Camping
Featured Items
Astoria: Astor and Jefferson's Lost Pacific Empire: A Tale of Ambition and Survival on the Early American Frontier
Astoria: Astor and Jefferson's Lost Pacific Empire
A Tale of Ambition and Survival on the Early American Frontier
Paperback      ISBN: 0062218301

In the tradition of The Lost City of Z and Skeletons in the Zahara, Astoria is the thrilling, true-adventure tale of the 1810 Astor Expedition, an epic, now forgotten, three-year journey to forge an American empire on the Pacific Coast. Peter Stark offers a harrowing saga in which a band of explorers battled nature, starvation, and madness to establish the first American settlement in the Pacific Northwest and opened up what would become the Oregon trail, permanently altering the nation's landscape and its global standing.

Six years after Lewis and Clark's began their journey to the Pacific Northwest, two of the Eastern establishment's leading figures, John Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson, turned their sights to founding a colony akin to Jamestown on the West Coast and transforming the nation into a Pacific trading power. Author and correspondent for Outside magazine Peter Stark recreates this pivotal moment in American history for the first time for modern readers, drawing on original source material to tell the amazing true story of the Astor Expedition.

Unfolding over the course of three years, from 1810 to 1813, Astoria is a tale of high adventure and incredible hardship in the wilderness and at sea. Of the more than one hundred-forty members of the two advance parties that reached the West Coast--one crossing the Rockies, the other rounding Cape Horn--nearly half perished by violence. Others went mad. Within one year, the expedition successfully established Fort Astoria, a trading post on the Columbia River. Though the colony would be short-lived, it opened provincial American eyes to the potential of the Western coast and its founders helped blaze the Oregon Trail.

Buried in the Sky: The Extraordinary Story of the Sherpa Climbers on K2's Deadliest Day
Buried in the Sky
The Extraordinary Story of the Sherpa Climbers on K2's Deadliest Day
Paperback      ISBN: 0393345416

When eleven climbers died on K2 in 2008, two Sherpas survived. Their astonishing tale became the stuff of mountaineering legend. This white-knuckle adventure follows the Sherpas from their remote villages in Nepal to the peak of the world's most dangerous mountain, recounting one of the most dramatic disasters in alpine history from a fascinating new perspective.

Winner of the NCTE George Orwell Award and an official selection of the American Alpine Club Book Club.

River-Horse: A Voyage Across America
River-Horse
A Voyage Across America
Hardcover      ISBN: 0395636264

In RIVER-HORSE, the preeminent chronicler of American back roads -- who has given us the classics BLUE HIGHWAYS and PRAIRYERTH -- recounts his singular voyage on American waters from sea to sea. Along the route, he offers a lyrical and ceaselessly fascinating shipboard perspective on the country's rivers, lakes, canals, and towns. Brimming with history, drama, humor, and wisdom, RIVER-HORSE belongs in the pantheon of American travel literature. In his most ambitious journey ever, Heat-Moon sets off aboard a small boat he named Nikawa ("river horse" in Osage) from the Atlantic at New York Harbor in hopes of entering the Pacific near Astoria, Oregon. He and his companion, Pilotis, struggle to cover some five thousand watery miles -- more than any other cross-country river traveler has ever managed -- often following in the wakes of our most famous explorers, from Henry Hudson to Lewis and Clark. En route, the voyagers confront massive floods, submerged rocks, dangerous weather, and their own doubts about whether they can complete the trip. But the hard days yield up incomparable pleasures: strangers generous with help and eccentric tales, landscapes unchanged since Sacagawea saw them, riverscapes flowing with a lively past, and the growing belief that efforts to protect our lands and waters are beginning to pay off. And, throughout its course, the expedition enjoys coincidences so breathtaking as to suggest the intervention of a divine and witty Providence. Teeming with humanity and high adventure, Heat-Moon's account is an unsentimental and original arteriogram of our nation at the edge of the millennium. Masterly in its own right, RIVER-HORSE, when taken with BLUE HIGHWAYS and PRAIRYERTH, forms the capstone of a peerless and timeless trilogy.

The Pocket Dangerous Book for Boys: Things to Do
The Pocket Dangerous Book for Boys
Things to Do
Hardcover      ISBN: 0061656828

A pocket-sized book of wisdom based on the bestselling phenomenon, The Dangerous Book for Boys, this portable edition includes some favorite activities from the original book, along with some even more dangerous new ones With everything from how to win at poker, to how to make a paper hat, from skipping stones to writing a note in secret ink, the Pocket Book of things to do will appeal to all men and boys with an appetite for danger

Handy Dad in the Great Outdoors: More Than 30 Super-Cool Projects and Activities for Dads and Kids
Handy Dad in the Great Outdoors
More Than 30 Super-Cool Projects and Activities for Dads and Kids
Paperback      ISBN: 1452102139

Slacklining, edible bugs, tarp surfing, and more In this awesome follow-up to the hugely popular Handy Dad, extreme sports athlete and TV host Todd Davis gathers more than 30 projects and activities sure to get kids outside and entertained for hours. With easy-to-follow instructions, helpful photographs, and detailed line illustrations, Handy Dad in the Great Outdoors is packed with all the essentials. From simple campsite know-how to more ambitious building projects (tepee anyone?), plus a few pranks for good measure, this book has something for every family and every place--be it the back country or the backyard.

Charlie Whistler's Omnium Gatherum: Campfire Stories and Adirondack Adventures
Charlie Whistler's Omnium Gatherum
Campfire Stories and Adirondack Adventures
Hardcover      ISBN: 006232361x

In the tradition of The Dangerous Book for Boys, a visually dazzling compendium of practical knowledge, fascinating trivia, and worldly wisdom for young boys--designed as a charming and informal full-color family scrapbook treasured by generations of one family at their Adirondack summer camp.

On a late summer afternoon, while rustling around in his family's Adirondack cabin, a boy named Charlie Whistler finds a dusty cloth-bound scrapbook. It is the Omnium Gatherum, a colorful, illustrated grab bag of stories, arcana, and much more, faithfully collected over generations by Charlie's father, grandfather, and generations of Whistlers before them.

Its pages hold a universe of age-old wisdom, from the simple--how to tie a slipknot--to the esoteric--how to find your way in the forest, or predict the tides--to the exotic--how to understand simple phrases in dozens of languages.

Charlie Whistler's Omnium Gatherum is a delightful, ceaselessly readable, and unique gift book for boys of all ages: a nostalgic evocation of American childhood, a keepsake for modern fathers to hand down to their sons, and an irresistible, page-turning read for everyone who loves to lose themselves in the world of imagination.

Basic Illustrated Camping
Basic Illustrated Camping
2nd Edition    Paperback      ISBN: 1493012533

Richly illustrated and information-packed tools for the novice or handy reference for the veteran, Basic Illustrated books distill years of knowledge into affordable and visual guides. Whether you're planning a trip or thumbing for facts in the field, the Basic Illustrated series shows you what you need to know. In Basic Illustrated Camping, discover how to build a fire, even in wet weather; select and use your camping gear; cook quick and tasty meals in the outdoors; rig a campsite tent with the four basic knots and hitches; and use a map and compass to master the fundamentals of backcountry navigation.

How to Shit in the Woods: An Environmentally Sound Approach to a Lost Art
How to Shit in the Woods
An Environmentally Sound Approach to a Lost Art
2nd Edition    Paperback      ISBN: 0898156270

This updated edition provides a guide to the art of going out-of-doors. It deals with the whens, wheres, how, and what-nows, with chapters such as Anatomy of a crap and For women only: How not to pee in your boots. It includes information on how to take waste home, for rock climbers, kayakers and others dealing with rock-hard and fragile ecosystems, and is illustrated by black and white drawings.

Camping Minnesota: A Comprehensive Guide to Public Tent and RV Campgrounds
Camping Minnesota
A Comprehensive Guide to Public Tent and RV Campgrounds
Paperback      ISBN: 1493008269
Camping Minnesota contains comprehensive descriptions of public tent & RV campgrounds throughout the Gopher State. This guide includes information on campground locations, facilities and hookups, fees and reservations, recreational activities, and Leave No Trace camping.

Practical Camping Handbook: How to Get the Most from Camping - Everything from Planning Your Trip to Setting Up Camp and Cooking Outdoors, with Ov
Practical Camping Handbook
How to Get the Most from Camping - Everything from Planning Your Trip to Setting Up Camp and Cooking Outdoors, with Ov
Paperback      ISBN: 1780194021

This fully comprehensive guide covers the key camp craft and orienteering skills needed, whether for a family holiday on a pre-booked campsite, or for a wilder expedition into the deep backcountry.