Medical Reference
Featured Items
Gulp: Adventures on the Alimentary Canal
Gulp
Adventures on the Alimentary Canal
Hardcover      ISBN: 0393081575

Like all of Roach's books, Gulp is as much about human beings as it is about human bodies.

Fitness Professionals' Guide to Musculoskeletal Anatomy and Human Movement
Fitness Professionals' Guide to Musculoskeletal Anatomy and Human Movement
Paperback      ISBN: 1585187062

Fitness Professionals' Guide to Musculoskeletal Anatomy and Human Movement is a revolution in the field of human movement. Comprehensive and meticulous, this ground-breaking text is ideal for college courses and a must for any fitness professional. For each muscle in the body, the book includes a detailed illustration that uses color to highlight the muscle. Along with the illustrations, you'll find a brief description of each muscle as well as information on its joint crossings, associated body actions, blood supply, controlling nerves, and insertion and origin.
The accompanying CD-ROM is one-of-a-kind. Developed specifically as a companion to this text, the intuitive and easy-to-use PC CD-ROM applies each of the muscles and body actions described in the book to neatly 300 specific exercises. Each exercise is shown in full-motion video and demonstrated in repeatable, correct form, with complete descriptions, step-by-step instructions and a list of the body actions used to perform each exercise. By double clicking on any of the 65 body actions, you'll get alist of each muscle used in that action. Double-click aon any of the muscles in the list, and you'll be presented with the same detailed information about that muscle as you'll find in the book. In addition, the CD enables you to view a printable, full-color image of the muscle that you can magnify and isolate from the surrounding muscles. It even gives you an audio clip of the correct pronunciation.
Another feature of the CD allows you to view over 100 movement related activities, from a field hockey backhand to gardening to rowing a canoe, with corresponding body actions and the same couble-click to live action footage andmusculoskeletal detail provided for the the 300 exercises.
The CD allows you to print sixteen different skeleton illustrations for use in muscle placement exercises. It also contains 20 multiple-choice quizzes on various nomenclatures, actions and attachements; these can be taken electronically and scored instantly or printed for use in classroom exercises.

Your Inner Fish: A Journey Into the 3.5-Billion-Year History of the Human Body
Your Inner Fish
A Journey Into the 3.5-Billion-Year History of the Human Body
Paperback      ISBN: 0307277453

Neil Shubin, the paleontologist and professor of anatomy who co-discovered Tiktaalik, the "fish with hands," tells the story of our bodies as you've never heard it before. The basis for the PBS series.

By examining fossils and DNA, he shows us that our hands actually resemble fish fins, our heads are organized like long-extinct jawless fish, and major parts of our genomes look and function like those of worms and bacteria. Your Inner Fish makes us look at ourselves and our world in an illuminating new light. This is science writing at its finest--enlightening, accessible and told with irresistible enthusiasm.

Breasts: A Natural and Unnatural History
Breasts
A Natural and Unnatural History
Paperback      ISBN: 0393345076

In this informative and highly entertaining account, intrepid science reporter Florence Williams sets out to uncover the latest scientific findings from the fields of anthropology, biology, and medicine. Her investigation follows the life cycle of the breast from puberty to pregnancy to menopause, taking her from a plastic surgeon's office where she learns about the importance of cup size in Texas to the laboratory where she discovers the presence of environmental toxins in her own breast milk. The result is a fascinating exploration of where breasts came from, where they have ended up, and what we can do to save them.
How We Die: Reflections of Life's Final Chapter, New Edition
How We Die
Reflections of Life's Final Chapter, New Edition
Paperback      ISBN: 0679742441

New Edition With a new chapter addressing contemporary issues in end-of-life care

A runaway bestseller and National Book Award winner, Sherwin Nuland's How We Die has become the definitive text on perhaps the single most universal human concern: death. This new edition includes an all-embracing and incisive afterword that examines the current state of health care and our relationship with life as it approaches its terminus. It also discusses how we can take control of our own final days and those of our loved ones.

Shewin Nuland's masterful How We Die is even more relevant than when it was first published.

Treating Lesbians and Bisexual Women: Challenges and Strategies for Health Professionals
Treating Lesbians and Bisexual Women
Challenges and Strategies for Health Professionals
Paperback      ISBN: 0761900454

Written in a scholarly but accessible style, this book provides an integrated critical analysis of lesbian and bisexual women's health. The book highlights trends and themes, with selected examples of research and personal experience of lesbians and bisexual women and their health care providers.

The Wild Life of Our Bodies: Predators, Parasites, and Partners That Shape Who We Are Today
The Wild Life of Our Bodies
Predators, Parasites, and Partners That Shape Who We Are Today
Paperback      ISBN: 0061806463

In the name of progress, we scrub much of nature off our bodies and homes, removing whole kinds of life--parasites, bacteria, and predators. To modern humans, nature is the landscape outside.

Biologist Rob Dunn contends that while "clean living has benefited us in some ways, it has also made us sicker in others." Here, he examines how we can create a richer nature, one in which we choose to surround ourselves with species that benefit us, not just those that, despite us, survive.

Freshman Common Read: Vassar College

Last Night in the OR: A Transplant Surgeon's Odyssey
Last Night in the OR
A Transplant Surgeon's Odyssey
Paperback      ISBN: 0147515335
For readers of Henry Marsh's Do No Harm, Paul A. Ruggieri's Confessions of a Surgeon, and Atul Gawande's Better, a pioneering surgeon shares memories from a life in one of surgery's most demanding fields

The 1980s marked a revolution in the field of organ transplants, and Bud Shaw, M.D., who studied under Tom Starzl in Pittsburgh, was on the front lines. Now retired from active practice, Dr. Shaw relays gripping moments of anguish and elation, frustration and reward, despair and hope in his struggle to save patients. He reveals harshly intimate moments of his medical career: telling a patient's husband that his wife has died during surgery; struggling to complete a twenty-hour operation as mental and physical exhaustion inch closer and closer; and flying to retrieve a donor organ while the patient waits in the operating room. Within these more emotionally charged vignettes are quieter ones, too, like growing up in rural Ohio, and being awakened late at night by footsteps in the hall as his father, also a surgeon, slipped out of the house to attend to a patient in the ER.

In the tradition of Mary Roach, Jerome Groopman, Eric Topol, and Atul Gawande, Last Night in the OR is an exhilarating, fast-paced, and beautifully written memoir, one that will captivate readers with its courage, intimacy, and honesty.
The Princeton Review Anatomy Coloring Workbook
The Princeton Review Anatomy Coloring Workbook
Paperback      ISBN: 0375763422

Anatomy Coloring Workbook
The human body is wondrously complex, with 700 muscles, 206 bones, and countless cells and tissues. Studying and remembering all of them can be overwhelming.
The Anatomy Coloring Workbook gives you a clear and concise understanding of anatomy. The interactive approach to learning anatomy through coloring takes less time than memorizing from textbooks and flashcards. The coloring process thoroughly fixes anatomical concepts in your mind, and when you need to recall the material, you'll be able to visualize the body structures.
The diagrams and plates in the Anatomy Coloring Workbook have been created electronically, to give you a sharp, precise rendering of anatomical structures. We fully explain the concepts behind each coloring lesson to make the learning experience complete. We include an introductory section on anatomical terminology to get you started, coloring suggestions to assist you, and labels for easy identification and reference.
This book is an invaluable resource for students of anatomy, physiology, biology, psychology, nursing, medical technology, health administration, fitness education, nutrition, art, and more.
Medical practitioners, dentists and dental hygienists, physical and occupational therapists, educators, and professionals in scores of other fields will also find directed coloring a helpful means of review.
The 125 plates in the book are organized into the following sections:
Introduction to Anatomy
The Skeletal System
The Muscular System
The Nervous System
The Endocrine System
The Circulatory System
The Digestive System
The Respiratory System
The Urinary System
The Reproductive System

The Joy of Living: Unlocking the Secret and Science of Happiness
The Joy of Living
Unlocking the Secret and Science of Happiness
Paperback      ISBN: 0307347311
A New York Times Bestseller

An illuminating perspective on the science of meditation--and a handbook for transforming our minds, bodies, and lives

In The Joy of Living, world-renowned Buddhist teacher Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche--the "happiest man in the world"--invites us to join him in unlocking the secrets to finding joy and contentment in the everyday. Using the basic meditation practices he provides, we can discover paths through our problems, transforming obstacles into opportunities to recognize the unlimited potential of our own minds.