Camping
Featured Items
Campfire Tales Midwest
Campfire Tales Midwest
Paperback      ISBN: 0764347713

Experience 10 heart-pounding tales of the Midwest based on history, lore, and legends from around the region--perfect for telling around the campfire. Discover what it feels like to be a ghost or to bring one home. Explore what may be lurking at the bottom of a lake at a favorite vacation spot. Solve the mystery and unlock the secrets of a strange journal brought forth by an old doctor who may or may not be a part of this world. Unearth one of the seven gateways to hell and venture into the fiery depths below. Determine for yourself what is real and what is fiction, as these and other haunting tales paint a landscape rife with creepy paranormal activity.

How to Shit in the Woods: An Environmentally Sound Approach to a Lost Art
How to Shit in the Woods
An Environmentally Sound Approach to a Lost Art
2nd Edition    Paperback      ISBN: 0898156270

This updated edition provides a guide to the art of going out-of-doors. It deals with the whens, wheres, how, and what-nows, with chapters such as Anatomy of a crap and For women only: How not to pee in your boots. It includes information on how to take waste home, for rock climbers, kayakers and others dealing with rock-hard and fragile ecosystems, and is illustrated by black and white drawings.

Sex in a Tent: A Wild Couple's Guide to Getting Naughty in Nature
Sex in a Tent
A Wild Couple's Guide to Getting Naughty in Nature
1st Edition    Paperback      ISBN: 0899974325
Get ready for the big O--everything you need to get outside and get it on

Looking for ways to heat up your love life? Sex in a Tent will show you how to toss aside your bed sheets and discover your wild side outside. You'll find it's good for your sex life--and your relationship too

In this penetrating guide to what really goes on behind the tent flap (or under a tree, or in a canoe), author Michelle Waitzman reveals her tips from her years of experience "playing the field" in the backcountry.

Filled with illustrations, positions, games, tricks, and stories from dozens of outdoor lovers, this book will inspire you to leave your bedroom behind in favor of the orgasmic opportunities for love, sex, and adventure in the great outdoors.

"I don't know how I ever had sex in a tent without this guide Essential."
--Susie Bright

"Smart and funny."
--Rosie Fernandez, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation

You're Sending Me Where?: Dispatches from Summer Camp
You're Sending Me Where?
Dispatches from Summer Camp
Paperback      ISBN: 1517902401

Welcome Benvenuti It's summertime in northern Minnesota and a bus full of kids is about to arrive at the Italian Concordia Language Village, better known as camp. Inexplicably the chief lifeguard has chosen this moment to conduct a "missing villager drill," prompting staff to strip to their underwear in a simulated rush to search the lake. It's an inopportune time for a surprise visit from the Health Inspector, but there he is--just as an Italian counselor calls through the walkie-talkie, "My God, there's blood everywhere " He's finally clobbered the chipmunk that's been stealing his candy.

When at age six he had to be hauled kicking and screaming on the bus bound for camp, Eric Dregni could not have imagined this moment. But all the days and weeks of summer camp since then have shown him the abundant pleasures of this uniquely American experience--and given him plenty of stories to tell. In You're Sending Me Where? Dregni takes us back to those boyhood days of running head-on into nature with his fellow campers and learning a few valuable lessons, such as don't let the van driver leave you and your canoe until you're sure there's actually water in the "flowage."

From discouraging summer love to soothing homesick campers to--Oh no Bats --taking everyone to town for their rabies shots, to the difficulty of saying goodbye, Eric Dregni's wise, funny book reassures us that there's still a place in the woods where, unplugged from devices and screens, children of all ages can connect with the natural world--and with each other.

Boy Scouts Handbook: Original 1911 Edition
Boy Scouts Handbook
Original 1911 Edition
Paperback      ISBN: 1616081988
This is a full-color edition of the very first Boy Scouts Handbook, complete with the wonderful vintage advertisements that accompanied the original1911 edition, Over 40 million copies in print

The original Boy Scouts Handbook standardized American scouting and emphasized the virtues and qualifications for scouting, delineating what the American Boy Scouts declared was needed to be a "well-developed, well-informed boy." The book includes information on:
  • The organization of scouting
  • Signs and signaling
  • Camping
  • Scouting games
  • Description of scouting honors.

Scouts past and present will be fascinated to see how scouting has changed, as well as what has stayed the same over the years.

"In these pages and throughout our organization we have made it obligatory upon our scouts that they cultivate courage, loyalty, patriotism, brotherliness, self-control courtesy, kindness to animals, usefulness, cheerfulness, cleanliness, thrift purity, and honor, no one can doubt that with such training added to his native gifts, the American boy will bin the near future, as a man, bean efficient leader in the paths of civilization and peace."--From the Preface
Handy Dad in the Great Outdoors: More Than 30 Super-Cool Projects and Activities for Dads and Kids
Handy Dad in the Great Outdoors
More Than 30 Super-Cool Projects and Activities for Dads and Kids
Paperback      ISBN: 1452102139

Slacklining, edible bugs, tarp surfing, and more In this awesome follow-up to the hugely popular Handy Dad, extreme sports athlete and TV host Todd Davis gathers more than 30 projects and activities sure to get kids outside and entertained for hours. With easy-to-follow instructions, helpful photographs, and detailed line illustrations, Handy Dad in the Great Outdoors is packed with all the essentials. From simple campsite know-how to more ambitious building projects (tepee anyone?), plus a few pranks for good measure, this book has something for every family and every place--be it the back country or the backyard.

Basic Illustrated Camping
Basic Illustrated Camping
2nd Edition    Paperback      ISBN: 1493012533

Richly illustrated and information-packed tools for the novice or handy reference for the veteran, Basic Illustrated books distill years of knowledge into affordable and visual guides. Whether you're planning a trip or thumbing for facts in the field, the Basic Illustrated series shows you what you need to know. In Basic Illustrated Camping, discover how to build a fire, even in wet weather; select and use your camping gear; cook quick and tasty meals in the outdoors; rig a campsite tent with the four basic knots and hitches; and use a map and compass to master the fundamentals of backcountry navigation.

Astoria: Astor and Jefferson's Lost Pacific Empire: A Tale of Ambition and Survival on the Early American Frontier
Astoria: Astor and Jefferson's Lost Pacific Empire
A Tale of Ambition and Survival on the Early American Frontier
Paperback      ISBN: 0062218301

In the tradition of The Lost City of Z and Skeletons in the Zahara, Astoria is the thrilling, true-adventure tale of the 1810 Astor Expedition, an epic, now forgotten, three-year journey to forge an American empire on the Pacific Coast. Peter Stark offers a harrowing saga in which a band of explorers battled nature, starvation, and madness to establish the first American settlement in the Pacific Northwest and opened up what would become the Oregon trail, permanently altering the nation's landscape and its global standing.

Six years after Lewis and Clark's began their journey to the Pacific Northwest, two of the Eastern establishment's leading figures, John Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson, turned their sights to founding a colony akin to Jamestown on the West Coast and transforming the nation into a Pacific trading power. Author and correspondent for Outside magazine Peter Stark recreates this pivotal moment in American history for the first time for modern readers, drawing on original source material to tell the amazing true story of the Astor Expedition.

Unfolding over the course of three years, from 1810 to 1813, Astoria is a tale of high adventure and incredible hardship in the wilderness and at sea. Of the more than one hundred-forty members of the two advance parties that reached the West Coast--one crossing the Rockies, the other rounding Cape Horn--nearly half perished by violence. Others went mad. Within one year, the expedition successfully established Fort Astoria, a trading post on the Columbia River. Though the colony would be short-lived, it opened provincial American eyes to the potential of the Western coast and its founders helped blaze the Oregon Trail.

The Camping Cookbook: Quick and Easy Recipes for Delicious Outdoor Cooking
The Camping Cookbook
Quick and Easy Recipes for Delicious Outdoor Cooking
Paperback      ISBN: 1445428709
Camping Minnesota: A Comprehensive Guide to Public Tent and RV Campgrounds
Camping Minnesota
A Comprehensive Guide to Public Tent and RV Campgrounds
Paperback      ISBN: 1493008269
Camping Minnesota contains comprehensive descriptions of public tent & RV campgrounds throughout the Gopher State. This guide includes information on campground locations, facilities and hookups, fees and reservations, recreational activities, and Leave No Trace camping.