Lawns, Trees and Shrubs
Featured Items
Container Theme Gardens: 42 Combinations, Each Using 5 Perfectly Matched Plants
Container Theme Gardens
42 Combinations, Each Using 5 Perfectly Matched Plants
Paperback      ISBN: 1612123988

Simple and foolproof Enjoy beautiful container plantings with no stress or fuss. Container Theme Gardens offers 42 plans for container arrangements, each using just five specific plants that you can find at your local garden center. There's something here for every setting and every style, including a meadow in a box, a pond in a pot, a simple salad garden, and a combination that will attract hummingbirds. Each plan includes photographs of what the full planting will look like, as well as a handy shopping list so you know exactly what you need.

Armitage's Vines and Climbers: A Gardener's Guide to the Best Vertical Plants
Armitage's Vines and Climbers
A Gardener's Guide to the Best Vertical Plants
Hardcover      ISBN: 1604690399
"Climbing plants are hugely underrated--this book with its lively expression of deep knowledge should encourage everyone to grow more of them." --No l Kingsbury

Climbing plants constitute a huge, and largely untapped, resource for today's gardeners. Because their habit of growth is primarily vertical, they can be used for utilitarian as well as ornamental purposes like providing privacy, or screening eyesores.

In this comprehensive reference, renowned horticulturist Allan Armitage selects and profiles the most useful and attractive climbing plants for a wide range of sites and conditions, from well-known favourites like clematis, morning glories, and wisteria to more unusual plants like Dutchman's pipe, passion flowers, and the tropical mandevillas. Each profile includes a general description (enlivened by Armitage's trademark wry humour) along with the plant's hardiness, plant family, best method of propagation, method of climbing, and etymology of botanical and common names."Climbing plants are hugely underrated--this book with its lively expression of deep knowledge should encourage everyone to grow more of them." --No l Kingsbury
Rooted: The Best New Arboreal Nonfiction
Rooted
The Best New Arboreal Nonfiction
Paperback      ISBN: 1944853227

With an introduction by Bill McKibben, thirty authors use a vast range of styles to explore our human relationship to trees, which of course is multi-faceted, messy, beautiful, selfish and symbiotic. In this collection, we meet a boy who ate a tree to gain access to the Guiness Book of World Records, a tree-tethered sniper at a pot farm in California, a man who was killed by a fallen limb in Central Park, and lots of writers, both established and emerging, whose intimate connections to trees (and their losses) have found a collective home in the pulped pages of recycled forest. Contributors include Karen Hugg, Lia Purpura, Wendy Call, Matthew Gavin Frank, M. J. Gette, Jacklyn Janeksela, Ren e E. D'Aoust, Angela Pelster, Brian Doyle, Andrea Scarpino, T. Hugh Crawford, Thomas Mira y Lopez, Steven Church, Mercedes Webb-Pullman, Fred Bahnson, Jacqueline Doyle, Stefan Olson, Diane Payne, Zo Ruiz, Amaris Feland Ketcham, Kayann Short, Diana Hume George, Annie Bellerose, Paul Lisicky, Toti O'Brien, Lori Brack, Mackenzie Myers, Courtney Amber Kilian, John Roscoe and Theresa Kishkan.

Going Native: Biodiversity in Our Own Backyards
Going Native
Biodiversity in Our Own Backyards
Paperback      ISBN: 0945352859
Trees of Wisconsin Field Guide
Trees of Wisconsin Field Guide
Paperback      ISBN: 1885061420

Make tree identification in Wisconsin even more enjoyable

Now tree identification is simple and productive.

  • 101 species--only Wisconsin trees No need to look through dozens of photos of trees that don't grow in Wisconsin
  • Fact-filled information and stunning, professional photographs
  • Easy-to-use thumb tabs showing leaf type and attachment and compare feature showing average tree height
  • Stan's Notes, including naturalist information and gee-whiz facts
The Untouchable Tree: An Illustrated Guide to Earthly Wisdom & Arboreal Delights
The Untouchable Tree
An Illustrated Guide to Earthly Wisdom & Arboreal Delights
Hardcover      ISBN: 1602393389

An artist shares his love of trees with his brilliant paintings and thoughtful words. According to Peter Stone, "any book about trees can't help but be a book about people," and so his book is about our connection to the magnificence, the transcendence, and the essential nature of trees. Throughout human history, they have served as shelter and as symbol. And today, more than ever, our destiny is tied to theirs. The Untouchable Tree is a unique exploration of our relationship with these amazing plants. It covers everything from our exploitation of trees for material gain to our unique love of woodlands, parks, and forests. Peter C. Stone is an artist in the best sense of the word. His paintings and his words remind us of why we love trees and forests--and why they are important. 30 color illustrations.

Every Root an Anchor: Wisconsin's Famous and Historic Trees
Every Root an Anchor
Wisconsin's Famous and Historic Trees
2nd Edition    Paperback      ISBN: 0870203703

In "Every Root an Anchor," writer and arborist R. Bruce Allison celebrates Wisconsin's most significant, unusual, and historic trees. More than one hundred tales introduce us to trees across the state, some remarkable for their size or age, others for their intriguing histories. From magnificent elms to beloved pines to Frank Lloyd Wright's oaks, these trees are woven into our history, contributing to our sense of place. They are anchors for time-honored customs, manifestations of our ideals, and reminders of our lives' most significant events.

For this updated edition, Allison revisits the trees' histories and tells us which of these unique landmarks are still standing. He sets forth an environmental message as well, reminding us to recognize our connectedness to trees and to manage our tree resources wisely. As early Wisconsin conservationist Increase Lapham said, "Tree histories increase our love of home and improve our hearts. They deserve to be told and remembered."

Around the World in 80 Trees: (the Perfect Gift for Tree Lovers)
Around the World in 80 Trees
(the Perfect Gift for Tree Lovers)
Hardcover      ISBN: 1786271613
"An arboreal odyssey" - NATURE

"One of the most quietly beautiful books of the year" - DAILY MAIL

Discover the secretive world of trees in Jonathan Drori's number one bestseller...

Bestselling author and environmentalist Jonathan Drori follows in the footsteps of Phileas Fogg as he tells the stories of 80 magnificent trees from all over the globe.

In Around the World in 80 Trees, Jonathan Drori uses plant science to illuminate how trees play a role in every part of human life, from the romantic to the regrettable. From the trees of Britain, to India's sacred banyan tree, they offer us sanctuary and inspiration - not to mention the raw materials for everything from aspirin to maple syrup.

Stops on the trip include the lime trees of Berlin's Unter den Linden boulevard, which intoxicate amorous Germans and hungry bees alike, the swankiest streets in nineteenth-century London, which were paved with Australian eucalyptus wood, and the redwood forests of California, where the secret to the trees' soaring heights can be found in the properties of the tiniest drops of water.

Each of these strange and true tales - populated by self-mummifying monks, tree-climbing goats and ever-so-slightly radioactive nuts - is illustrated by Lucille Clerc, taking the reader on a journey that is as informative as it is beautiful. The book combines history, science and a wealth of quirky detail - there should be surprises for everyone.

Perfect for fans of Peter Wohlleben's The Hidden Life of Trees, this new book will certainly whet the appetite of any tree lover to take an around-the-world trip, or simply visit your local botanic garden. The perfect travel guide for nature enthusiasts.

"An irresistible mix of science, culture, botany, history and vicarious travel" - SYDNEY MORNING HERALD

"Reads like a love song to the natural world, brimming with ancient anecdotes contained within the earth" - CULTURE TRIP
The Complete Encyclopedia of Trees and Shrubs: Descriptions, Cultivation Requirements, Pruning, Planting
The Complete Encyclopedia of Trees and Shrubs
Descriptions, Cultivation Requirements, Pruning, Planting
Hardcover      ISBN: 1592230555

The Complete Encyclopedia of Trees and Shrubs gives comprehensive descriptions to satisfy any arborist. Focusing on vegetation that is extraordinary for its adaptational ability, wild beauty, or unique evolutionary position, this is an excellent resource. The book is divided into three sections: trees and shrubs looked at in general terms; arranged in alphabetical order according to genus; and then depicted in numerous color illustrations, showing leaf and flower shapes, growth habits, and structures. Over 1400 photographs are featured.

Forest Bathing: How Trees Can Help You Find Health and Happiness
Forest Bathing
How Trees Can Help You Find Health and Happiness
Hardcover      ISBN: 052555985x
The definitive guide to the therapeutic Japanese practice of shinrin-yoku, or the art and science of how trees can promote health and happiness

Notice how a tree sways in the wind. Run your hands over its bark. Take in its citrusy scent. As a society we suffer from nature deficit disorder, but studies have shown that spending mindful, intentional time around trees--what the Japanese call shinrin-yoku, or forest bathing--can promote health and happiness.

In this beautiful book--featuring more than 100 color photographs from forests around the world, including the forest therapy trails that criss-cross Japan--Dr. Qing Li, the world's foremost expert in forest medicine, shows how forest bathing can reduce your stress levels and blood pressure, strengthen your immune and cardiovascular systems, boost your energy, mood, creativity, and concentration, and even help you lose weight and live longer.

Once you've discovered the healing power of trees, you can lose yourself in the beauty of your surroundings, leave everyday stress behind, and reach a place of greater calm and wellness.