents of three Long Island suburbs to weave together a story about suburbs past and present, and ultimately to insist on the centrality of suburban experience in the second half of the twentieth century.

A Field Guide to Sprawl
A Field Guide to Sprawl
Hardcover      ISBN: 0393731251

Duck, ruburb, tower farm, big box, and pig-in-a-python are among the dozens of zany terms invented by real estate developers and designers today to characterize land-use practices and the physical elements of sprawl. Sprawl in the environment, based on the metaphor of a person spread out, is hard to define. This concise book engages its meaning, explains common building patterns, and illustrates the visual culture of sprawl. Seventy-five stunning color aerial photographs, each paired with a definition, convey the impact of excessive development. This "engagingly organized and splendidly photographed" (Wall Street Journal) book provides the verbal and visual vocabulary needed by professionals, public officials, and citizens to critique uncontrolled growth in the American landscape.

Garbage Land: On the Secret Trail of Trash
Garbage Land
On the Secret Trail of Trash
Hardcover      ISBN: 0316738263

- In the vein of Stiff, Nickel and Dimed, and Fast Food Nation, GARBAGE LAND takes us behind the scenes and into the corners of our own lives, revealing the fantastic truth behind what we've taken for granted or never even thought about.- Royte's last book, The Tapir's Morning Bath, was a New York Times Notable Book, praised widely for Royte's keen observations and narrative skill.

Home from Nowhere: Remaking Our Everyday World for the 21st Century
Home from Nowhere
Remaking Our Everyday World for the 21st Century
Paperback      ISBN: 0684837374

In his landmark book The Geography of Nowhere James Howard Kunstler visited the tragic sprawlscape of cartoon architecture, junked cities, and ravaged countryside America had become and declared that the deteriorating environment was not merely a symptom of a troubled culture, but one of the primary causes of our discontent.
In Home from Nowhere Kunstler not only shows that the original American Dream -- the desire for peaceful, pleasant places in which to work and live -- still has a strong hold on our imaginations, but also offers innovative, eminently practical ways to make that dream a reality. Citing examples from around the country, he calls for the restoration of traditional architecture, the introduction of enduring design principles in urban planning, and the development of public spaces that acknowledge our need to interact comfortable with one another.

Green Metropolis: Why Living Smaller, Living Closer, and Driving Less Are the Keys To Sustainability
Green Metropolis
Why Living Smaller, Living Closer, and Driving Less Are the Keys To Sustainability
Hardcover      ISBN: 1594488827

Read David Owen's posts on the Penguin Blog.
A challenging, controversial, and highly readable look at our lives, our world, and our future.
In this remarkable challenge to conventional thinking about the environment, David Owen argues that the greenest community in the United States is not Portland, Oregon, or Snowmass, Colorado, but New York, New York.
Most Americans think of crowded cities as ecological nightmares, as wastelands of concrete and garbage and diesel fumes and traffic jams. Yet residents of compact urban centers, Owen shows, individually consume less oil, electricity, and water than other Americans. They live in smaller spaces, discard less trash, and, most important of all, spend far less time in automobiles. Residents of Manhattan-- the most densely populated place in North America --rank first in public-transit use and last in percapita greenhouse-gas production, and they consume gasoline at a rate that the country as a whole hasn't matched since the mid-1920s, when the most widely owned car in the United States was the Ford Model T. They are also among the only people in the United States for whom walking is still an important means of daily transportation.
These achievements are not accidents. Spreading people thinly across the countryside may make them feel green, but it doesn't reduce the damage they do to the environment. In fact, it increases the damage, while also making the problems they cause harder to see and to address. Owen contends that the environmental problem we face, at the current stage of our assault on the world's nonrenewable resources, is not how to make teeming cities more like the pristine countryside. The problem is how to make other settled places more like Manhattan, whose residents presently come closer than any other Americans to meeting environmental goals that all of us, eventually, will have to come to terms with.

Savage Inequalities: Children in America's Schools
Savage Inequalities
Children in America's Schools
Paperback      ISBN: 0060974990

National Book Award-winning author Jonathan Kozol presents his shocking account of the American educational system in this stunning New York Times bestseller, which has sold more than 250,000 hardcover copies.