Camping
Featured Items
Homecamp: Stories and Inspiration for the Modern Adventurer
Homecamp
Stories and Inspiration for the Modern Adventurer
Hardcover      ISBN: 1741175038
Homecamp is an impressive package that will inspire you to switch off and get lost in the beauty and wonder that nature has to offer.

It's difficult to find nature amidst the rush, bustle and electronic pop-ups that flood our modern lives - to leave stress and hurry behind, embracing the simple pleasure to be found in pounding waves, a roaring campfire and a sky full of stars. But nature isn't as far away as you think.

Homecamp is a beautiful collection of stories and images from everyday adventurers - people who have found ways to experience and embrace the outdoors, on their terms. Some have gone on epic adventures: sold their belongings and lived in a van, trekked through the Himalayas or biked across continents. Others simply found new ways of seeing the world around them: cleaned up a beach, learned how to forage or spent a night alone in the woods. All found that their experiences in nature transformed their lives and freed them, even if only briefly, from the monotony of their 9-5 grind.

This book will inspire you to rediscover the joys and the rejuvenating power of spending time outside. Along with compelling stories, interviews and imagery, you'll find a how-to guide full of helpful tips, from how to choose and set up camp to brewing the perfect campfire coffee and enjoying the outdoors without a trace.
50 Hikes in Wisconsin
50 Hikes in Wisconsin
3rd Edition    Paperback      ISBN: 1682680908

You'll be taken deep into the woods of Chequamegon-Nicolet National Forest and to the breathtaking bluffs of Devil's Lake State Park. Each trail is different, but all have been chosen for the great experiences they offer--whether in summer or in winter. In June, take in the beautiful sights and scents of the wildflowers in Nashotah Park. Then come back during December to snowshoe and cross-country ski across the trails that are open in the winter. With 50 Hikes in Wisconsin in tow, you're sure to have the journey of a lifetime.

The Kids Campfire Book: Official Book of Campfire Fun
The Kids Campfire Book
Official Book of Campfire Fun
Paperback      ISBN: 1550745395

This book in the Family Fun series has everything you need to know about having a fun and safe campfire. This collection of outdoor activities, games, stories, songs and more is for kids and families to share around the campfire. It includes tips on how to find the best campfire site, identify animal cries at night and locate constellations. Kids will also find out how to make pizza over an open fire, tell a spooky ghost story, or create musical instruments for a sing-along. With more than 125 pages of fun things to do around a campfire, this is the perfect book for every camper, canoeist and camp counsellor

Practical Camping Handbook: How to Get the Most from Camping - Everything from Planning Your Trip to Setting Up Camp and Cooking Outdoors, with Ov
Practical Camping Handbook
How to Get the Most from Camping - Everything from Planning Your Trip to Setting Up Camp and Cooking Outdoors, with Ov
Paperback      ISBN: 1780194021

This fully comprehensive guide covers the key camp craft and orienteering skills needed, whether for a family holiday on a pre-booked campsite, or for a wilder expedition into the deep backcountry.

How to Have Sex in the Woods
How to Have Sex in the Woods
1st Edition    Paperback      ISBN: 0609804022

Offers advice and guidance on selecting camping equipment, choosing a site, maintaining personal hygiene, first aid, and avoiding unwanted animals while exploring amorous endeavors in the great out-of-doors

Outward Bound Canoeing Handbook
Outward Bound Canoeing Handbook
Paperback      ISBN: 0762784253

Outward Bound Canoeing Handbook is a handy, illustrated resource on the fundamentals of canoeing, including solid, sound instruction on all aspects of canoeing, from types of canoes to equipment choices, paddle and on-the-water techniques, safety tips, an

Astoria: Astor and Jefferson's Lost Pacific Empire: A Tale of Ambition and Survival on the Early American Frontier
Astoria: Astor and Jefferson's Lost Pacific Empire
A Tale of Ambition and Survival on the Early American Frontier
Paperback      ISBN: 0062218301

In the tradition of The Lost City of Z and Skeletons in the Zahara, Astoria is the thrilling, true-adventure tale of the 1810 Astor Expedition, an epic, now forgotten, three-year journey to forge an American empire on the Pacific Coast. Peter Stark offers a harrowing saga in which a band of explorers battled nature, starvation, and madness to establish the first American settlement in the Pacific Northwest and opened up what would become the Oregon trail, permanently altering the nation's landscape and its global standing.

Six years after Lewis and Clark's began their journey to the Pacific Northwest, two of the Eastern establishment's leading figures, John Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson, turned their sights to founding a colony akin to Jamestown on the West Coast and transforming the nation into a Pacific trading power. Author and correspondent for Outside magazine Peter Stark recreates this pivotal moment in American history for the first time for modern readers, drawing on original source material to tell the amazing true story of the Astor Expedition.

Unfolding over the course of three years, from 1810 to 1813, Astoria is a tale of high adventure and incredible hardship in the wilderness and at sea. Of the more than one hundred-forty members of the two advance parties that reached the West Coast--one crossing the Rockies, the other rounding Cape Horn--nearly half perished by violence. Others went mad. Within one year, the expedition successfully established Fort Astoria, a trading post on the Columbia River. Though the colony would be short-lived, it opened provincial American eyes to the potential of the Western coast and its founders helped blaze the Oregon Trail.

You're Sending Me Where?: Dispatches from Summer Camp
You're Sending Me Where?
Dispatches from Summer Camp
Paperback      ISBN: 1517902401

Welcome Benvenuti It's summertime in northern Minnesota and a bus full of kids is about to arrive at the Italian Concordia Language Village, better known as camp. Inexplicably the chief lifeguard has chosen this moment to conduct a "missing villager drill," prompting staff to strip to their underwear in a simulated rush to search the lake. It's an inopportune time for a surprise visit from the Health Inspector, but there he is--just as an Italian counselor calls through the walkie-talkie, "My God, there's blood everywhere " He's finally clobbered the chipmunk that's been stealing his candy.

When at age six he had to be hauled kicking and screaming on the bus bound for camp, Eric Dregni could not have imagined this moment. But all the days and weeks of summer camp since then have shown him the abundant pleasures of this uniquely American experience--and given him plenty of stories to tell. In You're Sending Me Where? Dregni takes us back to those boyhood days of running head-on into nature with his fellow campers and learning a few valuable lessons, such as don't let the van driver leave you and your canoe until you're sure there's actually water in the "flowage."

From discouraging summer love to soothing homesick campers to--Oh no Bats --taking everyone to town for their rabies shots, to the difficulty of saying goodbye, Eric Dregni's wise, funny book reassures us that there's still a place in the woods where, unplugged from devices and screens, children of all ages can connect with the natural world--and with each other.

Campfire Tales Midwest
Campfire Tales Midwest
Paperback      ISBN: 0764347713

Experience 10 heart-pounding tales of the Midwest based on history, lore, and legends from around the region--perfect for telling around the campfire. Discover what it feels like to be a ghost or to bring one home. Explore what may be lurking at the bottom of a lake at a favorite vacation spot. Solve the mystery and unlock the secrets of a strange journal brought forth by an old doctor who may or may not be a part of this world. Unearth one of the seven gateways to hell and venture into the fiery depths below. Determine for yourself what is real and what is fiction, as these and other haunting tales paint a landscape rife with creepy paranormal activity.

Moon Grand Canyon
Moon Grand Canyon
Paperback      ISBN: 1631215655
Discover the serene vistas, diverse wildlife, and unforgettable thrills of this stunning national treasure with Moon Grand Canyon. Inside you'll find:
  • Flexible Itineraries: Adventure-packed ideas ranging from one day in the park to a week-long trip, designed for outdoor adventurers, families, history buffs, couples, and more
  • The Best Hikes in and Around the Grand Canyon: Detailed descriptions, individual trail maps, mileage and elevation gains, and backpacking options
  • Experience the Outdoors: Go backcountry camping in the inner canyon or rafting down the Colorado River. Head to the Havasupai reservation's Havasu Canyon for a waterfall-filled hike, or ride horseback through the South Rim. Mountain bike along the Rainbow Rim or stroll along a 70-foot skywalk stretching into the canyon. Shop and dine in the bustling Grand Canyon Village or discover the canyon's fascinating formation story at the Yavapai Geology Museum
  • How to Get There: Up-to-date information on gateway towns, park entrances, park fees, and tours
  • Where to Stay: Campgrounds, cabins, resorts, and more both inside and outside the park
  • Planning Tips: When to go, what to pack, safety information, and how to avoid the crowds, with full-color photos and detailed maps throughout
  • Expertise and Know-How: Explore with Grand Canyon expert Kathleen Bryant
Find your adventure in Grand Canyon National Park with Moon.
Visiting more of Americas national parks? Try Moon Zion & Bryce. Traveling beyond the park? Try Moon Arizona & the Grand Canyon.