Camping
Featured Items
50 Hikes in Wisconsin
50 Hikes in Wisconsin
3rd Edition    Paperback      ISBN: 1682680908

You'll be taken deep into the woods of Chequamegon-Nicolet National Forest and to the breathtaking bluffs of Devil's Lake State Park. Each trail is different, but all have been chosen for the great experiences they offer--whether in summer or in winter. In June, take in the beautiful sights and scents of the wildflowers in Nashotah Park. Then come back during December to snowshoe and cross-country ski across the trails that are open in the winter. With 50 Hikes in Wisconsin in tow, you're sure to have the journey of a lifetime.

Badass Prepper's Handbook: Everything You Need to Know to Prepare Yourself for the Worst
Badass Prepper's Handbook
Everything You Need to Know to Prepare Yourself for the Worst
Paperback      ISBN: 162914732x

Disaster can strike at any time with no warning. Most people aren't forward-thinking enough to prepare for the worst, and others simply don't have the skills needed to successfully prepare. That's where Badass Preppers Handbook comes in. Covering a wide variety of disaster scenarios with detailed instructions for what you need to do in each one, this book will help you to be ready for anything in no time at all. Learn such things as:
- How to fortify your home
- How to preserve and store food and water for years
- What should go in your "bug out" bag
- How to cook off the grid
- What firearms and ammo will best help you survive the apocalypse
- And more
With this ultimate guide in disaster survival, you'll be ready to protect yourself, your family, your neighbors, and your pets, no matter what the disaster is.

The Pocket Guide to Prepping Supplies: More Than 200 Items You Can't Be Without
The Pocket Guide to Prepping Supplies
More Than 200 Items You Can't Be Without
Paperback      ISBN: 1510705422
You will need more than just food and water when the grid goes down.

Many people know what they need to survive a doomsday scenario. They stock high-calorie foods and clean water, they find their own sources of power and heat, and they prepare to defend themselves, if need be. With all they have stored, they have the ability to survive for days, weeks, even months.

You may think you have finished preparing once you have accumulated these basic necessities, but there is always more that can be done. In The Pocket Guide to Prepping Supplies, Patty Hahne offers up two hundred and thirty-five oft-forgotten items that may prove to be indispensable for surviving the apocalypse--should it happen. From the mundane, like quality shelving and needle and thread, to more specialized tools, such as a closet auger and jumper cables, Hahne describes how each one can prove to be a vital addition to the prepper's cache. You may be surprised to see what common household items can do when used creatively, and Hahne is here to help inspire you.

Presented in a compact design, The Pocket Guide to Prepping Supplies is an important addition to any prepper's book collection, one that can be carried in a purse or pocket, stored in the car, or slipped into that carefully prepared bug-out bag.
Handy Dad in the Great Outdoors: More Than 30 Super-Cool Projects and Activities for Dads and Kids
Handy Dad in the Great Outdoors
More Than 30 Super-Cool Projects and Activities for Dads and Kids
Paperback      ISBN: 1452102139

Slacklining, edible bugs, tarp surfing, and more In this awesome follow-up to the hugely popular Handy Dad, extreme sports athlete and TV host Todd Davis gathers more than 30 projects and activities sure to get kids outside and entertained for hours. With easy-to-follow instructions, helpful photographs, and detailed line illustrations, Handy Dad in the Great Outdoors is packed with all the essentials. From simple campsite know-how to more ambitious building projects (tepee anyone?), plus a few pranks for good measure, this book has something for every family and every place--be it the back country or the backyard.

Astoria: Astor and Jefferson's Lost Pacific Empire: A Tale of Ambition and Survival on the Early American Frontier
Astoria: Astor and Jefferson's Lost Pacific Empire
A Tale of Ambition and Survival on the Early American Frontier
Paperback      ISBN: 0062218301

In the tradition of The Lost City of Z and Skeletons in the Zahara, Astoria is the thrilling, true-adventure tale of the 1810 Astor Expedition, an epic, now forgotten, three-year journey to forge an American empire on the Pacific Coast. Peter Stark offers a harrowing saga in which a band of explorers battled nature, starvation, and madness to establish the first American settlement in the Pacific Northwest and opened up what would become the Oregon trail, permanently altering the nation's landscape and its global standing.

Six years after Lewis and Clark's began their journey to the Pacific Northwest, two of the Eastern establishment's leading figures, John Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson, turned their sights to founding a colony akin to Jamestown on the West Coast and transforming the nation into a Pacific trading power. Author and correspondent for Outside magazine Peter Stark recreates this pivotal moment in American history for the first time for modern readers, drawing on original source material to tell the amazing true story of the Astor Expedition.

Unfolding over the course of three years, from 1810 to 1813, Astoria is a tale of high adventure and incredible hardship in the wilderness and at sea. Of the more than one hundred-forty members of the two advance parties that reached the West Coast--one crossing the Rockies, the other rounding Cape Horn--nearly half perished by violence. Others went mad. Within one year, the expedition successfully established Fort Astoria, a trading post on the Columbia River. Though the colony would be short-lived, it opened provincial American eyes to the potential of the Western coast and its founders helped blaze the Oregon Trail.

Basic Illustrated Camping
Basic Illustrated Camping
2nd Edition    Paperback      ISBN: 1493012533

Richly illustrated and information-packed tools for the novice or handy reference for the veteran, Basic Illustrated books distill years of knowledge into affordable and visual guides. Whether you're planning a trip or thumbing for facts in the field, the Basic Illustrated series shows you what you need to know. In Basic Illustrated Camping, discover how to build a fire, even in wet weather; select and use your camping gear; cook quick and tasty meals in the outdoors; rig a campsite tent with the four basic knots and hitches; and use a map and compass to master the fundamentals of backcountry navigation.

Birding 101: A Folding Pocket Guide for Beginning Birders
Birding 101
A Folding Pocket Guide for Beginning Birders
Paperback      ISBN: 1620052296

Birders use many kinds of information to identify birds, including size and shape, color pattern, markings, behavior, habitat and calls. This handy guide puts basic birding skills at your fingertips, explaining simple techniques that allow you to sort birds into categories for easier ID. It also discusses equipment needs, resources and tools for the beginning birder, as well as tips for attracting birds to your backyard.

The Backpacker's Field Manual, Revised and Updated: A Comprehensive Guide to Mastering Backcountry Skills
The Backpacker's Field Manual, Revised and Updated
A Comprehensive Guide to Mastering Backcountry Skills
Paperback      ISBN: 1400053099

When it was first published in 1998, The Backpacker's Field Manual set the standard for comprehensive backpacking books. Now exhaustively updated to offer a more complete view of backpacking today, it covers the latest developments in gear--such as Global Positioning Systems and ultralight hiking equipment--first aid, and Leave No Trace comping, and includes a chapter devoted to outdoor leadership resources and basics. Beginners and experienced hikers alike will find this book indispensable for trip planning strategies and also as a quick reference on the trail for:

BACKCOUNTRY SKILLS--how to forecast the weather, identify trees, bear-proof your campsite, wrap an injured ankle, and more--illustrated with more than 100 line drawings.

TRICKS OF THE TRAIL--time-tested practical lessons learned along the way

GOING ULTRALIGHT--downsizing suggestions for those who want to lighten up

Every traveler knows that space in a backpack is limited, so on your next trip, carry the only guide you'll ever need--this one--and take to the great outdoors with confidence.
The Encyclopedia of Survival Tech
The Encyclopedia of Survival Tech
Paperback      ISBN: 1585740624

"The Encyclopedia of Survival Techniques" gives you everything you need to know about staying alive in the wild. Learn where to find water in desert; how to build shelters from locally available materials that will keep out the elements but will also be well ventilated; which plants are safe to eat and which are deadly; and which animals are dangerous in survival situations.

Organized by climate and terrain (desert, sea, arctic climate, mountain, and jungle), "The Encyclopedia of Survival Techniques" is packed with over two hundred line drawings that provide step-by-step guidance to mastering survival situations, from making tools and preserving food in the wild to finding your way back to civilization. Key topics include constructing shelters; building traps, tools, and rafts; wilderness first aid (from mending broken bones to emergency surgery); rope craft and knots; and how to survive natural disasters.

Whether trying to build a fire on a frozen mountainside or seeking drinking water in a barren desert, you won't want to be without "The Encyclopedia of Survival Techniques" to survive all of nature's obstacles.

Songbirds of North America: A Visual Directory of 100 of the Most Popular Songbirds in North America
Songbirds of North America
A Visual Directory of 100 of the Most Popular Songbirds in North America
Hardcover      ISBN: 0785833870

A visual directory with over 100 of the most popular North American bird calls. Beautiful illustrations show each bird's distinctive colors and plumage, and detailed information reveals their origin, behavior, feeding, and migration habits.

Learn how and why birds sing, and discover the wide range of tones and melodies. A CD of birdsongs from The Macaulay Library of Cornell University's Ornithology lab is included and helps you identify the calls heard in your backyard, while simple notions in the book denotes the rhythmic ride and fall of the songs. Find out when and where to best hear America's most beloved songbirds, and discover how to turn your backyard into an aviary haven with practical advice on planting, feeding routines, and optimal nesting boxes.